Blood Wedding

Author: Federico García Lorca

Publisher: Dramatists Play Service Inc

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 66

View: 762

THE STORY: Two families in a semi-mythical rural Spain are intricately bound in an unbreakable cycle of murder and revenge. The death-bound love triangle at the center of the play fuels these passions to a fever pitch and propels the story to its u

Blood Wedding

Author: P J Brooke

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 863

Sub-inspector Max Romero is asked to help investigate the death of Leila, a beautiful Muslim postgraduate student, researching the impacts of the Spanish Civil War on Max's home village in the Sierra Nevada. The prime suspect, Hassan, has links to a supposed terrorist group but the police's insensitive handling of the case leads to his tragic suicide. As a result, Max gets co-opted into the anti-terrorist operation based in Granada, which is destined to go terribly wrong. Meanwhile, Max's fascinating family, headed by his charismatic grandmother Paula, loom large in the gathering events, while shadows from the Spanish Civil War crowd in to influence the present. The story moves from the ancient cobbled streets of Granada to the sultry mountains of the Sierra Nevada. Over it all hovers the mesmerising but tragic beauty of the city of Granada.

Blood Wedding

Author: Pierre Lemaitre

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 306

Sophie is haunted by the things she can't remember - and visions from the past she will never forget. One morning, she wakes to find that the little boy in her care is dead. She has no memory of what happened. And whatever the truth, her side of the story is no match for the evidence piled against her. Her only hiding place is in a new identity. A new life, with a man she has met online. But Sophie is not the only one keeping secrets . . . For fans of Gone Girl and Lemaitre's own internationally bestselling Alex, Blood Wedding is a compelling psychological thriller with a formidable female protagonist. Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

Trailsman # 260: Blood Wedding

Author: Jon Sharpe

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 176

View: 951

Skye Fargo vows to unveil a killer at a Kansas wedding… Skye Fargo likes a wedding just fine, as long as it isn’t his own. And his friend, Jeb, sure knows how to throw a good party, with plenty of sousing and carousing. But just when the party kicks into a full gallop, the Murray family gang comes riding in hard, stirring up trouble. When the smoke clears, Murray’s son is dead. But so is Jeb, and his weeping widow wants revenge. The Murrays will be back—and this time, they’ll be coming after the missus. But what this ragtag gang doesn’t know is that strength in numbers doesn’t count for much against the Trailsman...

Lorca Plays: 1

Blood Wedding; Yerma; Dona Rosita the Spinster

Author: Federico Garcia Lorca

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 208

View: 540

These three tragedies were written at the height if Lorca's powers and display his innovative mix of Spanish popular tradition and modern dramatic technique. Blood Wedding tells the story of a couple drawn irresistibly together in the face of an arranged marriage; Doña Rosita the Spinster follows the appalling fate of a young woman beguiled into the expectation of marriage and left stranded for a lifetime whilst Yerma is possibly Lorca's harshest play following a woman's Herculean struggle against the curse of infertility. Set in and around his home territory, Granada, the plays return again and again to the lives of passionate individuals, particularly women, trapped by the social conventions of narrow peasant communities. The plays appear here in new playable translations.

Blood Wedding

Author: Federico Garcia Lorca

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 96

View: 350

A bride promised. A blood vow broken. The vengeance of a village released. I want you green. Green wind, green branches. Boat on the ocean. Horse on the mountain. Written in the summer of 1932 with the Spanish civil war looming, Lorca's anarchic meditation on the fate of the individual versus society is a prophetic foreshadowing of the violence that would soon tear his beloved country apart and lead to his own tragic end. The mysteries of love and hate are explored against the backdrop of a community gearing up to unleash these elemental forces upon itself, with unstoppable consequences. What is done cannot be undone. Marina Carr's version of Federico García Lorca's Blood Wedding premiered at the Young Vic, London, in September 2019.

Blood Wedding

Author: / Garcia L. CARR

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 96

View: 657

Four Key Plays

The Audience, Blood Wedding, Yerma, The House of Bernarda Alba

Author: Federico García Lorca

Publisher: Hackett Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 288

View: 844

In addition to a substantial introduction to the life and works of Federico García Lorca—avant-garde poet, playwright, and soul of Spain's "Generation of '27"—this collection features vibrant new English translations of four of his plays. The legacy of a dramatic, religious, and social iconoclast whose death made him a martyr of the left in Civil-War Spain and who today is embraced as a gay icon shines through in Michael Kidd's stage-worthy renderings of Yerma, Blood Wedding, The House of Bernarda Alba, and a more experimental play, The Audience, a kaleidoscopic exploration of sexual identity and theater.

Blood Wedding

Author: Skomantas

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Lithuania

Page: 219

View: 483