Blob Bereavement Cards

Author: Ian Long

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 48

View: 733

This set of 48 cards carefully provides an introduction to the nature and experience of loss through bereavement. The cards are particularly designed to use with children who may be confronted with bereavement for the first time and have no experience or knowledge of how to understand and cope with their loss and fears. The images on the cards go through from the moment of being told of their death, a variety of ways a person dies, the feelings of loss and anger, the funeral service and life following this event. The cards can also be used individually, or combined to create other situations. It is ideal for use by bereavement counsellors. There are 15 suggested ways to use the cards detailed in the accompanying booklet. The images have been produced in conjunction with Helen MacKinnon of 'Seasaw' Bereavement Group. Contents: 48 full-colour cards, 125 x 82mm plus instruction booklet, boxed.

The Big Book of Blob Trees

Author: Pip Wilson

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 158

View: 402

The Big Book of Blob Trees features 70 different Blob trees that can be used as prompts to explore feelings. This unique collection of Blob trees with its range of different Blob characters is a fabulous way of opening up discussions about feelings and developing understanding of emotions, empathy and self-awareness. The trees show a variety of different scenarios that people may relate to, and can be used as a springboard for conversations with people of any age group. This second edition includes a new set of Blob trees relevant to many topical issues, including Blob trees themed around autism, eating, free speech, anxiety and smartphones. Each Blob tree comes with suggested questions that can be used to guide the discussion; for example: Which Blob do you feel like? Which Blob seems happiest? Which Blob confuses you? Which Blob annoys you, and why? Which Blob would you like to feel like? Offering handy photocopiable resources, The Big Book of Blob Trees provides a unique way to initiate discussion and gently approach emotive topics with individuals or groups.

The Anatomy of Bereavement

Author: Beverley Raphael

Publisher: New York : Basic Books

ISBN:

Category: Bereavement

Page: 440

View: 448

In this comprehensive book, Beverley Raphael describes all the stages of mourning and healing, and analyzes how the effects of loss differ at each stage of life.

The Things We Do For Love

Author: Roisin Meaney

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 147

For fans of Maeve Binchy and Sheila O'Flanagan, 'this is a feelgood book you won't be able to put down' (Irish Independent) One crisp September evening art teacher Audrey Matthews sits alone in room six at Carrickbawn Senior College, wondering if anyone is going to sign up for her Life Drawing for Beginners class. By eight o'clock six people have arrived. Six strangers who will spend two hours together every week until Halloween, learning the fine art of life drawing. Nobody could have predicted on that cold autumn day the profound effect the class would have on its students and their lives. Least of all Audrey, the biggest beginner of all, who is to discover that once you keep an open mind, life - and love - can throw up more than a few surprises ...