Writers Between the Covers

The Scandalous Romantic Lives of Legendary Literary Casanovas, Coquettes, and Cads

Author: Joni Rendon

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 133

What happened off the page was often a lot spicier than what was written on it... Why did Norman Mailer stab his second wife at a party? Who was Edith Wharton’s secret transatlantic lover? What motivated Anaïs Nin to become a bigamist? Writers Between the Covers rips the sheets off these and other real-life love stories of the literati—some with fairy tale endings and others that resulted in break-ups, breakdowns, and brawls. Among the writers laid bare are Agatha Christie, who sparked the largest-ever manhunt in England as her marriage fell apart; Arthur Miller, whose jaw-dropping pairing with Marilyn Monroe proved that opposites attract, at least initially; and T.S. Eliot, who slept in a deckchair on his disastrous honeymoon. From the best break-up letters to the stormiest love triangles to the boldest cougars and cradle-robbers, this fun and accessible volume—packed with lists, quizzes and in-depth exposés—reveals literary history’s most titillating loves, lusts, and longings.

Immortal Vegas Box Set: Books 1-3

Author: Jenn Stark

Publisher: Jenn Stark

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 1023

View: 453

The first three full-length novels of the fast-paced, high-adventure, international urban fantasy Immortal Vegas Series in one box set! Show up for the smart-mouthed jokes, stay for the adventure, and never bet against the house… Wilde Magic: Tarot-reading artifact hunter Sara Wilde has had her share of tough assignments, but this one just might take the cake. When her newest client hires her to steal a fertility idol from an Amazonian sex-and-death cult, she finds herself south of the equator and shoulder deep in true believers, while Rio de Janeiro gears up for the closing celebrations of Carnival. Stealing the idol is one thing, however. Keeping it is another. Getting Wilde: Using her well-worn Tarot deck, magical-artifacts hunter Sara Wilde can find anything--for a price. And the price had better be right, since she needs to finance her own personal mission to rescue several young psychics recently sold on the paranormal black market. Enter Sara's most mysterious client, the wickedly sexy Magician, with a job that could yield the ultimate payday. All she'll have to do is get behind Vatican walls... and steal the Devil himself. Wilde Card: When an antique gold show comes to Vegas, artifact-hunter Sara Wilde's job is simple: to locate and liberate a set of relics rumored to give their bearers access to an ancient, incredible power. Yet within the Connected community, whispers of a war against magic draw every psychic, mystic, warlock, and witch to Sin City. The most powerful Connected also covet the infamous relics, but no one wants them more than Sara's client—the insufferably arrogant, criminally sensual, and endlessly evasive Magician. Take the adventure with Sara Wilde and Immortal Vegas…where everything changes with a flip of a card.

The Shattered Tower

Author: Jenn Stark

Publisher: Jenn Stark

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 369

Where there is magic...there will always be war. Justice of the Arcana Council Sara Wilde has dedicated her life to protecting the world’s most vulnerable members of the psychic community. But as an ancient enemy of the Council closes in, inciting the Shadow Court and its followers around to deadly action, there’s no way to avoid a world-changing war. Worse, this final battle not only threatens millions of innocent Connecteds, it has the potential to destroy everyone close to Sara. The Magician, the Devil, the Fool, Death, the Moon, Judgment—no one is safe. Even as Sara realizes how much she has come to love her found family, she knows she could lose them in a blink of an eye. But Sara hasn’t fought this hard, for this long, to give up now. And when she combines the full limit of her abilities with her trusty Tarot cards…the game will never be the same. Except the cards can no longer save you when you climb THE SHATTERED TOWER.

Born to be Wilde

Author: Eloisa James

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 641

'Nothing gets me to a bookstore faster than Eloisa James' Julia Quinn Eloisa James's dazzling new Georgian-set series continues . . . The richest bachelor in England plays matchmaker . . . for an heiress he wants for himself! For beautiful, witty Lavinia Gray, there's only one thing worse than having to ask the appalling Parth Sterling to marry her: being turned down by him. Now the richest bachelor in England, Parth is not about to marry a woman as reckless and fashion-obsessed as Lavinia; he's chosen a far more suitable bride. But when he learns of Lavinia's desperate circumstances, he offers to find her a husband. Even better, he'll find her a prince. As usual, there's no problem Parth can't fix. But the more time he spends with the beguiling Lavinia, the more he finds himself wondering . . . Why does the woman who's completely wrong feel so right in his arms? The third book in New York Times bestselling Eloisa James's new series, the Wildes of Lindow Castle, is perfect for fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgertons and Eloisa's Desperate Duchesses The Wildes of Lindow Castle series: Wilde in Love Too Wilde to Wed Born to Be Wilde Say No to the Duke Praise for Eloisa James: 'Eloisa James is extraordinary' Lisa Kleypas 'Smart heroines, sensual heroes, witty repartee and a penchant for delicious romance have made James a fan favorite . . . readers will be hooked from beginning to end' RT Book Reviews 'Romance writing does not get much better than this' People 'Eloisa James writes with a captivating blend of charm, style, and grace that never fails to leave the reader sighing and smiling and falling in love' Julia Quinn 'Charming, romantic and unexpectedly funny' Kirkus

The Voices of Robby Wilde

Author: Elizabeth Kytle

Publisher: University of Georgia Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 329

View: 392

An engrossing, often disturbing, look into the inner life of a paranoid schizophrenic, The Voices of Robby Wilde has greatly advanced the popular understanding of mental illness since its first publication in 1987. Robby Wilde heard his first "voice" when he was nine years old--a man's voice clearly saying, "I've got you!" With increasing frequency and intensity, such hostile uttering would vex Wilde for the rest of his life, distorting his behavior and shattering his self-esteem. Some ten years before his death at age fifty-three, Wilde asked his friend Elizabeth Kytle to write about his affliction. Ranging in time from Wilde's youth in rural North Carolina to his impoverished last days in Columbus, Ohio, Kytle chronicles the slow unraveling and final breakdown of a life. Different views of Wilde, his illness, and his struggle to live and work as a "normal" person come forth in a series of twice-told tales; accounts based on Wilde's own recollections alternate with sometimes vastly differing reports of the same incidents by friends, family members, coworkers, and others who knew and cared about him. Wilde's story, heightened by his longing to be understood and his acute grasp of his own situation, will challenge readers to new levels of respect and compassion for the mentally ill.

Oscar Wilde's Chatterton

Literary History, Romanticism, and the Art of Forgery

Author: Joseph Bristow

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 488

View: 894

This book explores Oscar Wilde’s fascination with the eighteenth-century forger Thomas Chatterton, who tragically took his life at the age of seventeen. This innovative study combines a scholarly monograph with a textual edition of the extensive notes that Wilde took on the brilliant forger who inspired not only Coleridge, Wordsworth, and Keats but also Victorian artists and authors. Bristow and Mitchell argue that Wilde’s substantial “Chatterton” notebook, which previous scholars have deemed a work of plagiarism, is central to his development as a gifted writer of criticism, drama, fiction, and poetry. This volume reveals that Wilde’s research on Chatterton informs his deepest engagements with Romanticism, plagiarism, and forgery, especially in his later works. Grounded in painstaking archival research that draws on previously undiscovered sources, Oscar Wilde’s Chatterton explains why, in Wilde’s personal canon of great writers, Chatterton stood as an equal in this most distinguished company.

Richard Henry Wilde

Life and Selected Poems

Author: Edward L. Tucker

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Lawyers

Page: 1232

View: 767