Anti-Stepbrother

Author: Tijan

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 324

View: 895

He told me to settle. He asked what was wrong with me. He called me an easy target. That was within minutes when I first met Caden Banks. I labeled him an *sshole, but he was more than that. Arrogant. Smug. Alpha. He was also to-die-for gorgeous, and my stepbrother's fraternity brother. Okay, yes I was a little naive, a tad bit socially awkward, and the smallest amount of stalker-ish, but if Caden Banks thought he could tell me what to do, he had another thing coming. I came to college with daydreams about being with my stepbrother, but what if I fell for the anti-stepbrother instead? *Stand-alone novel

Anti-Stepbrother (Hardcover)

Author: Tijan

Publisher: Tijan

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 324

View: 318

Fans of Tammara Webber and Jennifer Armentrout will love this angst filled college romance about a girl falling for a guy who is NOT her stepbrother.

Fallen Crest Nightmare

A Fallen Crest Novella

Author: Tijan

Publisher: Swerve

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 80

View: 461

Originally published as part of the USA Today bestselling anthology Eye Candy, Fallen Crest Nightmare brings readers the characters—and the scares—in this companion novella to Tijan’s New York Times bestselling world! This novella also includes a never before published bonus scene from this Halloween tale. The characters of the popular Fallen Crest series are back together for a night of mischief! Sam, Mason, and the rest of the gang enter a Halloween-themed weekend with pumpkin carving, a girls’ night out, and a terrifying haunted house, but the weekend takes a turn into something far more sinister....

Eye Candy

Author: Tijan

Publisher: Swerve

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 454

A frightfully good time! Dive into these Halloween novellas from bestselling authors Tijan, J. Daniels, Helena Hunting, Bella Jewel and Tara Sivec. Featuring stories set in the worlds of their popular series. Tijan’s Fallen Crest crew are back for a weekend of mischief that takes a sinister turn; all four couples from J. Daniels’ Alabama Summer series gear up for Halloween in their own sexy ways, with a special surprise at the end; Helena Hunting’s characters from Shacking Up plan a Halloween gala that features a few ghouls and witches; Bella Jewel brings the chills and thrills in her suspenseful take on Halloween night; and Tara Sivec gathers the Holiday family together one last time as they try to make this ghostly holiday one to remember—or one they’d rather forget... Cozy up with a mug of hot cider on a dark night and fall under the spell of this Halloween anthology!

Catholics and Anti-Catholicism in Chosŏn Korea

Author: Don Baker

Publisher: University of Hawaii Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 328

View: 822

Korea’s first significant encounter with the West occurred in the last quarter of the eighteenth century when a Korean Catholic community emerged on the peninsula. Decades of persecution followed, resulting in the deaths of thousands of Korean Catholics. Don Baker provides an invaluable analysis of late-Chosŏn (1392–1897) thought, politics, and society to help readers understand the response of Confucians to Catholicism and of Korean Catholics to years of violent harassment. His analysis is informed by two remarkable documents expertly translated with the assistance of Franklin Rausch and annotated here for the first time: an anti-Catholic essay written in the 1780s by Confucian scholar Ahn Chŏngbok (1712–1791) and a firsthand account of the 1801 anti-Catholic persecution by one of its last victims, the religious leader Hwang Sayŏng (1775–1801). Confucian assumptions about Catholicism are revealed in Ahn’s essay, Conversation on Catholicism. The work is based on the scholar’s exchanges with his son-in-law, who joined the small group of Catholics in the 1780s. Ahn argues that Catholicism is immoral because it puts more importance on the salvation of one’s soul than on what is best for one’s family or community. Conspicuously absent from his Conversation is the reason behind the conversions of his son-in-law and a few other young Confucian intellectuals. Baker examines numerous Confucian texts of the time to argue that, in the late eighteenth century, Korean Confucians were tormented by a growing concern over human moral frailty. Some among them came to view Catholicism as a way to overcome their moral weakness, become virtuous, and, in the process, gain eternal life. These anxieties are echoed in Hwang’s Silk Letter, in which he details for the bishop in Beijing his persecution and the decade preceding it. He explains why Koreans joined (and some abandoned) the Catholic faith and their devotion to the new religion in the face of torture and execution. Together the two texts reveal much about not only Korean beliefs and values of two centuries ago, but also how Koreans viewed their country and their king as well as China and its culture.

Stepbrother Alpha Marine

Bad Boy Romance

Author: Solae Dehvine

Publisher: Dehvine Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 584

I knew my stepbrother was in some branch of the Military but the I had no idea he was a Marine. He looked so dashing in his uniform but too bad his attitude doesn't match his gorgeous body. Now its my turn to show him around but Officer Max doesn't make anything easy and with his sarcastic comments things don't last too long before we get into an argument. One thing leads to another and...well...just know I said somethings that I should have. Something that I cannot take back. Now that we are alone for a few days I have a problem, I find that Officer Max doesn't deal well with insubordination. Find out what happens between us in the story of My Marine Stepbrother just promise to keep this our little secret. *****THIS IS A STANDALONE SHORT STORY**** Keywords: Standalone Books, standalone romance, bad boy romance, billionaire romance, Military romance, marine, stepbrother, alpha male, stepbrother romance, stepbrother alpha male

Anti-Calvinists

The Rise of English Arminianism, C. 1590-1640

Author: Nicholas Tyacke

Publisher: Oxford University Press on Demand

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 305

View: 436

This is a study of the rise of English Arminianism and the growing religious division in the Church of England during the decades before the Civil War of the 1640s. The author argues that it was Arminianism, not the rise of puritanism, that was a major cause of the war,

Creative Resources for the Anti-bias Classroom

Author: Nadia Saderman Hall

Publisher: Wadsworth Publishing Company

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 354

View: 636

Demonstrates activities offering an integrated approach to building and supporting anti-bias skills in children from birth through twelve years of age

Pontius Pilate, Anti-semitism, and the Passion in Medieval Art

Author: Colum Hourihane

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Art

Page: 464

View: 658

Pontius Pilate is one of the Bible's best-known villains--but up until the tenth century, artistic imagery appears to have consistently portrayed him as a benevolent Christian and holy symbol of baptism. For the first time, Pontius Pilate, Anti-Semitism, and the Passion in Medieval Art provides a complete look at the shifting visual and textual representations of Pilate throughout early Christian and medieval art. Colum Hourihane examines neglected and sometimes sympathetic portrayals, and shows how negative characterizations of Pilate, which were developed for political and religious purposes, reveal the anti-Semitism of the medieval period. Hourihane indicates that in some artistic renderings, Pilate may have been a symbol of good, and in many, a figure of jurisprudence. Eastern traditions treated Pilate as a saint with his own feast day, but Western accounts from the tenth century changed him from a Roman to a Jew. Pilate became a vessel for anti-Semitism--his image acquired grotesque facial and physical characteristics, and his role in Christ's Passion grew to mythic proportions. By the fifteenth century, however, representations of Pilate came full circle to depict an aged and empathetic administrator. Combining a wealth of previously unpublished sources with explorations of art historical developments, Pontius Pilate, Anti-Semitism, and the Passion in Medieval Art puts forth for the first time an encyclopedic portrait of a complex legend.

The Anti-slavery Reporter

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Slavery

Page:

View: 276

New ser., vols. 3-8 (1855-1860) include the 16th-21st annual reports of the British and Foreign Anti-slavery Society. The 22nd-24th annual reports are appended to v. 9-11 (1861-1863)

Anti-Judaism

A Psychohistory

Author: Ernest A. Rappaport

Publisher: Chicago : Perspective Press

ISBN:

Category: Antisemitism

Page: 312

View: 837

The Causes of Anti-Semitism

A Critique of the Bible

Author: Arthur Blech

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 462

View: 346

Discusses the history and theology of the Jewish and Christian religions, questioning the validity of the Bible. By assuming divine authority, members of both religions felt justified in persecuting nonbelievers. Contends that the Hebrew Bible, written by human beings, bears contributory responsibility for anti-Judaism and antisemitism because it has taught exclusivity and separateness. The self-serving attitudes of priestly sects of Jews were taken up by the hierarchy of Catholic and other Christian Churches, which are responsible for the hostility toward Jews and political actions which led to two millenia of persecution, suffering, and millions of deaths. Although Jews could cope with ancient antisemitism, they were powerless in the face of theologically-driven Christian antisemitism, starting with the Gospels and Paul. Believes that the antisemitism in the Christian Bible led to Auschwitz. Contends that antisemitism will not disappear since there is no Jewish or Christian authority who would change their Scriptures.

Anti-Blackness in English Religion, 1500-1800

Author: Joseph R. Washington

Publisher: Edwin Mellen Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 603

View: 292

This work traces the idea of anti-blackness (where black is a synonym for evil) and its relation to anti-blackness (where Black implies those of native African ancestry).