Echo Burning

(Jack Reacher 5)

Author: Lee Child

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 576

View: 586

"Complete with crackling fast dialogue, an edgy ambivalent plot, and the capacity to make his readers turn the page, this feels like Child's breakthrough book into the mega-sellers. He is that good." (Daily Mail) Jack Reacher, adrift in the hellish heat of a Texas summer. Looking for a lift through the vast empty landscape. A woman stops, and offers a ride. She is young, rich and beautiful. But her husband's in jail. When he comes out, he's going to kill her. Her family's hostile, she can't trust the cops, and the lawyers won't help. She is entangled in a web of lies and prejudice, hatred and murder. Jack Reacher never could resist a lady in distress. Although the Jack Reacher novels can be read in any order, Echo Burning is 5th in the series.

The Echo

With Other Poems

Author: Richard Alsop

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Afro-Americans

Page: 331

View: 608

The Ones Who Walk All Worlds

A Giant's Curse

Author: Dakota T. Frandsen

Publisher: Dakota Frandsen

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 349

View: 517

Inspired by true events! Dakota Frandsen, a typical high school kid with secrets beyond what our world can understand. While moonlighting as a paranormal investigator, Dakota discovers that a secret organization has been watching him for a very long time. After using his secret abilities and alter egos to save the lives of his future wife and friends from his past, he joins the ranks of the secret organization in an effort to discover the meaning behind a prophecy that foretells a great war that brings about the end of the world!

The Homoeopathic Echo

A Journal of Health and Disease

Author: Carle F. Fischer

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Homeopathy

Page: 388

View: 812

The Echo of Footsteps

Murder in My Home Town

Author: Sylvia A. Witmore

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 280

View: 660

This novel brings back Max & T.G. Schaffer and Chase & Shannon Westmore as well as NASCAR history at The Rock in Rockingham, N.C. The protagonist is a dance instructor named Megan Garrison. The first time she realizes that there's someone stalking her, is the third consecutive night she has heard the echo of footsteps following her; she steps into the building's shadow to see who is coming up behind her. She can tell it's a man because of his build and height but he is wearing a baseball cap pulled low on his face and in the shadows of early twilight she cannot identify him. Megan comes into contact with a race driver named Ryan Anderson who is determined to win her affection; thus the struggle begins with the Schaffers and the Westmores trying to arrange a romance; Megan fights her growing attraction to Ryan but they come together as a turbulent couple struggling to control the evident passion between them as they try to catch a vicious killer who has already murdered one woman on the main street in Hamlet in front of a new bar called the Sports Connection and he has now set his sights on Megan as his next victim. Ryan tries to protect her but it's difficult to ward off violence when the unknown catalyst is so determined to take the life of a pretty, successful young woman.

Letters from the Dead

Author: Campbell Armstrong

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 227

View: 317

“A satisfying dank and creepy chiller” about hauntings and horror in a broken-down beach house on the Virginia shore (Kirkus Reviews). A battered Ouija board promises entertainment for the renters of a crumbling seaside cottage a few miles outside Cochrane Crossing. But when they play, thirteen-year-olds Lindy and Tommy receive sinister messages about someone named “Roscoe”—and their mothers encounter even more disturbing visions in the tiny, gloomy town nearby. Something terrible happened here long ago, and one of the vacationers is about to be drawn slowly into the grip of possession by a frightening force that may prevent them all from ever returning home . . . From an international bestselling author of horror and suspense novels, including such titles as Concert of Ghosts and the Frank Pagan series, as well as the riveting personal memoir I Hope You Have a Good Life, this is a tale of the macabre for fans of Dean Koontz and Stephen King or anyone who enjoys a spooky occult thriller.

Broken Illusions

Author: Ellie James

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 352

View: 313

It's Mardi Gras, but for sixteen-year-old Trinity, this is no time for celebration. Another girl has gone missing. And Trinity is seeing things - terrible things. Tormented by visions she can't explain, Trinity embarks on a dark journey to understand her abilities, convinced this is the only way to prevent the things she sees from coming true. But as the line between reality and illusion becomes blurred, everyone who loves Trinity begins to fear for her sanity, and, ultimately, for her life...

Cyclopædia of American Literature

Supplement to the Cyclopædia of American Literature

Author: Evert Augustus Duyckinck

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: American literature

Page: 162

View: 524