The Duke Knows Best

Author: Jane Ashford

Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 906

They're wrong for each other, for all the right reasons... Lord Randolph Gresham has come to London for one reason only—to find a suitable wife. Verity Sinclair may be intelligent, beautiful, and full of spirit, but her father knows a secret about Randolph that makes her entirely unsuitable as his bride. Not right for him at all, never, not a chance. Verity knows that Lord Randolph lives in a country parish, and she wants nothing more than to escape to town. He may be fascinating, attractive, rich, and the son of a duke, but she'll never marry him, nor will she talk to him, flirt with him, walk with him, or dine with him. She'll sing a duet with him, but only this one time, and only because everyone insists. But one duet invariably leads to another. The Duke's Sons Series: Heir to the Duke (Book 1) What the Duke Doesn't Know (Book 2) Lord Sebastian's Secret (Book 3) Nothing Like a Duke (Book 4) The Duke Knows Best (Book 5)

Here Comes Duke: The Drive for Five

The Official Men's Basketball Championship Book of Duke Athletics

Author: The Herald-Sun

Publisher: Triumph Books

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 144

View: 671

The 2014–15 season will be etched in the memories of Duke fans forever. The Blue Devils won the program's fifth national championship and Coach Mike Krzyzewski collected his unprecedented 1,000th career win. Freshmen Jahlil Okafor, Tyus Jones, and Justise Winslow led Duke to a 28–3 regular season record, including seven wins over ranked teams. Here Comes Duke is the official championship book commemorating the Blue Devils' amazing journey. Featuring more than 100 exclusive photographs from Duke Athletics and expert analysis from the Herald-Sun, fans will relive this unforgettable season, from early wins over Michigan State and Wisconsin to midseason struggles against NC State, Miami, and Notre Dame to the final seconds in Indianapolis. This commemorative book also includes a foreword by senior Quinn Cook and feature stories on Krzyzewski, Cook, Okafor, Jones, Winslow, Grayson Allen, and more.

A Duke Too Far

Author: Jane Ashford

Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 239

For fans of Mary Balogh and Lisa Klepyas comes a poignant Regency romance full of secrets to reveal and a love to fight for from bestselling author Jane Ashford Peter Rathbone, Duke of Compton, is mourning the loss of his sister Delia, but the work of keeping his family's deteriorating estate afloat is never done. When Miss Ada Grandison, a close friend of his sister, arrives with a mysterious letter that she claims holds the secret to saving the family home, Peter is skeptical to say the least...his life is about to get even more complicated. Ada is eager to do whatever she can to help the Rathbones. She brings clues that Delia claimed would change everything for the family and that lead Ada and Peter on a hunt to unravel the past. But they'll have to face their painful memories—and their true feelings for each other—to discover the truth.

The Duke's Children

A Novel

Author: Anthony Trollope

Publisher: London : Ward, Lock

ISBN:

Category: English fiction

Page: 460

View: 315

The Duke In My Bed

The Heirs' Club of Scoundrels

Author: Amelia Grey

Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 250

From bestselling author Amelia Grey comes The Duke in My Bed, a wickedly romantic tale of one reckless bachelor, five unwed sisters, and a wildly unconventional game of love... HERE COMES THE GROOM As a notorious member of the Heirs' Club, Bray Drakestone can't resist a challenge from one of his well-heeled colleagues-especially when it involves money and horses. But the friendly wager takes an unexpected and deadly turn. Bray is forced to agree to marry one of his challenger's five sisters-sight unseen. Now gamblers all over London are placing bets on whether Bray will actually go through with it... THERE GOES THE BRIDE Miss Louisa Prim, the eldest sister, doesn't care a whit what the reckless rogue at the Heirs' Club promised her brother-she has no intention of marrying the future Duke of Drakestone. Bray, however, sees her rejection as another challenge. He bets that the fiery Miss Prim will not only agree to marry him, she will propose to him! With four sisters behind her, Louisa knows she can't lose. But why does her opponent have to be a divinely handsome scoundrel? And so sweetly, irresistibly seductive... "Amelia Grey lights up the pages with humor and passion."-RT Book Reviews

In the Best Families

Author: Rex Stout

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 630

The aging millionairess has a problem: where is her young playboy husband getting all his money? To help find the answer, Archie infiltrates a party at her palatial estate. But her late-night murder ruins the festive mood . . . and a letter bomb from a powerful crime boss makes Nero Wolfe do the unthinkable—run for his life. Suddenly Archie finds himself on his own, trying to find a killer without the help of his old mentor. For to all appearances, Wolfe has vanished. The career of the world’s most famous detective has ended in cowardice and disgrace . . . or has it? Introduction by Patricia Sprinkle “It is always a treat to read a Nero Wolfe mystery. The man has entered our folklore.”—The New York Times Book Review A grand master of the form, Rex Stout is one of America’s greatest mystery writers, and his literary creation Nero Wolfe is one of the greatest fictional detectives of all time. Together, Stout and Wolfe have entertained—and puzzled—millions of mystery fans around the world. Now, with his perambulatory man-about-town, Archie Goodwin, the arrogant, gourmandizing, sedentary sleuth is back in the original seventy-three cases of crime and detection written by the inimitable master himself, Rex Stout.

The Best of Gerald Kersh

Author: Gerald Kersh

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 728

'[Gerald Kersh] is a story-teller of an almost vanished kind - though the proper description is perhaps a teller of 'rattling good yarns'... He is fascinated by the grotesque and the bizarre, by the misfits of life, the angry, the down-and-outs and the damned. A girl of eight commits a murder. Some circus freaks are shipwrecked on an island. A chess champion walks in his sleep and destroys the games he has so carefully planned...' TLS 'Beneath his talented lightness and fantasy, Gerald Kersh is a serious man... [He] has the ability... to create a world which is not realistic and which is yet entirely credible and convincing on its own fantastic terms.' New York Times 'Mr Kersh tells a story; as such, rather better than anybody else.' Pamela Hansford Johnson, Telegraph

The Duke of Windsor's War

Author: Michael Bloch

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 400

View: 183

Drawing on unique sources, Michael Bloch describes the career of the Duke of Windsor during the Second World War.As a military liaison officer in France during 1939-40, he issued warnings which, had they been heeded, might have avoided the defeat of France;as Governor of the Bahamas 1940-45, he succeeded in what was regarded as one of the most difficult posts in the British Empire.But at the same time he and his wife (to marry whom he had given up a throne) had a second war to contend with - against King George VI and Queen Elizabeth who were determined to treat them as outcasts.This book caused a furore on publication, being the first work to give a detailed account of the bitter relations between the ex-King and his family.

The Athenaeum

Journal of Literature, Science and the Fine Arts

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 290

Heritage of Cyador

Author: L. E. Modesitt, Jr.

Publisher: Tor Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 388

L.E. Modesitt, Jr.'s Heritage of Cyador continues his bestselling fantasy series the Saga of Recluce, which is one the most popular in contemporary epic fantasy. Five years after utterly destroing an Afritan military force crossing into Cigoerne with his mastery of Order and Chaos, Lerial must lead a delicate mission in Afrit to assist them in repealing invaders that could threaten both lands. Lerial's troubled history against Afrit may reopen old wounds that will never truly heal. “An intriguing fantasy in a fascinating world.”—Robert Jordan, New York Times bestselling author of The Wheel of Time® series Saga of Recluce #1 The Magic of Recluce / #2 The Towers of Sunset / #3 The Magic Engineer / #4 The Order War / #5 The Death of Chaos / #6 Fall of Angels / #7 The Chaos Balance / #8 The White Order / #9 Colors of Chaos / #10 Magi’i of Cyador / #11 Scion of Cyador / #12 Wellspring of Chaos / #13 Ordermaster / #14 Natural Order Mage / #15 Mage-Guard of Hamor / #16 Arms-Commander / #17 Cyador’s Heirs / #18 Heritage of Cyador /#19 The Mongrel Mage / #20 Outcasts of Order / #21 The Mage-Fire War (forthcoming) Story Collection: Recluce Tales Other Series by L.E. Modesitt, Jr. The Imager Portfolio The Corean Chronicles The Spellsong Cycle The Ghost Books The Ecolitan Matter At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

The Duke's Daughters

Ravenwood's Lady and Lady Brittany's Choice

Author: Amanda Scott

Publisher: Open Road Media

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 462

View: 397

Two sisters discover unexpected passion in two Regency romances from the USA Today–bestselling author, “a most gifted storyteller” (RT Book Reviews). Lady Cecily is known as the “Ice Princess” because of her cool blond beauty and her refusal to wed any of her several eligible suitors. She has no choice but to obey her father, the Duke, who wants Cecily to marry the one man who can assure the family’s social and financial positions: the arrogant and infuriating Viscount Ravenwood, who has been her enemy since childhood. A marriage of convenience is all she expects from their pairing—she has no idea that Ravenwood conceals a deep secret, or just how determined he will be to claim her heart. Cecily’s sister, Lady Brittany, is relieved that she doesn’t have to take part in the husband hunt in London’s marriage mart—though as a duke’s daughter, she is considered a prime catch. Comfortably engaged to amiable Lord Anthony Faringdon, she knows that though they may not be a love match, she and Tony will get along just fine—that is, until she meets his best friend, the darkly handsome Marquess of Cheriton, whose eyes pierce her very soul. Brittany’s comfortable life and perfect plans will be overturned by her increasingly passionate feelings for the irresistibly charming Marquess.

The Athenæum

A Journal of Literature, Science, the Fine Arts, Music, and the Drama

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 864