The Broken Circle

A Search for Wisdom in the Nuclear Age

Author: Stephen Most

Publisher: Stephen Most

ISBN:

Category: Nuclear arms control

Page: 130

View: 596

Broken Circle

The Dark Legacy of Indian Residential Schools

Author: Theodore Fontaine

Publisher: Heritage House Publishing Co

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 208

View: 377

Theodore (Ted) Fontaine lost his family and freedom just after his seventh birthday, when his parents were forced to leave him at an Indian residential school by order of the Roman Catholic Church and the Government of Canada. Twelve years later, he left school frozen at the emotional age of seven. He was confused, angry and conflicted, on a path of self-destruction. At age 29, he emerged from this blackness. By age 32, he had graduated from the Civil Engineering Program at the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology and begun a journey of self-exploration and healing. In this powerful and poignant memoir, Ted examines the impact of his psychological, emotional and sexual abuse, the loss of his language and culture, and, most important, the loss of his family and community. He goes beyond details of the abuses of Native children to relate a unique understanding of why most residential school survivors have post-traumatic stress disorders and why succeeding generations of First Nations children suffer from this dark chapter in history. Told as remembrances described with insights that have evolved through his healing, his story resonates with his resolve to help himself and other residential school survivors and to share his enduring belief that one can pick up the shattered pieces and use them for good.

Broken Circle

Author: J.L. Powers

Publisher: Akashic Books

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 320

View: 834

"The Powerses' worldbuilding and writing will keep [readers] hooked. They will find themselves questioning what is fact and what is fiction and cheering Adam on as he journeys in this new, strange world. A gripping, philosophical paranormal thriller." --Kirkus Reviews "In this intriguing tale of life and death (literally, there are soul guides and a grim reaper), siblings J. L. and M. A. Powers explore the intersections of fear and power in relation to limbo, as Adam and his newfound friends try to become everything they are supposed to be...[This] will keep readers on the edge of their seats, wanting more--which is good, considering this is the first of a series." --Booklist "Fans of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare will enjoy this series starters." --School Library Journal "This novel was well constructed and rich in detail. The characters are well rounded and realistic...I enjoyed this novel very much and am excited for the next book in the series. I would recommend this novel to fans of Reaper fiction and any fantasy." --Life My Way (blog) "A very entertaining read." --Read Explore Repeat (blog) "If paranormal is your thing...give this one a try." --Reading Through Life "You won't want to put this one down: it's Hogwarts for soul guides, with family rivalries and developing powers aplenty. The writing flows and the characters have a rich depth to them, even with their own secrets that we may or may not find out before this volume ends. Thank goodness it's the first in a series; I have more to look forward to and so will you. Give this to your Gaiman fans, for sure; hand it to your Potterheads that are ready to meet a new group of friends. Give it to your readers that enjoy seeing life from a different point of view." --Mom Read It "Broken Circle is perfect for anyone who has ever been intrigued by figures of death (like the Grim Reaper, or the Underworld), enjoys YA fiction, and also likes boarding school settings." --Utopia State of Mind (blog) "Broken Circle's exacting mix of myth, science and the paranormal discloses that the whole world's destiny is at stake if powers and abilities like Adam's fall into the wrong, crepuscular hands. The Powerses have placed a sympathetic kid and his crew bravely in the midst of some very big questions (it's OK to think Harry Potter). What happens gives a different spin to everything on Earth and whatever may come after." --The Center for Fiction/Junior Edition column Adam wants nothing more than to be a "normal" teen, but his reality is quickly leaking normal. Afraid to sleep because of the monster that stalks his dreams, Adam's breakdown at school in front of his crush Sarah lands him in the hospital. As he struggles to cope with his day-to-day life, Adam can only vaguely comprehend some sort of future. His mother died when he was only four and his eccentric father--who might be an assassin, a voodoo god, the reincarnation of the Buddha, or something even stranger--is never available when Adam really needs him. Even his paranoid grandfather, who insists that people are "out to kill the entire family," is no help. Adam's life takes an even weirder turn when a fat man with a gold tooth and a medallion confronts his father regarding Adam's supposed "True Destiny." Adam is soon headed toward a collision with life, death, and the entities charged with shepherding souls of the newly dead, all competing to control lucrative territories where some nightmares are real and psychopomps of ancient legends walk the streets of North America.

Broken Circle

Author: Christopher Dinsdale

Publisher: Dundurn

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 104

View: 759

Angry at missing a week of summer video game entertainment, Jesse, a twelve-year-old boy of European/Native American descent, grudgingly follows through with his deceased father’s request that he join his Uncle Matthew and cousin Jason at Six Islands, on Georgian Bay, for a special camping trip. Uncle Matthew explains that Jesse’s father wanted Jason’s vision quest to be his introduction to their native culture. During their first night around the camp-fire, it is Jesse who has a vision, and the adventure begins. Not only is he swept back in time four hundred years, but he is transformed into a majestic, white-tailed deer. He must now survive the expert hunting skills of his ancestors while somehow rescuing his people before they are destroyed by warfare.

Broken Circle

Author: D. H. Caldwell

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 280

View: 167

It's a typical muggy Carolina morning in 1932. Eight-year-old George Campbell is waiting on the front porch. Ahead, he sees the ambulance approach. He runs in the house to his father, yelling, "it's here, it's here!"In the bedroom lies his mother, the most stable, loving influence in his short life. The ambulance is here to take her away.She will not return.Left with a father who does not know how to care for the boy, George is shipped off to live with relatives; a sex-obsessed cousin; a philandering uncle; and an aunt who tries hard to give this motherless child the love and support that he lost.Broken Circle is an emotional journey that will tug at your heart and leave you rooting for George's long, painful search for acceptance.

HALO: Broken Circle

Author: John Shirley

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 339

View: 151

Examines the lore of the popular video game franchise, beginning at the birth of the Covenant and the initial bargain between the Prophets and the Elites and recounting the betrayal, by a rebel splinter group, that ultimately brings destruction. 100,000 first printing.

The Broken Circle

Author: David P. Bridges

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 362

View: 146

Dr./Major Breathed chooses the cause of the Confederacy over medicine but will that decision cost him the love of his life? James is swept away into a war created by divisions between the northern and southern states. The Broken Circle has elements that mirror a Greek tragedy that sets up the paradoxical inner conflict of saving life as a doctor versus destroying life as a soldier. He re-channels his genius from medical to master warrior and ultimately becomes disillusioned and demoralized. Mollie Macgill utilizes her espionage talents as the two fall in love throughout the course of the war. In the final post-war chapters they both seek redemption from God for their greater devotion to the Southern cause. As they seek to repair their shattered souls the tragic brokenness of James's and Mollie's lives is revealed. The Broken Circle is full of historically accurate battle scenes and the characters are historical people.

The Broken Circle

Author: Janelle Wols

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 128

View: 253

Jocelyn has a loving boyfriend and a roommate who has been her best friend almost all her life. She has many friends who come to her for loving advice but now she is gone. They are all left wondering who would want her dead? Her circle of friends becomes smaller as secrets are revealed and detectives try to solve the murder. They talk to all of her friends, but could they be missing something? Could the person they believed killed her really have done it or are they too quick to place the blame?

The Broken Circle: True Story of Murder and Magic In Indian Country

The Troubled Past and Uncertain Future of the FBI

Author: Rodney Barker

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: True Crime

Page: 368

View: 678

Broken Circle recounts “The Chokecherry Massacre,” in which three New Mexico high-school students were charged with the murder of two Navajo Indian men, causing a violent, racial street riot that prompted the governor to call out the National Guard.

Broken Circle: Verdan Chronicles:

Author: David Gerspach

Publisher: Lulu Press, Inc

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 458

The war in Verdan is over. The death of Terek at Mount Bardoom has brought the world together and made the various races realize they can no longer live in isolation. But the peace promised by The Fourth Age is one they will still need to earn. In the frozen wastelands to the north there are those who seek to cheat death. If successful, they plan to reshape the world. Standing in their way is the same wizard whose death was recently celebrated, but now may be needed to protect those he once fought. In Izmir, a mysterious theft at Mount Bardoom sends the Lady Y’Shanarra on a quest and a collision course with those same schemes and ambitions. Trevor, finally reunited with his long lost son, seeks to return to Parthea. But first, he is reunited with friends and becomes entangled in a goblin revolution. And if recent revelations are true, it is goblin history which may yet provide clues to Verdan’s future.