Chosen Soldier

The Making of a Special Forces Warrior

Author: Dick Couch

Publisher: Three Rivers Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 758

IN combating terror, America can no longer depend on its conventional military superiority and the use of sophisticated technology. We are fighting guerrilla wars, against insurgents hidden in remote regions, often deep among the local population. In battles such as these, squadrons of billion-dollar bombers and naval fleets mean much less than on-the-ground intelligence and the ability to organize local forces. That’s why, more than ever before, we need men like those of the Army Special Forces—the legendary Green Berets. In Chosen Soldier, Dick Couch—a former Navy SEAL widely admired for his books about SEAL training and operations—offers an unprecedented view of the training of the Army Special Forces warrior. Each year, several thousand enlisted men and several hundred officers volunteer for Special Forces training; less than a quarter of those who apply will complete the course. Chosen Soldier spells out in fascinating detail the arduous regimen these men undergo—the demanding selection process and grueling field exercises, the high-level technical training and intensive language courses, and the simulated battle problems that test everything from how well they gather operational intelligence to their skills at negotiating with volatile, often hostile, local leaders. Green Berets are expected to be deadly in combat, yes, but their responsibilities go far beyond those of other Special Operations fighters; they’re taught to operate in foreign cultures, often behind enemy lines; to recruit, train, and lead local forces; to gather intelligence in hostile territory; to forge bonds across languages and cultures. They must not only be experts in such fields as explosives, communications, engineering, and field medicine, but also be able to teach those skills to others. Each and every Green Beret must function as tactical combat leader, negotiator, teacher, drill sergeant, and diplomat. These tasks require more than just physical prowess; they require a unique mix of character, intelligence, language skills, and—most of all—adaptability. It’s no wonder that the Green Berets’ training regimen is known as the hardest in the world. Drawing on his unprecedented access to the closed world of Army Special Forces training, Dick Couch paints a vivid, intimate portrait of these extraordinary men and the process that forges America’s smartest, most versatile, and most valuable fighting force.

Timbuktu Chronicles

Aida and the Chosen Soldier

Author: Anthony Nana Kwamu

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 737

Mali Empire, 1312 A.D.A disgraced soldier and a dangerous child witch are assigned the perilous task of saving the empire from dark forces invading from another realm. As the two battle assassins and beasts dispatched to stop them, they must also find a way to set aside their own animosity towards each other. While the soldier questions why he, among all others was chosen for this task, the empire hides a chilling secret from him, which if revealed, could spell the doom of man for all eternity. With the fate of the world hanging in the balance, the witch also hides a secret, which if exposed, could destroy the empire's faith in her and dash the hopes of man forever.

Chosen Soldiers

Author: R. H. Scott

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 311

R. H. Scott’s Chosen Soldiers is an intense look at a young woman’s world shattering under the weight of its own illusions. A combination of military sci-fi and dystopian thriller, this is the perfect book for readers of Veronica Roth, Ally Condie, and Scott Westerfeld. After the missiles tore up the Earth, societies crumbled, leaving scattered patches of humanity struggling to survive. Slowly, a group came together, helping each other regrow a world worth living in. And then the Others attacked. Realizing the need to truly protect themselves, they formed the Academy: a place where young people could be built into an elite military force. The training is intense…and so are the consequences for failure. Sloan Radcliffe is not a failure. In fact, she’s the best of the best—the girls’ Senior Champion—and the only one who can match her is matched to her: her betrothed, Jared Dawson. They are the perfect couple: exemplary fighters, pure leaders, and exceptional role models. But as their time at the Academy draws to a close, Sloan is starting to see signs that maybe their life is built upon secrets…and that secrets are never a strong foundation. With the battlefront looming and whispers growing louder, Sloan is caught up not only between her loyalties to her people, but also to the man she loves.

Element Princess: Book Two

Book Two: Evolution

Author: Jenaia Williams

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 283

View: 501

As the journey continues for the brave and beautiful Element Princesses, they learn that their enemies numbers dont diminish they evolve. New members of the Docks take matters into their own hands and intend to ruin the princesses and their allies at all cost. Some members team up while other simply follow their instincts. Each princess experiences her own turmoil as the days pass. They must fight these battles on their own. Their powers will not always assist them. Will they be able to come to terms with more Demon Lords, the news of their titans waking up, and the introduction of their weapons - the Zygotes? With the Docks on the move and more obstacles to overcome, the princesses must conquer all and face their inner turmoil or else it will be the end. Book Two: Evolution

Josephine Lost

Author: Rebecca Gahagan

Publisher: Tate Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 316

View: 732

Looking back on that day, December 16, 2012, I wish I would have enjoyed it more. If wishes were fishes, right? Everything was so simple then. If I had known my whole world was about to spiral out of control, I would have called in sick to work and slept the afternoon away. Nineteen-year-old Abigail Thornton's family means everything to her. Her quarreling brother and sister, her ailing father, and her overbearing mother matter more to Abigail than anything in the world. That is until one fateful December day changes her life forever. Betrayal and death sweep through her family and life as she knows it will never be the same. Abi is drawn into a battle waged for eternities between the Arkos and the Scrios. Abigail is the Arkos' Chosen Soldier and with the help of Harrison, her Guardian, she fights the ultimate battle to save the souls of mankind. Abigail's sister, Josephine, falls in with the Scrios, the enemy bent on destroying the world. If Abigail succeeds in her mission, she must battle her sister and leave what's left of her family forever. Should she fail, she will cease to exist, and the world will fall into an irreversible darkness. In the midst of chaos, she finds a love truer than she's ever known and the courage to defy those whose only mission is to destroy her. But will it be enough? Will she be able to save the world from a terrible fate? How will Abigail be able to fight a sister who she once loved? Join Abigail as she finds her way in Josephine Lost!

Green Berets

Author: Martin Gitlin

Publisher: ABDO

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 48

View: 542

Describes the history of the Green Berets, including the weapons they use, the skills they need, and the types of missions they undertake.

Soldier Heroes

British Adventure, Empire and the Imagining of Masculinities

Author: Graham Dawson

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 368

View: 774

Soldier Heroes explores the imagining of masculinities within adventure stories. Drawing on literary theory, cultural materialism and Kleinian psychoanalysis, it analyses modern British adventure heroes as historical forms of masculinity originating in the era of nineteenth-century popular imperialism, traces their subsequent transformations and examines the way these identities are internalized and lived by men and boys.