Echo Burning

(Jack Reacher 5)

Author: Lee Child

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 576

View: 815

"Complete with crackling fast dialogue, an edgy ambivalent plot, and the capacity to make his readers turn the page, this feels like Child's breakthrough book into the mega-sellers. He is that good." (Daily Mail) Jack Reacher, adrift in the hellish heat of a Texas summer. Looking for a lift through the vast empty landscape. A woman stops, and offers a ride. She is young, rich and beautiful. But her husband's in jail. When he comes out, he's going to kill her. Her family's hostile, she can't trust the cops, and the lawyers won't help. She is entangled in a web of lies and prejudice, hatred and murder. Jack Reacher never could resist a lady in distress. Although the Jack Reacher novels can be read in any order, Echo Burning is 5th in the series.

Deutsches echo

Author: Ludwig Wolfram

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: German language

Page: 203

View: 120

With Child

Lee Child and the Readers of Jack Reacher

Author: Andy Martin

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Social Science

Page: 290

View: 204

With a foreword by Lee Child. Andy Martin spent a year in the company of Lee Child, creator of tough-guy hero Jack Reacher. With Child is the diary of their adventures, tracking the publication and reception of Make Me, the writing of Night School at an apartment in Manhattan, the filming of Never Go Back in New Orleans, all the agony and ecstasy of the creative process and the sheer hard work of selling a bestseller. They go on the road together, from TV studios to bookstores, from Harvard to Stockholm, amid literary conferences and gunshows, rivalries and reviews ranging from adulatory to murderous. We meet fellow writers like Stephen King and David Lagercrantz and Karin Slaughter, and dissect the latest novel from Jonathan Franzen. But Martin also reaches out to Child’s legion of readers in America and around the world. He tracks down a woman in Texas whose name appears in the home invasion scene in Make Me; he goes up a mountain in Montana in search of the only reader who thinks Reacher is a “lightweight”; and he talks to obsessive fans from Europe to South Africa who find salvation or consolation in the colossal form of Jack Reacher. This compelling account of life on the road with Lee Child demonstrates that readers are just as important as writers in the making of modern fiction.

The Ones Who Walk All Worlds

A Giant's Curse

Author: Dakota T. Frandsen

Publisher: Dakota Frandsen

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 349

View: 466

Inspired by true events! Dakota Frandsen, a typical high school kid with secrets beyond what our world can understand. While moonlighting as a paranormal investigator, Dakota discovers that a secret organization has been watching him for a very long time. After using his secret abilities and alter egos to save the lives of his future wife and friends from his past, he joins the ranks of the secret organization in an effort to discover the meaning behind a prophecy that foretells a great war that brings about the end of the world!

Letters from the Dead

Author: Campbell Armstrong

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 227

View: 580

“A satisfying dank and creepy chiller” about hauntings and horror in a broken-down beach house on the Virginia shore (Kirkus Reviews). A battered Ouija board promises entertainment for the renters of a crumbling seaside cottage a few miles outside Cochrane Crossing. But when they play, thirteen-year-olds Lindy and Tommy receive sinister messages about someone named “Roscoe”—and their mothers encounter even more disturbing visions in the tiny, gloomy town nearby. Something terrible happened here long ago, and one of the vacationers is about to be drawn slowly into the grip of possession by a frightening force that may prevent them all from ever returning home . . . From an international bestselling author of horror and suspense novels, including such titles as Concert of Ghosts and the Frank Pagan series, as well as the riveting personal memoir I Hope You Have a Good Life, this is a tale of the macabre for fans of Dean Koontz and Stephen King or anyone who enjoys a spooky occult thriller.

The Echo

With Other Poems

Author: Richard Alsop

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Afro-Americans

Page: 331

View: 478

The Echo of Footsteps

Murder in My Home Town

Author: Sylvia A. Witmore

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 280

View: 143

This novel brings back Max & T.G. Schaffer and Chase & Shannon Westmore as well as NASCAR history at The Rock in Rockingham, N.C. The protagonist is a dance instructor named Megan Garrison. The first time she realizes that there's someone stalking her, is the third consecutive night she has heard the echo of footsteps following her; she steps into the building's shadow to see who is coming up behind her. She can tell it's a man because of his build and height but he is wearing a baseball cap pulled low on his face and in the shadows of early twilight she cannot identify him. Megan comes into contact with a race driver named Ryan Anderson who is determined to win her affection; thus the struggle begins with the Schaffers and the Westmores trying to arrange a romance; Megan fights her growing attraction to Ryan but they come together as a turbulent couple struggling to control the evident passion between them as they try to catch a vicious killer who has already murdered one woman on the main street in Hamlet in front of a new bar called the Sports Connection and he has now set his sights on Megan as his next victim. Ryan tries to protect her but it's difficult to ward off violence when the unknown catalyst is so determined to take the life of a pretty, successful young woman.