Beautiful Lies

A Novel

Author: Lisa Unger

Publisher: Broadway Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 864

If Ridley Jones had slept ten minutes later or had taken the subway instead of waiting for a cab, she would still be living the beautiful lie she used to call her life. She would still be the privileged daughter of a doting father and a loving mother. Her life would still be perfect—with only the tiny cracks of an angry junkie for a brother and a charming drunk with shady underworld connections for an uncle to mar the otherwise flawless whole. But that’s not what happened. Instead, those inconsequential decisions lead her to perform a good deed that puts her in the right place at the right time to unleash a chain of events that brings a mysterious package to her door—a package which informs her that her entire world is a lie. Suddenly forced to question everything she knows about herself and her family, Ridley wanders into dark territory she never knew existed, where everyone in her life seems like a stranger. She has no idea who’s on her side and who has something to hide—even, and maybe especially, her new lover, Jake, who appears to have secrets of his own. Sexy and fast-paced, Beautiful Lies is a true literary thriller with one of the freshest voices and heroines to arrive in years. Lisa Unger takes us on a breathtaking ride in which every choice Ridley makes creates a whirlwind of consequences that are impossible to imagine . . . . AN INTERNATIONAL BOOK-OF-THE-MONTH SELECTION A featured alternate selection of the Literary Guild, Doubleday Book Club, Book-of-the-Month Club, Mystery Guild, and Rhapsody Book Club. Also available as a Random House AudioBook, a Large Print edition, and an eBook. From the Hardcover edition.

Beautiful Lies

Author: Jennifer Strickland

Publisher: Harvest House Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 192

View: 879

When women and girls look to men, mirrors, magazines, movie stars, and the media for a picture of their value, they see a grossly distorted reflection of who they are. Former professional model Jennifer Strickland knows all too well the despair women and girls experience by allowing the world to define them. Fifteen years in the most glamorized industry in the world landed Jennifer on Giorgio Armani's runway one month and trying to kill herself the next. Anorexia, drugs, and being treated like "a thing in a world of things" left her wondering where on earth to turn for her true reflection. Now she has dedicated her life to telling the truth: that when women turn away from these mirrors of the world and look into the never-changing mirror of the Word, their beauty, purpose, and identity become crystal clear. They are God's beloved daughters, hand-made creation, holy temples, shining stars, and chosen ambassadors, designed to reflect His image to a lost and confused generation.

Beautiful Lies

Author: Jessica Warman

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 432

View: 783

Rachel and Alice are an extremely rare form of identical twins--so identical that even their aunt and uncle, whom they've lived with since their parents passed away when the girls were nine, can't tell them apart. The sisters are connected by an intense bond that goes way beyond their surfaces and borders on the supernatural: when one experiences pain, the other exhibits the exact same signs of stress, too. So when troubled Alice disappears mysteriously one night, good-girl Rachel knows something is wrong-especially when Rachel starts experiencing serious physical traumas, even though nobody has touched her. What Rachel can't tell anyone is that she and Alice sometimes switched places, reveling in the possibility of being the "good one" or the "bad one" for a day. And that Rachel . . . is really Alice, continuing to masquerade as her twin. So then, what happened to her sister? Could whoever abducted her sister really have meant to take her, instead? And can she find the real Rachel before it's too late for both of them?

Beautiful Lies

Author: Clare Clark

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 261

“Beautiful Lies is set in Victorian Britain; at its center is Maribel Campbell Lowe, the wife of a Scottish M.P. and a self-proclaimed Chilean heiress. But Maribel's life is based on a web of lies, and a newspaperman's uncommon interest in her could prove disastrous" —New York Times Book Review London 1887. For Maribel Campbell Lowe, the beautiful bohemian wife of a maverick politician, it is the year to make something of herself. She is torn between poetry and the new art of photography. But it is soon plain that Maribel’s choices are not so simple. As her husband’s career hangs by a thread, her real past, and the family she abandoned, come back to haunt them both. When the notorious newspaper editor Alfred Webster begins to ask pointed questions, she fears he will not only destroy Edward’s career but both of their reputations.

Beautiful Lies

Australia from Menzies to Howard

Author: Tony Griffiths

Publisher: Wakefield Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 266

View: 527

'Beautiful Lies' is an original account of the people, events and forces that have shaped Australia since the second world war. It is racy, maverick and impartial - a tour de force. The author makes Australian history seem effortless, he manages to cover the events of more than half a century at a rollicking pace, while capturing all the important details - and a vast number of amusing ones along the way.

Beautiful Lies Study Guide

You Are More Than *What Men Think *What the Mirror Reflects *What Magazines Tell You

Author: Jennifer Strickland

Publisher: Harvest House Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 160

View: 531

Women who desire to go deeper in their study of culture’s lies and how to overcome them can do so with the help of this growth and study guide. Building on the principles in Jennifer Strickland’s book Beautiful Lies, individuals as well as small groups and Bible studies will discover... the truth of how deeply they are loved how to live out their radiant faith in a world consumed by darkness how to develop a true understanding of their identity and value This workbook and Bible study is designed to be used along with Beautiful Lies.

Your Beautiful Lies

Author: Louise Douglas

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 588

'Your Beautiful Lies crackles with repressed longing and I was desperate for Annie to escape from her hum drum life. It kept me guessing until the last few pages and the explosive ending took my breath away.' C.L. Taylor, author of The Accident What secrets are you keeping? Annie Howarth is living a restless life in a restless town. It's 1984 and for a mining community in South Yorkshire, the strikes mean tensions are running high. Then a murdered girl is found on the moors and the anxiety levels are pushed to a dangerous breaking point. Married to the Chief of Police, Annie should feel safe – William can be secretive, though surely whatever he's hiding is for her own good. But Annie is keeping her own secrets. Ten years ago the man she loved was ripped from her life in a scandal that still haunts the both of them, and now his return will put her family, her marriage, even her life, at risk. An atmospheric and suspenseful novel you'll find impossible to put down, from the talented Richard & Judy bestseller. Perfect for fans of C.L. Taylor and Lucie Whitehouse.

Quarterly Essay 9 Beautiful Lies

Population and Environment in Australia

Author: Tim Flannery

Publisher: Black Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Nature

Page: 125

View: 193

In the first Quarterly Essay of 2003, Tim Flannery launches an attack on the various lies that we tell ourselves about our resources, our past and our future. The lie of terra nullius that made us ignore the Aborigines' knowledge of the environment. The lie of the Snowy Mountains Scheme that did untold damage to our river system for the sake of white immigration. The lie that rushing to preserve wilderness will save endangered species. Tim Flannery is also skeptical about the myths of multiculturalism, and he argues that we cannot sustain a larger population given our resources. In his conclusion, he asks how we can discharge our responsibility to the refugees who are the victims of American policies we collude with. 'This essay is written as a thundering no to the characteristic Australian assumption that 'She'll be right' ... This is a Quarterly Essay written in the passionate belief that we need a coherent policy on population ... If we do not have one, we will never be in a position to do justice to ... the dispossessed people of the earth; indeed our children's children will ... think we have dishonoured their birthright.' —Peter Craven, Introduction 'The refusal to ratify the Kyoto Protocol will almost certainly, in time, be remembered as the greatest failure of the Howard government - Tampa, detention camps and Iraq notwithstanding.' —Tim Flannery, Beautiful Lies

Beautiful Lies

Author: Emilie Richards

Publisher: Mira Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 616

View: 534

Four romance classics by the "USA Today" bestselling author are now beautifully repackaged, just in time to coincide with the July release of Richards's brand-new titles, "Endless Chain" and "Wedding Ring." Reissue.

All the Beautiful Lies

Author: Peter Swanson

Publisher: Faber & Faber

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 801

'He's the real deal...' JOE HILL 'Another read in one sitting from the best-selling Swanson.' METRO 'A brilliantly original premise, delivered with panache.' CLARE MACKINTOSH On the eve of his college graduation, Harry is called home by his step-mother Alice, to their house on the Maine coast, following the unexpected death of his father. But who really is Alice, his father's much younger second wife? In a brilliant split narrative, Peter Swanson teases out the stories and damage that lie in her past. And as her story entwines with Harry's in the present, things grow increasingly dark and threatening - will Harry be able to see any of it clearly through his own confused feelings?