Chimerica

Author: Lucy Kirkwood

Publisher: Nick Hern Books

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 142

View: 196

A powerful, provocative play about international relations and the shifting balance of power between East and West. Tiananmen Square, 1989. As tanks roll through Beijing and soldiers hammer on his hotel door, Joe - a young American photojournalist - captures a piece of history. New York, 2012. Joe is covering a presidential election, marred by debate over cheap labor and the outsourcing of American jobs to Chinese factories. When a cryptic message is left in a Beijing newspaper, Joe is driven to discover the truth behind the unknown hero he captured on film. Who was he? What happened to him? And could he still be alive? A gripping political examination and an engaging personal drama, Chimerica examines the changing fortunes of two countries whose futures will shape the whole world.

Chimerica

Author: Anita Felicelli

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 296

View: 480

Fiction. California Interest. In the fictional country of Chimerica, down-and-out Tamil American trial lawyer Maya Ramesh fights to save a painted lemur come to life, and in settings that range from Oakland, California, to a Malagasy rain forest, becomes a champion for them both. In magical realist tradition Anita Felicelli's satiric novel, CHIMERICA, looks at the inherent absurdities that drive systems of culture, power, and law. Fans of Marquez, Kelly Link, and Helen Oyeyemi will find CHIMERICA a spirited investigation of the ways in which art is codified and commodified--a contemporary philosophical, non-ideological, novel about art, originality, and American culture. "Felicelli's remarkable CHIMERICA is a coolly surrealist legal thriller--in turns sly, absurd, emotionally vivid, and satirically incisive--that shifts the reader into a world just adjacent to our own."--Jonathan Lethem "Felicelli blends the matter-of-fact with the mysterious in this utterly unique and compellingly readable debut. CHIMERICA is more than the story of a woman coming into her own power; it's a keen dive into the worlds of law, visual art, and marriage. You really couldn't ask for a novel with better ingredients. Did I mention there's a talking lemur? THERE'S A TALKING LEMUR."--Kelly Luce

The End of Chimerica

Author: Niall Ferguson

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 30

View: 765

For the better part of the past decade, the world economy has been dominated by a world economic order that combined Chinese export-led development with US over-consumption. The financial crisis of 2007-2009 likely marks the beginning of the end of the Chimerican relationship. In this paper we look at this era as economic historians, trying to set events in a longer-term perspective. In some ways China's economic model in the decade 1998-2007 was similar to the one adopted by West Germany and Japan after World War II. Trade surpluses with the U.S. played a major role in propelling growth. But there were two key differences. First, the scale of Chinese currency intervention was without precedent, as were the resulting distortions of the world economy. Second, the Chinese have so far resisted the kind of currency appreciation to which West Germany and Japan consented. We conclude that Chimerica cannot persist for much longer in its present form. As in the 1970s, sizeable changes in exchange rates are needed to rebalance the world economy. A continuation of Chimerica at a time of dollar devaluation would give rise to new and dangerous distortions in the global economy.

Intercultural Communication: A Reader

Author: Larry Samovar

Publisher: Cengage Learning

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 528

View: 658

INTERCULTURAL COMMUNICATION: A READER explores how communication values and styles can vary across cultures and communities, providing a thorough introduction to current theory while outlining practical strategies for more effective, culturally aware communication. INTERCULTURAL COMMUNICATION: A READER conveys the idea that successful intercultural communication is a matter of highest importance if humankind and society are to survive. This broad-based and highly engaging reader, compiled by the authors who defined the course, includes a balanced selection of articles--some commissioned solely for this text--that discusses the classic ideas that laid the groundwork for this field, as well as the latest research and ideas. Material is presented in a context that allows students to read, understand, and then apply course concepts to their lives. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

China Joins Global Governance

Cooperation and Contentions

Author: Mingjiang Li

Publisher: Lexington Books

ISBN:

Category: Political Science

Page: 218

View: 982

China Joins Global Governance: Cooperation and Contentions, edited by Mingjiang Li, provides a comprehensive and insightful examination of China’s role in global governance. The contributors make a significant contribution to the scholarly debate on the impacts of China’s rise on the stability and future evolution of the international system.

Handbook of the International Political Economy of Monetary Relations

Author: Thomas Oatley

Publisher: Edward Elgar Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 512

View: 681

This extensive Handbook provides an in-depth exploration of the political economy dynamics associated with the international monetary and financial systems. Leading experts offer a fresh take on research into the interaction between system structure, t