Beowulf

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Beowulf

Page:

View: 113

No Fear: Beowulf gives you the complete text of Beowulf followed by an easy-to-understand translation in modern text.

Beowulf

A New Telling

Author: Robert Nye

Publisher: Laurel Leaf

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 112

View: 877

He comes out of the darkness, moving in on his victims in deadly silence. When he leaves, a trail of blood is all that remains. He is a monster, Grendel, and all who know of him live in fear. Hrothgar, the king of the Danes, knows something must be done to stop Grendel. But who will guard the great hall he has built, where so many men have lost their lives to the monster while keeping watch? Only one man dares to stand up to Grendel's fury --Beowulf.

Beowulf on Film

Adaptations and Variations

Author: Nickolas Haydock

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 220

View: 814

Why did the most read work in English literature go without cinematic adaptation for so long? And why did five major film treatments appear between 1999 and 2008? This book explores the growing number of films based on the Old English epic poem Beowulf, and furthers the ongoing consideration of filmic medievalism. Will the powerful influence of cinema affect the future reception of this great cultural, linguistic and inherently visual work? The films inevitably sway away from not only the story but also from the themes and concerns of the original to those more interesting to the filmmakers—or responsive to the zeitgeist. They measure the pulse of our inherited notions of heroism and teach us more about our own times than about the epic from which they derive.

Area of Influence

(Immortal Ops Book 8)

Author: Mandy M. Roth

Publisher: Raven Happy Hour

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 147

NY Times & USA TODAY Bestselling Author of the Daughter of Darkness, Grimm Cove, and the Immortal Ops Series! Paranormal Shifter Vampire Military Special Ops Romance Once a proud, fierce, alpha-male shifting operative with the Immortal Ops, Lance Toov finds himself under the thumb of an evil master vampire. Now a plaything, a god-like toy, he struggles with the tasks assigned to him. As his mind begins to break through the master vampire’s influence, a woman comes along who changes all the rules, and ups the stakes in the most interesting of ways. Is she his salvation or will she be his downfall? Book six in the bestselling series The Immortal Ops by NY Times and USAT bestselling author Mandy M. Roth. Perfect for fans of K.F. Breene, Shannon Mayer, Laurann Dohner, Denise Grover Swank, Darynda Jones, Alisa Woods, Elizabeth Hunter, Christine Feehan, Rebecca Zanetti, Nalini Singh, Laurann Dohner, Gena Showalter, Genevieve Jack, Lora Leigh, Patricia Briggs, and Laurell K. Hamilton. IMMORTAL OPS WORLD SUGGESTED READING ORDER Books in order of release and in their suggested reading order to date: Immortal Ops (Immortal Ops® book 1) Critical Intelligence (Immortal Ops® book 2) Radar Deception (Immortal Ops® book 3) Strategic Vulnerability (Immortal Ops® book 4) Tactical Magik (Immortal Ops® book 5) Act of Mercy (Paranormal and Security Intelligence® PSI-Ops® book 1) Administrative Control (Immortal Ops book 6) Act of Surrender (Paranormal and Security Intelligence® PSI-Ops® book 2) Broken Communication (Immortal Outcasts® book 1) Separation Zone (Immortal Ops® book 7) Act of Submission (Paranormal and Security Intelligence® PSI-Ops® book 3) Damage Report (Immortal Outcasts® book 2) Act of Command (Paranormal and Security Intelligence® PSI-Ops® book 4) Wolf’s Surrender (Paranormal Security and Intelligence Ops Shadow Agents® book 1) The Dragon Shifter’s Duty (Paranormal Security and Intelligence Ops Shadow Agents® book 2) Midnight Echoes (Immortal Ops: Crimson Ops book 1) Isolated Maneuver (Immortal Outcasts book 3) Expecting Darkness (Immortal Ops: Crimson Ops book 2) Area of Influence (Immortal Ops® book 8) Act of Passion (Paranormal and Security Intelligence® PSI-Ops® book 5) Act of Brotherhood (Paranormal and Security Intelligence® PSI-Ops® book 6) Healing the Wolf (Paranormal Security and Intelligence Ops Shadow Agents® book 3) Wrecked Intel (Immortal Outcasts® book 4) Bound to Midnight (Immortal Ops: Crimson Ops book 3) Out of the Dark (Paranormal Security and Intelligence Ops Shadow Agents® book 4) Act of Surveillance (Paranormal and Security Intelligence® PSI-Ops® book 7) Act of Freedom (Paranormal and Security Intelligence® PSI-Ops® book 8) Bat Out of Hell (Immortal Ops: Crimson Ops book 4) and more to come! Book eight in the bestselling series The Immortal Ops by NY Times and USAT bestselling author Mandy M. Roth. Perfect for fans of K.F. Breene, Shannon Mayer, Laurann Dohner, Denise Grover Swank, Darynda Jones, Alisa Woods, Elizabeth Hunter, Christine Feehan, Rebecca Zanetti, Nalini Singh, Laurann Dohner, Gena Showalter, Genevieve Jack, Lora Leigh, Patricia Briggs, and Laurell K. Hamilton. Topics: immortal ops, paranormal security and intelligence, shadow agents, crimson ops, PSI-Ops, I-Ops, Action & Adventure Romance Fiction, alpha hero, alpha male, Army, award winning romance, Brotherhood, cat shifter, comedy, Crime, Demon, Devil, DNA manipulation, Doctor, Dominant male, emotional romance, espionage, fae, Faeries, fantasy, fantasy romance, fated mates, first in series, friendship, genetic engineering, HEA, steamy, sexy, sizzling, Humorous, instant love, magic, mythical creatures, myths, navy, ny times bestseller, usa today, panther, paranormal and urban, paranormal elements, power, romance ebook, romance series, book series, science fiction, scientist, experiments, laboratory, legends, conspiracy, species, breeds, medical, mystery, military, thriller, suspense, Scottish, highlander, cowboy, warrior, spies, special ops, special forces, siren, shifter, cat shifter, wolf shifter, werewolf, were creatures, werecat, captain, war, evil, empire, corporation, animal, soulmates, fang gang, vampires, hybrid, sci-fi, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Thriller & Suspense, Wizards & Witches, Genetic Engineering, werewolf romance, bad boy hero, humorous romance, romantic suspense, action and adventure, shapeshifter, free, first in series, series starter, ancient, king, and royalty.

Myths and Legends of All Nations

Famous Stories from the Greek, German, English, Spanish, / Scandinavian, Danish, French, Russian, Bohemian, Italian / and other sources

Author: Anonymous

Publisher: DigiCat

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 246

View: 898

DigiCat Publishing presents to you this special edition of "Myths and Legends of All Nations" (Famous Stories from the Greek, German, English, Spanish, / Scandinavian, Danish, French, Russian, Bohemian, Italian / and other sources) by Anonymous. DigiCat Publishing considers every written word to be a legacy of humankind. Every DigiCat book has been carefully reproduced for republishing in a new modern format. The books are available in print, as well as ebooks. DigiCat hopes you will treat this work with the acknowledgment and passion it deserves as a classic of world literature.

The Hundred Books

Author: Glyn Hughes

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 482

View: 401

There's a set of books which you're just supposed to know about, at least if you live in The West and fancy the idea of being thought 'educated'. There's the Bible, Shakespeare, James Joyce, Walter Scott and Machiavelli. Dr Jekyll, Tiny Tim, Starbuck, Socrates, Mr. Scrooge, Raskolnikov, Einstein and Enkidu. The Brontes and Boswell, Wordsworth, Newton Confucius and Don Quixote. Here they all are. 100 of the most quoted, most known, works of all time, in the original author's own words, but squashed up into nice little abridgements you can read in an hour or so. Little versions which smell and sound just like the originals. And ... with The Hundred Books it becomes possible to read the whole thing as a single narrative, to discover a Pisgah View of the written history of the great grand thing of how We got where We are now, in way that's just impossible for ordinary mortals. Read the lot, you'll love it, and you'll never, ever, be bored in an airport again.

Dragons, Elves and Heroes

Author: Lin Carter

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 320

View: 772

There is magic in the grand old tales that have survived through centuries of time. Even the names of the books have a ring that sets the blood pounding - THE VOLSUNG SAGA, THE SHAH-NAMAH, THE MABINOGIAN. From all over the world, from all periods of ancient time, the great myths and heroic tales thunder down through the ages. Each country, each region has its legends. Somewhere, sometime, somehow, some often unknown scribe has set the tales down in permanent form. In this volume, Lin Carter has gathered together samplings from this richest of all sources of adult fantasy and although their original names may sometimes be anonymous, there surely has never been such a pride of taletellers together at one time as we have in DRAGONS, ELVES AND HEROES.

Odisea nº 4: Revista de estudios ingleses

Author: Jesús Gerardo Martínez del castillo

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 216

View: 410

Revista de Estudios Ingleses es un anuario dirigido y gestionado por miembros del Departamento de Filología Inglesa y Alemana de la Universidad de Almería con el propósito de ofrecer un foro de intercambio de producción científica en campos del conocimiento tan diversos como la lengua inglesa, literatura en lengua inglesa, didáctica del inglés, traducción, inglés para fines específicos y otros igualmente vinculados a los estudios ingleses.

Teutonic Myth and Legend

Author: Donald A. Mackenzie

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 466

View: 298

Teutonic Myth and Legend - An Introduction to the Eddas & Sagas, Beowulf, The Nibelungenlied, etc. This is a good collection of Northern myths, interspersed with poems and passages in classic literature that were inspired by (or are adaptations of) these myths. Like most myth collections, each story stands alone and a search for plot cohesion or smooth continuity will end in frustration. But each stand-alone is rich in imagery and a certain dreaminess that, in aggregate with all the other stories, impart a fierce, cold, clear imaginative state that lingers far after you've closed the book.

The Age of Sutton Hoo

The Seventh Century in North-western Europe

Author: M. O. H. Carver

Publisher: Boydell Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 470

View: 457

Comparative studies on the age of Sutton Hoo (5c - 8c) with English and European focus, plus summary of the latest site excavations.