Daughter of the Forest

Book One of the Sevenwaters Trilogy

Author: Juliet Marillier

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 698

Juliet Marillier is a rare talent, a writer who can imbue her characters and her story with such warmth, such heart, that no reader can come away from her work untouched. Daughter of the Forest is a testimony to that talent, a first novel and the beginning of a trilogy like no other: a mixture of history and fantasy, myth and magic, legend and love. Lord Colum of Sevenwaters is blessed with six sons: Liam, a natural leader; Diarmid, with his passion for adventure; twins Cormack and Conor, each with a different calling; rebellious Finbar, grown old before his time by his gift of the Sight; and the young, compassionate Padriac. But it is Sorcha, the seventh child and only daughter, who alone is destined to defend her family and protect her land from the Britons and the clan known as Northwoods. For her father has been bewitched, and her brothers bound by a spell that only Sorcha can lift. To reclaim the lives of her brothers, Sorcha leaves the only safe place she has ever known, and embarks on a journey filled with pain, loss, and terror. When she is kidnapped by enemy forces and taken to a foreign land, it seems that there will be no way for her to break the spell that condemns all that she loves. But magic knows no boundaries, and Sorcha will have to choose between the life she has always known and a love that comes only once. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Daughter of the Forest

Author: Vella Munn

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 410

View: 918

The forests of the Pacific Northwest are lands of mist and rain, of towering trees and salmon-choked rivers. Where forest approaches sea, there live the Tillamook and the Nisqually, two tribes tied to each other by hatred. Madsaw, war chief of the Tillamook, kidnaps Twana, step-daughter of the Nisqually shaman. Though their people are enemies and to love a slave violates tribal law, Madsaw finds comfort and desire in his captive's arms. Each lover's heart conceals a secret, Madsaw hides his grief and anger over the murder of his first wife. Twana's burden is far heavier: her spirit touches those of the forest's creatures, from the gentle deer to the powerful, half-mad grizzly bear who stalks the Tillamook village--and everyone who knows of her power hates and fears her. United by a love stronger than any fear, Twana and Madsaw are determined to find peace and happiness, no matter what perils they must face.

A Daughter of the Forest

Author: Evelyn Raymond

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 176

View: 596

Reproduction of the original: A Daughter of the Forest by Evelyn Raymond

Daughter of the Forest: A Sevenwaters Novel 1

Author: Juliet Marillier

Publisher: Pan Australia

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 560

View: 432

The first book in the epic and compulsively readable Sevenwaters series "I enjoyed it immensely... For an Irish resident, familiar with the mores and customs, Daughter of the Forest had special meaning and relevance." Anne McCaffrey "This saga will hold you entranced" Australian Women's Weekly Daughter of the Forest is a mixture of history and heritage, myth and magic, legend and love. Lord Colum of Sevenwaters is blessed with seven children but it is Sorcha, the youngest child and only daughter, who alone is destined to defend her family and protect their land from the invading Britons. For Sorcha is the only one who escapes the cruel influence of Lady Oonagh, her father's new wife. Exiled from Sevenwaters and cast out into the forest and the terrifying world beyond, Sorcha falls into the hands of the feared enemy. Now she is torn between a life she has always known and a love that only comes once. Fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley, Isobelle Carmody and Robin Hobb will love Juliet Marillier.

A Daughter of the Forest

Author: Evelyn Hunt Raymond

Publisher: Wentworth Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 342

View: 411

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work. As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.

A Daughter of the Forest (Classic Reprint)

Author: Randolph Hartley

Publisher: Forgotten Books

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 96

View: 541

Excerpt from A Daughter of the Forest Scenez A little opening in a forest. In the distance appears a field, skirted by trees, and a peasant's cottage. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.