Chasing the Sun

Author: Juanes

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 588

“I’m doing what I believe I was brought to this world to do: to create music that raises awareness, renews hearts, and generates change. I’ll continue looking to the stars and traveling the globe as God permits me. And I hope I have many years left to connect through art, to play my guitar, and to continue chasing the sun.”—Juanes In Chasing the Sun, the international music icon and humanitarian shares the incredible story of his life and how music and faith guided his path. In his own un-adulterated words, and with visually arresting images throughout—some of them never before seen—Juanes imparts his defining moments from childhood to present day, reflecting on his spiritual and musical journey and the personal and professional experiences that shaped the man he is today. Born and raised in Colombia, Juanes developed his deep love of music from his family and learned to play guitar at an early age. By age sixteen, he became a founding member, lead guitarist, vocalist, and song-writer for Ekhymosis, which went on to become Colombia’s leading hard-rock band. However, it was his career as a solo artist that propelled him toward international superstardom. With great honesty, Juanes reveals how his times of glory were often intersected by times of doubt and soul-searching and how remaining true to his beliefs and passionate about his art gave him the strength and foresight to reinvent himself and his career. While his role as a recording artist is well documented, the very private Juanes has never opened up in his own words—until now.

Chasing the Sun

The Epic Story of the Star That Gives us Life

Author: Richard Cohen

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 704

View: 389

The Sun is so powerful, so much bigger than us, that it is a terrifying subject. Yet though we depend on it, we take it for granted. Amazingly the first book of its kind, CHASING THE SUNis a cultural and scientific history of our relationship with the star that gives us life. Richard Cohen, applying the same mix of wide-ranging reference and intimate detail that won outstanding reviews for By the Sword, travels from the ancient Greek astronomers to modern-day solar scientists, from Stonehenge to Antarctica (site of the solar eclipse of 2003, when penguins were said to sing), Mexico's Aztecs to the Norwegian city of Tromso, where for two months of the year there is no Sun at all. He introduces us to the crucial 'sunspot cycle' in modern economics, the religious dances of Indian tribesmen, the histories of sundials and calendars, the plight of migrating birds, the latest theories of global warming, and Galileo recording his discoveries in code, for fear of persecution. And throughout, there is the rich Sun literature -- from the writings of Homer through Dante and Nietzsche to Keats, Shelley and beyond. Blindingly impressive and hugely readable, this is a tour de force of narrative non-fiction.

Chasing the Sun

The New Science of Sunlight and How it Shapes Our Bodies and Minds

Author: Linda Geddes

Publisher: Profile Books

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page:

View: 873

The full story of how our relationship with light shapes our health, productivity and mood. 'A sparkling and illuminating study, one of those rare books that could genuinely improve your life' Sunday Times Since the dawn of time, humans have worshipped the sun. And with good reason. Our biology is set up to work in partnership with it. From our sleep cycles to our immune systems and our mental health, access to sunlight is crucial for living a happy and fulfilling life. New research suggests that our sun exposure over a lifetime - even before we were born - may shape our risk of developing a range of different illnesses, from depression to diabetes. Bursting with cutting-edge science and eye-opening advice, Chasing the Sun explores the extraordinary significance of sunlight, from ancient solstice celebrations to modern sleep labs, and from the unexpected health benefits of sun exposure to what the Amish know about sleep that the rest of us don't. As more of us move into light-polluted cities, spending our days in dim offices and our evenings watching brightly lit screens, we are in danger of losing something vital: our connection to the star that gave us life. It's a loss that could have far-reaching consequences that we're only just beginning to grasp.

Chasing the Sun

Author: Mike Masserman

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 597

A book for anyone who has ever wondered where the sun goes after it sets, including children ages 3-7 years old. With beautiful and vivid color illustration, this story takes you on an island adventure through oceans, jungles, and mountaintops, where our hero Tiki the Turtle, is in search of the sun. He meets all sorts of animals along the way and discovers that the journey is what matters most. So for anyone with a hint of curiosity and an adventurous spirit, come join us as we chase it all...

Chasing the Sun

Author: Kaki Warner

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 383

A rancher and the woman he wronged get a second chance at love in the final western romance in Kaki Warner’s Blood Rose Trilogy... Daisy Etheridge had to put her dreams aside when she fell in love and bore the child of a man who loved another. Now, she’s been given the opportunity to sing on a real stage and provide a better life for her daughter—but training will require money Daisy doesn't have. With nowhere else to turn Daisy heads to New Mexico Territory to ask for the help of the wealthy family of the man who abandoned her... While Jack Wilkins never wanted to work his family’s ranch, a devotion to a childhood love has brought him back home to win her one last time. But when Daisy appears with a baby who has eyes like his own, Jack gets caught between his feelings for his old flame and his new role as a father. Jack offers to marry Daisy—though she’s wary of a man whose head and heart are prone to wanderlust. But when the ranch is threatened and the Wilkins family is strained to the breaking point, Jack and Daisy must choose what they want out of their lives—and out of each other...

Chasing the Sun

Author: Natalia Sylvester

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: FICTION

Page: 291

View: 642

"For fans of Laura Lippman and Marisa de los Santos, a tense family drama about a husband's quest to save his wife, who has been kidnapped by terrorists in Lima, Peru in 1992. How far will he go to save their imperfect marriage?"--

Chasing the Sun

Author: Robin Baker

Publisher: Pantera Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 499

A thrilling black comedy about making the best of what little time we have left - with vampires! And genocide! A twisted tale about Feng Shui, vampires, drinking, pet psychiatry, genocide, belief and mortality. In this darkly comic, slow-burn fantasy thriller, nothing is as it seems. A nightclub opening becomes a fight for life and the discovered fountain of youth hides a movement to exterminate a race. Chasing the Sun’s twenty-something protagonist and narrator, Honda, is a disgruntled, cocaine-addicted con man posing as a Feng Shui expert. He’s also a vampire. His nightclub loving friends are also vampires, apart from a single mother, Rain. When Rain dies, Honda is the only one left to care for her young daughter Dip who brings him face to face with his mortality, and morality, as he tries to protect her. A thrilling black comedy about making the best of what little time we have left - with vampires! And genocide! A twisted tale about Feng Shui, vampires, drinking, pet psychiatry, genocide, belief and mortality. In this darkly comic, slow-burn fantasy thriller, nothing is as it seems. A nightclub opening becomes a fight for life and the discovered fountain of youth hides a movement to exterminate a race. Chasing the Sun’s twenty-something protagonist and narrator, Honda, is a disgruntled, cocaine-addicted con man posing as a Feng Shui expert. He’s also a vampire. His nightclub loving friends are also vampires, apart from a single mother, Rain. When Rain dies, Honda is the only one left to care for her young daughter Dip who brings him face to face with his mortality, and morality, as he tries to protect her. A thrilling black comedy about making the best of what little time we have left - with vampires! And genocide! A twisted tale about Feng Shui, vampires, drinking, pet psychiatry, genocide, belief and mortality. In this darkly comic, slow-burn fantasy thriller, nothing is as it seems. A nightclub opening becomes a fight for life and the discovered fountain of youth hides a movement to exterminate a race. Chasing the Sun’s twenty-something protagonist and narrator, Honda, is a disgruntled, cocaine-addicted con man posing as a Feng Shui expert. He’s also a vampire. His nightclub loving friends are also vampires, apart from a single mother, Rain. When Rain dies, Honda is the only one left to care for her young daughter Dip who brings him face to face with his mortality, and morality, as he tries to protect her.

Chasing the Sun (Land of the Lone Star Book #1)

Author: Tracie Peterson

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 788

Tracie Peterson Embarks on a New Texas Series When her father disappears in war-torn Mississippi, Hannah Dandridge finds herself responsible not only for her younger siblings but for the ranch her father recently acquired on the Texas plains. Though a marriage of convenience could ease her predicament, she determines to trust God for direction. Wounded soldier William Barnett returns to his home only to discover that his family's ranch has been seized. Though angry and bitter at this turn of events, he's surprised to discover that it is a beautiful young woman with amazing fortitude who is struggling to keep the place running. Hannah, desperate for help, and William, desperate to regain his family's land, form an uneasy truce. But nearby Comanche tribes, the arrival of Confederate soldiers, and a persistent suitor all threaten the growing attraction that builds between them. Will they be able to set aside their own dreams and embrace the promise of a future together?

Chasing the Sun

Travels of D. L. Siluk

Author: Dennis Siluk

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 112

View: 287

Dennis L Siluk was born in St. Paul, Minnesota, October 7, l947. Graduated from the University of Maryland, l977, and Troy State University, in l979, with degrees in psychology and sociology, and then studied theology for several months, continuing his graduated studies in counseling at the University of Minnesota, receiving his license thereafter. But his desire to travel has out lived his desire to continue in the area of behavior science. His travels have produced three books in the past and seven books in the present. This book traces that desire starting in the year of l967 to the present, 2002, with pictures on some of his travels, and several pages of commentary. In addition, Mr. Siluk has added two of his poems from his earlier travels, which was put into his first book published in l980, and four short stories, one that has been accepted as an entry for Nimrod Literary Award for short stories.