Bohemian Gospel: A Novel (The Bohemian Trilogy)

Author: Dana Chamblee Carpenter

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 460

Set against the historical reign of the Golden and Iron King, Bohemian Gospel is the remarkable tale of a bold and unusual girl on a quest to uncover her past and define her destiny. Thirteenth-century Bohemia is a dangerous place for a girl, especially one as odd as Mouse, born with unnatural senses and an uncanny intellect. Some call her a witch. Others call her an angel. Even Mouse doesn’t know who—or what—she is. But she means to find out. When young King Ottakar shows up at the Abbey wounded by a traitor's arrow, Mouse breaks church law to save him and then agrees to accompany him back to Prague as his personal healer. Caught in the undertow of court politics at the castle, Ottakar and Mouse find themselves drawn to each other as they work to uncover the threat against him and to unravel the mystery of her past. But when Mouse's unusual gifts give rise to a violence and strength that surprise everyone—especially herself—she is forced to ask herself: Will she be prepared for the future that awaits her? A heart-thumping, highly original tale in the vein of Elizabeth Kostova's The Historian, Bohemian Gospel heralds the arrival of a fresh new voice for historical fiction.

The Gospel in Bohemia

Sketches of Bohemian Religious History

Author: Elizabeth Jane Whately

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Bohemia (Czech Republic)

Page: 182

View: 821

Book of the Just

Book Three of the Bohemian Trilogy

Author: Dana Chamblee Carpenter

Publisher: Bohemian Trilogy

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 368

View: 439

After centuries of searching, Mouse now has everything she's ever wanted within her reach--a normal life, a lover, a brother. What will she risk to keep them?

Bohemian Jesus the Gospel of the Free Spirit

Translated from the Originals in Accordance with the Latest Textual Discoveries

Author: Religious Humanism Studies Group

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 218

View: 285

There have been very significant discoveries made since the Dead Sea Scrolls were found more than seventy years ago. Many of these have occurred as this ancient treasure trove of texts has been cataloged and then evaluated. Out of the midst of this explosion of knowledge about the Essenes and other first century peoples, a new picture of Jesus has emerged. Groups like the Jesus Seminar have also done thorough linguistic work to identify original sayings of Jesus and his contemporaries. Old gospels, such as The Gospel According to Thomas, have been published. Finally, The New Aquarian Gospel of Jesus provides much more material.The net result is a much more accurate understanding of who Jesus was and the import of his message.Jesus was passionate about life, about its intrinsic beauty, and how it should be celebrated. He enjoyed sipping wine by the sea as he and friends discussed the questions of life. And out of this embrace of life, a vision of a new bohemian culture became possible.Enjoy the read and then begin your own celebration.

The Gospel in Bohemia

Sketches of Bohemian Religious History

Author: HardPress

Publisher: Hardpress Publishing

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 202

View: 889

Unlike some other reproductions of classic texts (1) We have not used OCR(Optical Character Recognition), as this leads to bad quality books with introduced typos. (2) In books where there are images such as portraits, maps, sketches etc We have endeavoured to keep the quality of these images, so they represent accurately the original artefact. Although occasionally there may be certain imperfections with these old texts, we feel they deserve to be made available for future generations to enjoy.

The Devil's Bible

A Novel

Author: Dana Chamblee Carpenter

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 637

She’s spent the last seven hundred years hiding in plain sight. But Mouse's past is about to catch up with her. The Devil’s Bible. Once considered an eighth wonder of the world, the ancient book is shrouded in mystery. No one knows who wrote it or where it was written. Even dry-boned scholars whisper about the secrets hidden in the book: How it calls to the power-hungry. How it drives people mad. How it was written in the shadows by the hand of the devil himself. But no one knows the truth—no one except Mouse. She’s been running from the truth at the heart of the Devil’s Bible for so long that no one even knows her name anymore. She calls herself Emma Nicholas—a normal name for a normal college professor living a normal life. But all of it is a lie, and, when forces emerge that threaten to expose her, Mouse has no choice but to take flight once more. Desperate and on the run, Mouse unexpectedly finds hope in a stranger’s kindness. But it will take more than hope to win this game of souls—a battle between good and evil set in motion long ago at the birth of the Devil’s Bible.

Book of the Just: Book Three of the Bohemian Trilogy

Author: Dana Chamblee Carpenter

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 664

After centuries of searching, Mouse now has everything she’s ever wanted within her reach—a normal life, a lover, a brother. What will she risk to keep them? Cherished by a Father, coveted by a king, loved by an almost-priest; tormented by demons, tortured by a madman, hunted by a cult, hounded by her father. Mouse has survived it all. But then, she was never just a girl. Despite Mouse’s power, her father always wanted a son—and now, at long last, he has him. And Mouse has a brother, someone else in the world just like her. Though she’s never met him, the hope of what they might mean for each other tugs at her soul, even as it terrifies her lover, Angelo. Hiding among a tribe of the Martu in the isolation of the Australian outback near the edges of Lake Disappointment, Mouse and Angelo have seemingly evaded at least one of the predators hunting them. Carefully dropping bogus breadcrumbs across Europe, they misdirect the Novus Rishi, a ruthless cult that wants Mouse as the ultimate weapon in their battle against evil. But when unnerving dreams start to plague Angelo, and the ancient beings of the Martu’s Dreaming send prophetic warnings that include visions of Mouse at her father’s side, the two lovers realize it’s time to act. With nowhere left to run, Mouse and Angelo prepare for a last showdown with their enemies. As they chase after legendary ancient weapons ensconced in the ages old battle between good and evil, Mouse and Angelo must each decide if a final victory is worth the cost. Book of the Just continues Mouse’s story after The Devil’s Bible and completes the journey she started so long ago in Bohemian Gospel. Imbued with a rich sense of history, magic, and mythology, this explosive final installment in Mouse’s journey will keep you captivated until the very end.

Memoir and Diary of John Yeardley, Minister of the Gospel

Author: John Yeardley

Publisher: Good Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 359

View: 103

"Memoir and Diary of John Yeardley, Minister of the Gospel" by John Yeardley. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.

From England to Bohemia

Heresy and Communication in the Later Middle Ages

Author: Michael Van Dussen

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 217

View: 331

The first examination of cultural exchanges between England and Bohemia after 1382, eventually leading to the suppression of heresy.

Patron Saint and Prophet

Jan Hus in the Bohemian and German Reformations

Author: Phillip N. Haberkern

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN:

Category: Church history

Page: 352

View: 327

The Bohemian preacher and religious reformer Jan Hus has been celebrated as a de facto saint since being burned at the stake as a heretic in 1415. Patron Saint and Prophet analyzes Hus's commemoration from the time of his death until the middle of the following century, tracing the ways in which both his supporters and his most outspoken opponents sought to determine whether he would be remembered as a heretic or saint. Phillip Haberkern examines how specific historical conflicts and exigencies affected the evolution of Hus's memory-within the militant Hussite movement that flourished until the mid-1430s, within the Czech Utraquist church that succeeded it, and among sixteenth-century Lutherans who viewed Hus as a forerunner and even prophet of their reform. Using close readings of written sources such as sermons and church histories, visual media including manuscript illuminations and monumental art, and oral forms of discourse such as vernacular songs and liturgical prayers, this book offers a fascinating account of how changes in media technology complemented the shifting theology of the cult of saints in order to shape early modern commemorative practices. By focusing on the ways in which the invocation of Hus catalyzed religious dissent within two distinct historical contexts, Haberkern compares the role of memory in late medieval Bohemia with the emergence of history as a constitutive religious discourse in the early modern German land. In this way, he also provides a detailed analysis of the ways in which Bohemian and German religious reformers justified their dissent from the Roman Church by invoking the past.