Chosen Soldier

The Making of a Special Forces Warrior

Author: Dick Couch

Publisher: Three Rivers Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 685

IN combating terror, America can no longer depend on its conventional military superiority and the use of sophisticated technology. We are fighting guerrilla wars, against insurgents hidden in remote regions, often deep among the local population. In battles such as these, squadrons of billion-dollar bombers and naval fleets mean much less than on-the-ground intelligence and the ability to organize local forces. That’s why, more than ever before, we need men like those of the Army Special Forces—the legendary Green Berets. In Chosen Soldier, Dick Couch—a former Navy SEAL widely admired for his books about SEAL training and operations—offers an unprecedented view of the training of the Army Special Forces warrior. Each year, several thousand enlisted men and several hundred officers volunteer for Special Forces training; less than a quarter of those who apply will complete the course. Chosen Soldier spells out in fascinating detail the arduous regimen these men undergo—the demanding selection process and grueling field exercises, the high-level technical training and intensive language courses, and the simulated battle problems that test everything from how well they gather operational intelligence to their skills at negotiating with volatile, often hostile, local leaders. Green Berets are expected to be deadly in combat, yes, but their responsibilities go far beyond those of other Special Operations fighters; they’re taught to operate in foreign cultures, often behind enemy lines; to recruit, train, and lead local forces; to gather intelligence in hostile territory; to forge bonds across languages and cultures. They must not only be experts in such fields as explosives, communications, engineering, and field medicine, but also be able to teach those skills to others. Each and every Green Beret must function as tactical combat leader, negotiator, teacher, drill sergeant, and diplomat. These tasks require more than just physical prowess; they require a unique mix of character, intelligence, language skills, and—most of all—adaptability. It’s no wonder that the Green Berets’ training regimen is known as the hardest in the world. Drawing on his unprecedented access to the closed world of Army Special Forces training, Dick Couch paints a vivid, intimate portrait of these extraordinary men and the process that forges America’s smartest, most versatile, and most valuable fighting force.

Timbuktu Chronicles

Aida and the Chosen Soldier

Author: Anthony Nana Kwamu

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 308

View: 345

Timbuktu, Mali Empire 1310 AD. Famine sweeps the empire. A raw-breed and a dark wizard conspire to control mankind. Horrible evil matures, soon to be unleashed. Two mysterious orbs are all that separate mankind from this fate. Chosen to find the orbs is skilled swordsman, Commander Gyvan Drabo, who wants simply to wed the woman of his dreams. But he is not alone. In order to succeed, he must learn to trust the girl, Aida, the most powerful of all eeidsand resolve the deadly conflict growing between them. Time is the enemy. Each moment they tarry the evil grows stronger. Deadly assassins stalk them. Pray-devils hunger for human flesh. And Gyvan discovers a terrible secret about the Dark Widow that torments his future. Will Aidas untested magical powers see them through? Or will her own secret doom mankind for all eternity?

Chosen Soldiers

Author: R. H. Scott

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 129

R. H. Scott’s Chosen Soldiers is an intense look at a young woman’s world shattering under the weight of its own illusions. A combination of military sci-fi and dystopian thriller, this is the perfect book for readers of Veronica Roth, Ally Condie, and Scott Westerfeld. After the missiles tore up the Earth, societies crumbled, leaving scattered patches of humanity struggling to survive. Slowly, a group came together, helping each other regrow a world worth living in. And then the Others attacked. Realizing the need to truly protect themselves, they formed the Academy: a place where young people could be built into an elite military force. The training is intense…and so are the consequences for failure. Sloan Radcliffe is not a failure. In fact, she’s the best of the best—the girls’ Senior Champion—and the only one who can match her is matched to her: her betrothed, Jared Dawson. They are the perfect couple: exemplary fighters, pure leaders, and exceptional role models. But as their time at the Academy draws to a close, Sloan is starting to see signs that maybe their life is built upon secrets…and that secrets are never a strong foundation. With the battlefront looming and whispers growing louder, Sloan is caught up not only between her loyalties to her people, but also to the man she loves.

Element Princess: Book Two

Book Two: Evolution

Author: Jenaia Williams

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 283

View: 899

As the journey continues for the brave and beautiful Element Princesses, they learn that their enemies numbers dont diminish they evolve. New members of the Docks take matters into their own hands and intend to ruin the princesses and their allies at all cost. Some members team up while other simply follow their instincts. Each princess experiences her own turmoil as the days pass. They must fight these battles on their own. Their powers will not always assist them. Will they be able to come to terms with more Demon Lords, the news of their titans waking up, and the introduction of their weapons - the Zygotes? With the Docks on the move and more obstacles to overcome, the princesses must conquer all and face their inner turmoil or else it will be the end. Book Two: Evolution

Josephine Lost

Author: Rebecca Gahagan

Publisher: Tate Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 316

View: 464

Looking back on that day, December 16, 2012, I wish I would have enjoyed it more. If wishes were fishes, right? Everything was so simple then. If I had known my whole world was about to spiral out of control, I would have called in sick to work and slept the afternoon away. Nineteen-year-old Abigail Thornton's family means everything to her. Her quarreling brother and sister, her ailing father, and her overbearing mother matter more to Abigail than anything in the world. That is until one fateful December day changes her life forever. Betrayal and death sweep through her family and life as she knows it will never be the same. Abi is drawn into a battle waged for eternities between the Arkos and the Scrios. Abigail is the Arkos' Chosen Soldier and with the help of Harrison, her Guardian, she fights the ultimate battle to save the souls of mankind. Abigail's sister, Josephine, falls in with the Scrios, the enemy bent on destroying the world. If Abigail succeeds in her mission, she must battle her sister and leave what's left of her family forever. Should she fail, she will cease to exist, and the world will fall into an irreversible darkness. In the midst of chaos, she finds a love truer than she's ever known and the courage to defy those whose only mission is to destroy her. But will it be enough? Will she be able to save the world from a terrible fate? How will Abigail be able to fight a sister who she once loved? Join Abigail as she finds her way in Josephine Lost!

Green Berets

Author: Martin Gitlin

Publisher: ABDO

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 48

View: 987

Describes the history of the Green Berets, including the weapons they use, the skills they need, and the types of missions they undertake.

Tomb of the Unknowns (eBook)

Author: Julia Hargrove

Publisher: Lorenz Educational Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 48

View: 318

Includes the Tomb of the Unknowns, Arlington National Cemetery and World War I and II memorials around the world. Also includes facts about Korea and Vietnam wars.