Don't Piss Off the Fairies

An Offbeat Fairy Tale About a Spirited Girl, Her Enigmatic Grandmother, an Incredible Forest, Baffling Quests, and Adorable But Also Slightly Creepy F

Author: C. Naughton

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 138

View: 421

Nellie stopped believing in fairies when she was very small, although her Gran insisted they make extremely tiny shoes and give them a bowl of milk to drink each night. Why they had to be the ones to keep the irritating little things clothed and fed was beyond Nellie's understanding. Then one day, the fairies took Gran. Just like that, she was gone; in her place was only a note scratched onto a leaf. Nellie had to accept they were real, if a bit lacking in manners and subtlety. What happened next was so incredible that surely you would think anyone mad for the telling. But Nellie's story is as real as any story can be, and her life was completely turned inside-out, thanks to those creepy (yet also adorable) fairies.

Dead Fairies

Author: Carol Shenold

Publisher: The Wild Rose Press Inc

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 206

View: 112

A sadistic serial killer is staking fairies with iron and taking their wings. Ande Ryan is on the case as part of the Paranormal Investigation Unit. Being forced to work alongside her werewolf former lover, Cal, has made the case even more problematic. Now, she must deal with her difficult Fae half sister—who she didn’t know existed—as well as the possibility that she might have to keep the dark forces from taking over the world. Can her special gifts of The Sight and the Titania amulet help her overcome her fear of failure in time to save mankind?

Revenge of the Faebots (Faerie Brace-Face 2)

Author: Lotus Rose

Publisher: Death Pout

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 150

View: 726

In volume 2 of the Faerie Brace-Face Series, the faebots are working hard to revive Cabby’s high school nemesis, Mackenzie, by downloading her data into the new faebot leader, who they’re calling the “Mackenzie Aspirant.” That’s because she wants to become Mackenzie, just so she can ruin Cabby’s life. Cabby and Darren struggle to find out where the data is being stored, so they can erase it before the faebots get to it. Because the last thing Cabby wants is all the drama that girl would bring into her life. She’d rather focus on her relationship with Darren, and, meanwhile, Darren would like to focus on Cabby, because he yearns to give her a ring to show how much she means to him. But rings are hard to come by in the world they find themselves in. The Faerie Brace-Face Trilogy Faerie Brace-Face Revenge of the Faebots The Return of Mackenzie

Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam

An Agatha Raisin Mystery

Author: M. C. Beaton

Publisher: Minotaur Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 208

View: 198

Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam continues the tradition in M. C. Beaton's beloved Agatha Raisin mystery series—now a hit show on Acorn TV and public television. When a fortune teller from a previous case informs Agatha Raisin that her destiny-and true love-lies in Norfolk, she promptly rents a cottage in the quaint village of Fryfam. No sooner does she arrive than strange things start happening. Random objects go missing from people's homes and odd little lights are seen dancing in the villagers' gardens and yards. Stories soon begin circulating about the presence of fairies. But when a prominent village resident is found murdered, and some suspicion falls on her and her friend Sir Charles Fraith, Agatha decides she's had enough of this fairy nonsense and steps up her sleuthing for a human killer. The prickly yet endearing Agatha will have fans dangling in suspense: Will she catch her crook-and a husband?

Blood on the Bayou

Author: Stacey Jay

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 99

The second book in a new urban fantasy series featuring mosquito-sized fairies with poisonous bites that drive humans insane.

Witness the Dead

Author: Craig Robertson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 534

'Doing for Glasgow, what Rankin did for Edinburgh' Mirror Scottish Police are called to a murder scene in Glasgow's Northern Necropolis. The body of a young woman lies stretched out over a tomb in what looks like a ritualistic murder. Her body bears a three letter message from her killer, daubed in lurid red lipstick. In the 1970s, Danny Neilson was the detective working on the infamous Red Silk murders. Still haunted by the memory of the unsolved investigation, he spots a link between the new murders and those carried out by Red Silk - details that no copycat killer could have known about. But Archibald Atto, the man suspected of the killings all those years ago, is rotting in jail, so Danny has to face up to his fear that they never caught their man. Neilson goes with police photographer Tony Winter, to visit Archibald Atto in prison. But Atto will not speak to them unless it is on his terms. As clues begin to surface, they learn that they are dealing with a killer whose agenda is so terrifying and history so twisted that it will take the combined efforts of police forces past and present to make an arrest. Delivering brilliant crime fiction for fans of Stuart MacBride and Ian Rankin, Craig Robertson is the author of the acclaimed Random, Snapshot, Cold Grave, Witness the Dead, The Last Refuge and In Place of Death.

The American People: Volume 1

Search for My Heart: A Novel

Author: Larry Kramer

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 800

View: 701

The long-awaited new novel by America's master playwright and activist—a radical reimagining of our history and our hopes and fears Forty years in the making, The American People embodies Larry Kramer's vision of his beloved and accursed homeland. As the founder of ACT UP and the author of Faggots and The Normal Heart, Kramer has decisively affected American lives and letters. Here, as only he can, he tells the heartbreaking and heroic story of one nation under a plague, contaminated by greed, hate, and disease yet host to transcendent acts of courage and kindness. In this magisterial novel's sweeping first volume, which runs up to the 1950s, we meet prehistoric monkeys who spread a peculiar virus, a Native American shaman whose sexual explorations mutate into occult visions, and early English settlers who live as loving same-sex couples only to fall victim to the forces of bigotry. George Washington and Alexander Hamilton revel in unexpected intimacies, and John Wilkes Booth's motives for assassinating Abraham Lincoln are thoroughly revised. In the twentieth century, the nightmare of history deepens as a religious sect conspires with eugenicists, McCarthyites, and Ivy Leaguers to exterminate homosexuals, and the AIDS virus begins to spread. Against all this, Kramer sets the tender story of a middle-class family outside Washington, D.C., trying to get along in the darkest of times. The American People is a work of ribald satire, prophetic anger, and dazzling imagination. It is an encyclopedic indictment written with outrageous love.

Fairy Tales and Sea Stories

Author: Giovanni Andreazzi

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 344

View: 729

Have you ever been curious about life on a submarine, other than the movie versions? Journey with the author on the missile carrying submarine, USS Sam Houston, meet a few of the characters who defended our country during the cold war, and learn how they lived. A little romance between a sailor and a nurse is thrown in just to enhance the time-travel story where the truth about the bombing of Hiroshima is told. So kick back, relax, and open the pages to enjoy this collection of short stories you will never forget (or may want to as soon as you finish).

The Man from Misery and Other Poems

Author: Brandon Hodge

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 292

View: 867

The Man from Misery and Other Poems is the book that almost never was. This collection of more than two hundred inspired poems took nearly thirteen years to create, and author Brandon Hodge fought an uphill battle for publication. The Man from Misery is a rich collection of poetry from the deepest parts of the heart where poetry should start, rich with themes like hate, anger, loss, lust, life, joy, and, most of all, love. Brandon began writing short stories as a child; when he was eleven years old, he discovered poetry. Poetry comes from the heart and from inside, and Brandon is no stranger to adversity and loss. Born with a serious illness, Brandon was told he would not live to be sixteen; but he overcame lung cancer, personal tragedy, and loss to become the poet he is today. His pain and personal experience have shaped his writing as well as his life.