Dear Mrs Bird

The Richard & Judy Book Club Pick and Sunday Times Bestseller

Author: AJ Pearce

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 372

The Richard & Judy Book Club Pick and Sunday Times Bestseller, Dear Mrs Bird, now with a beautiful festive design and an exclusive new piece by the author. London, 1941. Amid the falling bombs Emmeline Lake dreams of becoming a fearless Lady War Correspondent. Unfortunately, Emmy instead finds herself employed as a typist for the formidable Henrietta Bird, the renowned agony aunt at Woman’s Friend magazine. Mrs Bird refuses to read, let alone answer, letters containing any form of Unpleasantness, and definitely not those from the lovelorn, grief-stricken or morally conflicted. But the thought of these desperate women waiting for an answer at this most desperate of times becomes impossible for Emmy to ignore. She decides she simply must help and secretly starts to write back – after all, what harm could that possibly do? This edition of Dear Mrs Bird has been specially designed for the Christmas season and includes exclusive new content: 'The Real Henrietta Bird's Christmas Pudding' for readers to enjoy. 'The sweetest, most uplifting, lovely book about courage, friendship, love' – Marian Keyes 'A proper comfort read' – India Knight 'A joy from start to finish. Dear Mrs Bird is as funny as it is heartwarming' – John Boyne

Diary of Thoughts

Dear Mrs Bird by AJ Pearce

Author: Summary Express

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 102

View: 556

Diary of Thoughts: Dear Mrs Bird by AJ Pearce - A Journal for Your Thoughts About the Book is a journal designed for note-taking, designed and produced by Summary Express. With blank, lined pages in a simplistic yet elegant design, this journal is perfect for recording notes, thoughts, opinions, and takeaways in real-time as you read. Divided into sections and parts for easy reference, this journal helps you keep your thoughts organized. Disclaimer Notice This is a unofficial journal book and not the original book.

The Catalpa Tree Fairy and Other Stories

Author: Jennifer P. Tanabe

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 715

The Catalpa Tree Fairy and Other Stories is a collection of short stories inspired by the author's own life, with a healthy dose of fantasy. Paul enjoys the company of a beautiful songbird, and Zoe has a favorite professor who turns out to be even more unusual than she first thought. Maria meets an interesting old woman and her cat living in the forest. Over the course of the summer Maria learns all about the different birds that come to eat at her table. Joey always wanted a pet and is delighted when a special cat chooses to live with him. Astrid is a young mermaid whose love of dolphins helps her learn to sing. Naida and her little group of young tree fairies learn how to take care of their newly assigned trees, and each other.

The Yellow Bird Sings

Author: Jennifer Rosner

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 742

Poland, 1941. A mother. A child. An impossible choice. Poland, 1941. After the Jews in their town are rounded up, Róza and her five-year-old daughter, Shira, spend day and night hidden in a farmer's barn. Forbidden from making a sound, only the yellow bird from her mother's stories can sing the melodies Shira composes in her head. Róza does all she can to take care of Shira and shield her from the horrors of the outside world. They play silent games and invent their own sign language. But then the day comes when their haven is no longer safe, and Róza must face an impossible choice: whether the best thing she can do for her daughter is keep her close by her side, or give her the chance to survive by letting her go . . . The Yellow Bird Sings by Jennifer Rosner is a powerfully gripping and deeply moving novel about the unbreakable bond between parent and child and the triumph of humanity and hope in even the darkest circumstances. 'If you only read one book this year, make it The Yellow Bird Sings' AJ Pearce, author of Dear Mrs Bird

The Long Flight Home

a heartbreaking wartime story inspired by true events

Author: A.L. Hlad

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 308

A moving, masterfully written story of love and sacrifice, perfect for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and Dear Mrs Bird. A testament to the power of courage in our darkest hours, inspired by true events 'A fresh slant on heroism in WWII' Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author *** Hope flies behind enemy lines... September 1940. As enemy fighter planes blacken the sky, Susan Shepherd finds comfort at her home in Epping Forest, where she and her grandfather raise homing pigeons. Of all Susan's birds, it's Duchess who is the most extraordinary, and the two share a special bond. Thousands of miles away, Ollie Evans, a young American pilot decides to travel to Britain to join the Royal Air Force. But Ollie doesn't expect his quest to bring him instead to the National Pigeon Service - a covert new operation involving homing pigeons - and to Susan. The National Pigeon Service has a dangerous mission to air-drop hundreds of pigeons into German-occupied France. Despite their growing friendship Ollie and Susan must soon be parted - but will Duchess's devotion and sense of duty prove to be an unexpected lifeline between them? Based on true events, The Long Flight Home is an uplifting and timeless wartime novel, that reminds us how, in times of hardship, hope is never truly lost.

The Birds' Christmas Carol

Author: Kate Douglas Wiggin

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 80

View: 339

Carol, an invalid, loves to watch the large family who lives down the alley, and gaiety prevails--despite her illness--when she has all nine of them to Christmas dinner.

Massacre in Shansi

Author: Nat Brandt

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 364

View: 983

The eighteen missionaries who traveled to Shansi were dedicated, pious, hard-working clerics. Ernest Atwater; the young minister Francis Ward Davis and his wife Lydia; Charles Wesley Price and his family; and Susan Rowena Bird; to name a few, were all spurred by their strong beliefs, but they were also quite ignorant of other countries and cultures. Often having to live in disease-ravaged area of China and under harsh conditions, they were repulsed by the native lifestyle and saw further need to change it. Brandt presents finely wrought portraits of these people, detailing the lives of both the missionaries and thier converts, their experiences in the interior province of Shansi, and their struggle in trying to spread Christianity among people whose language they did not speak and whose traditions and customs they did not nderstand. Brandt's gripping narrative brings to light a penetrating and sincere study of the "Oberlin Band" of Protestant missionaries and captures the essence of their daily life. Considered in a fair and honest context, the descriptions are often taken directly from personal correspondence and journals. This tragic story of the clash between two cultures is primarily the story of the missionaries...six men, seven women, and five children. Their names appear on bronze tablets on the only monument in America ever erected to individuals who died in that uprising, the Memorial Arch on the campus of Oberlin College in Oberlin, Ohio.

Dear Mrs. Lindbergh: A Novel

Author: Kathleen Hughes

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 569

"A compassionate exploration of a woman's life—between motherhood and dreaming, living the everyday and taking flight."—Jane Mendelsohn, author of I Was Amelia Earhart When two elderly Iowans, Ruth and Henry Gutterson, disappear mysteriously on their way home from Thanksgiving, their adult children find a crate of Ruth's letters written to Anne Morrow Lindbergh. In the letters the children read of the origins of their parents' passion: how they first met in 1924 when Henry crashed his Air Mail plane into Ruth's family's cornfield; how Ruth flew alongside Henry as his navigator; about Ruth's passion for flying; and how the birth of her children kept her on the ground.