Chasing the Sun

Author: Juanes

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 957

“I’m doing what I believe I was brought to this world to do: to create music that raises awareness, renews hearts, and generates change. I’ll continue looking to the stars and traveling the globe as God permits me. And I hope I have many years left to connect through art, to play my guitar, and to continue chasing the sun.”—Juanes In Chasing the Sun, the international music icon and humanitarian shares the incredible story of his life and how music and faith guided his path. In his own un-adulterated words, and with visually arresting images throughout—some of them never before seen—Juanes imparts his defining moments from childhood to present day, reflecting on his spiritual and musical journey and the personal and professional experiences that shaped the man he is today. Born and raised in Colombia, Juanes developed his deep love of music from his family and learned to play guitar at an early age. By age sixteen, he became a founding member, lead guitarist, vocalist, and song-writer for Ekhymosis, which went on to become Colombia’s leading hard-rock band. However, it was his career as a solo artist that propelled him toward international superstardom. With great honesty, Juanes reveals how his times of glory were often intersected by times of doubt and soul-searching and how remaining true to his beliefs and passionate about his art gave him the strength and foresight to reinvent himself and his career. While his role as a recording artist is well documented, the very private Juanes has never opened up in his own words—until now.

Chasing the Sun

The Epic Story of the Star That Gives us Life

Author: Richard Cohen

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 704

View: 672

The Sun is so powerful, so much bigger than us, that it is a terrifying subject. Yet though we depend on it, we take it for granted. Amazingly the first book of its kind, CHASING THE SUNis a cultural and scientific history of our relationship with the star that gives us life. Richard Cohen, applying the same mix of wide-ranging reference and intimate detail that won outstanding reviews for By the Sword, travels from the ancient Greek astronomers to modern-day solar scientists, from Stonehenge to Antarctica (site of the solar eclipse of 2003, when penguins were said to sing), Mexico's Aztecs to the Norwegian city of Tromso, where for two months of the year there is no Sun at all. He introduces us to the crucial 'sunspot cycle' in modern economics, the religious dances of Indian tribesmen, the histories of sundials and calendars, the plight of migrating birds, the latest theories of global warming, and Galileo recording his discoveries in code, for fear of persecution. And throughout, there is the rich Sun literature -- from the writings of Homer through Dante and Nietzsche to Keats, Shelley and beyond. Blindingly impressive and hugely readable, this is a tour de force of narrative non-fiction.

Chasing the Sun

Author: Natalia Sylvester

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: FICTION

Page: 291

View: 800

"For fans of Laura Lippman and Marisa de los Santos, a tense family drama about a husband's quest to save his wife, who has been kidnapped by terrorists in Lima, Peru in 1992. How far will he go to save their imperfect marriage?"--

Chasing the Sun

Author: Ballantyne, R. M.

Publisher: Delmarva Publications, Inc.

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 926

"Fred Temple was a tall, handsome young fellow of about five-and-twenty. He had a romantic spirit, a quiet gentlemanly manner, a pleasant smile, and a passionate desire for violent exercise. To look at him you would have supposed that he was rather a lazy man, for all his motions were slow and deliberate. He was never in a hurry, and looked as if it would take a great deal to excite him. But those who knew Fred Temple well used to say that there was a great deal more in him than appeared at first sight. Sometimes a sudden flush of the brow, or a gleam of his eyes, told of hidden fires within. . . . R. M. Ballantyne (24 April 1825 – 8 February 1894) was a Scottish juvenile fiction writer. Born Robert Michael Ballantyne in Edinburgh, he was part of a famous family of printers and publishers. At the age of 16 he went to Canada and was six years in the service of the Hudson's Bay Company. He returned to Scotland in 1847, and published his first book the following year, Hudson's Bay: or, Life in the Wilds of North America. For some time he was employed by Messrs Constable, the publishers, but in 1856 he gave up business for the profession of literature, and began the series of adventure stories for the young with which his name is popularly associated. (Illustrated)

Chasing the Sun

Author: Tracie Peterson

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 950

Desperate for help to run the ranch that her missing father recently acquired on the Texas plains, Hannah Dandridge forms an uneasy truce with William Barnett, who is desperate to regain his family's land--the ranch that Hannah is struggling to keep running.

Chasing the Sun

Author: Kaki Warner

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 287

A rancher and the woman he wronged get a second chance at love in the final western romance in Kaki Warner’s Blood Rose Trilogy... Daisy Etheridge had to put her dreams aside when she fell in love and bore the child of a man who loved another. Now, she’s been given the opportunity to sing on a real stage and provide a better life for her daughter—but training will require money Daisy doesn't have. With nowhere else to turn Daisy heads to New Mexico Territory to ask for the help of the wealthy family of the man who abandoned her... While Jack Wilkins never wanted to work his family’s ranch, a devotion to a childhood love has brought him back home to win her one last time. But when Daisy appears with a baby who has eyes like his own, Jack gets caught between his feelings for his old flame and his new role as a father. Jack offers to marry Daisy—though she’s wary of a man whose head and heart are prone to wanderlust. But when the ranch is threatened and the Wilkins family is strained to the breaking point, Jack and Daisy must choose what they want out of their lives—and out of each other...

Chasing the Sun

Travels of D. L. Siluk

Author: Dennis Siluk

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 112

View: 693

Dennis L Siluk was born in St. Paul, Minnesota, October 7, l947. Graduated from the University of Maryland, l977, and Troy State University, in l979, with degrees in psychology and sociology, and then studied theology for several months, continuing his graduated studies in counseling at the University of Minnesota, receiving his license thereafter. But his desire to travel has out lived his desire to continue in the area of behavior science. His travels have produced three books in the past and seven books in the present. This book traces that desire starting in the year of l967 to the present, 2002, with pictures on some of his travels, and several pages of commentary. In addition, Mr. Siluk has added two of his poems from his earlier travels, which was put into his first book published in l980, and four short stories, one that has been accepted as an entry for Nimrod Literary Award for short stories.

Chasing the Sun

Author: Gail Johnson

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 40

View: 617

This story is about a boy who took his mom for a ride in his own boat.

Chasing the Sun

A Reader's Guide to Novels Set in the American West

Author: Edward Joseph Beverly

Publisher: Sunstone Press

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 497

View: 624

"Chasing the Sun" is a guide to Western fiction with more than 1,350 entries, including 59 reviews of the author's personal favorites, organized around theme.