Angel

Aftermath. Volume 5

Author: Kelly Armstrong

Publisher: Idea & Design Works Llc

ISBN:

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 132

View: 323

Follows Angel as he and his team try to deal with the residual effects of the Fall.

The Buffyverse Catalog

A Complete Guide to Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel in Print, Film, Television, Comics, Games and Other Media, 1992–2010

Author: Don Macnaughtan

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 326

View: 979

This bibliographic guide covers the “Buffyverse”—the fictional worlds of the acclaimed television series Buffy the Vampire Slayer (1997–2003) and its spinoff Angel (1999–2004), as well as the original Buffy feature film of 1992. It is the largest and most inclusive work of its kind. The author organizes and describes both the original texts of the Buffyverse (episodes, DVDs, novels, comic books, games, and more) and the secondary materials created about the shows, including books, essays, articles, documentaries, dissertations, fan production and websites. This vast and diverse collection of information about these two seminal shows and their feature-film forebear provides an accessible, authoritative and comprehensive survey of the subject.

The Literary Angel

Essays on Influences and Traditions Reflected in the Joss Whedon Series

Author: AmiJo Comeford

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 264

View: 165

The fictionalized Los Angeles of television’s Angel is a world filled with literature—from the all-important Shansu prophecy that predicts Angel’s return to a state of humanity to the ever-present books dominating the characters’ research sessions. This collection brings together essays that engage Angel as a text to be addressed within the wider fields of narrative and literature. It is divided into four distinct parts, each with its own internal governing themes and focus: archetypes, narrative and identity, theory and philosophy, and genre. Each provides opportunities for readers to examine a wide variety of characters, tropes, and literary nuances and influences throughout all five televised seasons of the series and in the current continuation of the series in comic book form.

The Comics of Joss Whedon

Critical Essays

Author: Valerie Estelle Frankel

Publisher: McFarland

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 256

View: 806

A great deal of scholarship has focused on Joss Whedon’s television and film work, which includes Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Firefly, Doctor Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog, The Cabin in the Woods and The Avengers. But Whedon’s work in the world of comics has largely been ignored. He created his own dystopian heroine, Fray, assembled the goofy fannish heroes of Sugarshock, and wrote arcs for Marvel’s Astonishing X-Men and Runaways. Along with The Avengers, Whedon’s contributions to the cinematic Universe include: script doctoring the first X-Men film, writing a ground-shaking Wonder Woman screenplay, and co-creating ABC’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Today, Whedon continues the Buffy and Firefly stories with innovative comics that shatter the rules of storytelling and force his characters to grow through life-altering conflicts. This collection of new essays focuses on Whedon’s comics work and its tie-ins with his film and television productions, emphasizing his auteurism in crossing over from panel to screen to panel. Essays focus on the comic inspirations and subversive tropes of the Whedonverse, as well as character changes and new interpretations.

The Trial of Joan of Arc

Author: Daniel Hobbins

Publisher: Harvard University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 251

View: 603

This translation of Joan of Arc's trial is set in its legal and historical context. In exploring Joan's place in 15th century society, Hobbins suggests that her claims to divine revelation conform to a recognisable profile of holy women in her culture while her adoption of military lifestyle does not.

Angel: After The Fall #22

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Publisher: IDW Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page:

View: 529

5th of 5 issue story arc: Springing out of Joss Whedon's Angel: After the Fall story line, novelist Kelley Armstrong (The Summoning) comes aboard to explore the many repercussions following the explosive last issue of Angel: After the Fall. Artist Dave Ross also comes aboard to present the first arc of AFTERMATH wherein we learn who lived, who died, and who will be forever changed from the experience.

Angel: After The Fall Vol.6

Author: Brian Lynch

Publisher: IDW Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page:

View: 506

In possibly the craziest Angel volume yet, we find out what happened to Gunn, Drusilla, Angel, and Spike in the aftermath of the Fall, which includes comas, insane asylums, a comic con, and even Angel's movie adaptation. With stories by fan-favorite writer Brian Lynch and a two-issue arc co-written by Drusilla herself, Juliet Landau, this collection shows you just how insane Angel's world can get.

Angel

After the Fall Volume 4 HC

Author: Joss Whedon

Publisher: Idea & Design Works Llc

ISBN:

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 132

View: 387

In a story that follows the events of the show's final televised season, a heroic vampire seeks redemption while dealing with the death destruction brought on by his choice to stand up to a demonic multi-dimensional law firm.

Aftermath

Author: N J

Publisher: Author House

ISBN:

Category: Poetry

Page: 136

View: 612

The book ‘Aftermath’ is a collection of selected poems. It deals with human emotions in order to sustain his (or her) dreams to reach the final destination. Everybody has gone through difficult situations in life. The poems in the book are a mere reflection of an individual’s life.

Aftermath

Author: Kelley Armstrong

Publisher: Crown Books For Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 384

View: 585

Secrets don't remain hidden for long in this thrilling read from a #1 New York Times bestselling author that's perfect for fans of Kara Thomas's The Darkest Corners and Lynn Weingarten's Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls. Three years after losing her brother Luka in a school shooting, Skye Gilchrist is moving home. But there's no sympathy for Skye and her family because Luka wasn't a victim; he was a shooter. Jesse Mandal knows all too well that the scars of the past don't heal easily. The shooting cost Jesse his brother and his best friend--Skye. Ripped apart by tragedy, Jesse and Skye can't resist reopening the mysteries of their past. But old wounds hide darker secrets. And the closer Skye and Jesse get to the truth of what happened that day, the closer they get to a new killer.