Don't Piss Off the Fairies

An Offbeat Fairy Tale About a Spirited Girl, Her Enigmatic Grandmother, an Incredible Forest, Baffling Quests, and Adorable But Also Slightly Creepy F

Author: C. Naughton

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 138

View: 195

Nellie stopped believing in fairies when she was very small, although her Gran insisted they make extremely tiny shoes and give them a bowl of milk to drink each night. Why they had to be the ones to keep the irritating little things clothed and fed was beyond Nellie's understanding. Then one day, the fairies took Gran. Just like that, she was gone; in her place was only a note scratched onto a leaf. Nellie had to accept they were real, if a bit lacking in manners and subtlety. What happened next was so incredible that surely you would think anyone mad for the telling. But Nellie's story is as real as any story can be, and her life was completely turned inside-out, thanks to those creepy (yet also adorable) fairies.

Blood on the Bayou

Author: Stacey Jay

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 444

The second book in a new urban fantasy series featuring mosquito-sized fairies with poisonous bites that drive humans insane.

Witness the Dead

Author: Craig Robertson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 407

'Doing for Glasgow, what Rankin did for Edinburgh' Mirror Scottish Police are called to a murder scene in Glasgow's Northern Necropolis. The body of a young woman lies stretched out over a tomb in what looks like a ritualistic murder. Her body bears a three letter message from her killer, daubed in lurid red lipstick. In the 1970s, Danny Neilson was the detective working on the infamous Red Silk murders. Still haunted by the memory of the unsolved investigation, he spots a link between the new murders and those carried out by Red Silk - details that no copycat killer could have known about. But Archibald Atto, the man suspected of the killings all those years ago, is rotting in jail, so Danny has to face up to his fear that they never caught their man. Neilson goes with police photographer Tony Winter, to visit Archibald Atto in prison. But Atto will not speak to them unless it is on his terms. As clues begin to surface, they learn that they are dealing with a killer whose agenda is so terrifying and history so twisted that it will take the combined efforts of police forces past and present to make an arrest. Delivering brilliant crime fiction for fans of Stuart MacBride and Ian Rankin, Craig Robertson is the author of the acclaimed Random, Snapshot, Cold Grave, Witness the Dead, The Last Refuge and In Place of Death.

Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam

An Agatha Raisin Mystery

Author: M. C. Beaton

Publisher: Minotaur Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 208

View: 437

Agatha Raisin and the Fairies of Fryfam continues the tradition in M. C. Beaton's beloved Agatha Raisin mystery series—now a hit show on Acorn TV and public television. When a fortune teller from a previous case informs Agatha Raisin that her destiny-and true love-lies in Norfolk, she promptly rents a cottage in the quaint village of Fryfam. No sooner does she arrive than strange things start happening. Random objects go missing from people's homes and odd little lights are seen dancing in the villagers' gardens and yards. Stories soon begin circulating about the presence of fairies. But when a prominent village resident is found murdered, and some suspicion falls on her and her friend Sir Charles Fraith, Agatha decides she's had enough of this fairy nonsense and steps up her sleuthing for a human killer. The prickly yet endearing Agatha will have fans dangling in suspense: Will she catch her crook-and a husband?

The American People: Volume 1

Search for My Heart: A Novel

Author: Larry Kramer

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 800

View: 937

The long-awaited new novel by America's master playwright and activist—a radical reimagining of our history and our hopes and fears Forty years in the making, The American People embodies Larry Kramer's vision of his beloved and accursed homeland. As the founder of ACT UP and the author of Faggots and The Normal Heart, Kramer has decisively affected American lives and letters. Here, as only he can, he tells the heartbreaking and heroic story of one nation under a plague, contaminated by greed, hate, and disease yet host to transcendent acts of courage and kindness. In this magisterial novel's sweeping first volume, which runs up to the 1950s, we meet prehistoric monkeys who spread a peculiar virus, a Native American shaman whose sexual explorations mutate into occult visions, and early English settlers who live as loving same-sex couples only to fall victim to the forces of bigotry. George Washington and Alexander Hamilton revel in unexpected intimacies, and John Wilkes Booth's motives for assassinating Abraham Lincoln are thoroughly revised. In the twentieth century, the nightmare of history deepens as a religious sect conspires with eugenicists, McCarthyites, and Ivy Leaguers to exterminate homosexuals, and the AIDS virus begins to spread. Against all this, Kramer sets the tender story of a middle-class family outside Washington, D.C., trying to get along in the darkest of times. The American People is a work of ribald satire, prophetic anger, and dazzling imagination. It is an encyclopedic indictment written with outrageous love.

The Reluctant Reaper

Author: Gina X. Grant

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 200

View: 733

Kirsty d’Arc is enjoying life, until someone she trusts hijacks her soul in this first installment of The Reluctant Reaper series. To escape Hell’s inferno and gain revenge, Kirsty must partner with the very Reaper who scythed her—the hunky dead poet Dante Alighieri. Life for Kirsty d’Arc might not be perfect, but it’s far from hellish. She likes her job, has a great BFF, and truly admires Conrad, her boss. But when she dives in front of a lunatic’s blade to save him from certain death, she finds out Conrad isn’t so admirable after all. In fact, he’s traded her soul to the Devil! While her body lies comatose on the Mortal Coil, Kirsty’s spirit is dragged straight to Hell…which is not quite the fire-and-brimstone abyss she’d expected. In fact, the place is quirky, wacky, and not without charm. Desperate to reunite body and soul before her time runs out, she seeks out allies, earning the friendship of a powerful drag demon, a psychic server, and, most importantly, Hell’s civil servant. But what of her growing attraction to Dante, the sexy Reaper with a flair for romantic language—can she forgive him for scything her soul? Stuck in the netherworld, Kirsty vows she’ll do everything on her postmortem bucket list, starting with getting her life back and ensuring that Conrad has Hell to pay!

The Four Seasons Collection

A Spring Affair, A Summer Fling, An Autumn Crush, A Winter Flame

Author: Milly Johnson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 1459

View: 870

THE QUEEN OF FEEL-GOOD FICTION! 'Every time you discover a new Milly book, it’s like finding a pot of gold' Heat Four of Milly's bestselling seasonal titles - A Spring Affair, A Summer Fling, An Autumn Crush, A Winter Flame - in one exclusive ebook edition, with an introduction from Milly on the inspiration behind the novels.

The Guardians of Everlyn

Author: Shirley C. James

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 344

View: 323

300 years without the guardian Angel Fields the town of Everlyn has fallen into ruins at the hands of those who betrayed her. Now the curse has been broken. And Fields finds herself face to face with Ambrose Deity. Is he her enemy or her savior? With the Guardians finally reunited its now time to fight their biggest battle that they didnt even know was coming. Will Fields, Firebird, Blueflame, Mayleaf, and Fairytiea be able to defeat their greatest enemy of all time? Or is it already too late? Join them as they fight against the evil god.

Kill Me Softly

Author: Sarah Cross

Publisher: Carolrhoda Lab ®

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 336

View: 116

Mirabelle's past is shrouded in secrecy, from her parents' tragic deaths to her guardians' half-truths about why she can't return to her birthplace, Beau Rivage. Desperate to see the town, Mira runs away—and discovers a world she never could have imagined. In Beau Rivage, nothing is what it seems—the strangely pale girl with a morbid interest in apples, the obnoxious playboy who's a beast to everyone he meets, and the chivalrous guy who has a thing for damsels in distress. Here, fairy tales come to life, curses are awakened, and ancient stories are played out again and again. But fairy tales aren't pretty things, and they don't always end in happily ever after. Mira has a role to play, a fairy tale destiny to embrace or resist. As she struggles to take control of her fate, Mira is drawn into the lives of two brothers with fairy tale curses of their own...brothers who share a dark secret. And she'll find that love, just like fairy tales, can have sharp edges and hidden thorns.