And My Heart Crumples Like a Coke Can

Author: Ali Whitelock

Publisher: Polygon

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 96

View: 489

This humourous, accessible collection explores a diverse range of themes: death, infidelity, politics, homesickness, racism, humanity as well as every day life. The topics, found within the lines of this book, are portrayed with such humour and warmth they will delight, shock and amuse readers in equal measure. Reading this collection has been described as, 'feeling like I was at a book festival, stand-up comedy night and therapy session all at once. Every poem is an event.' Kevin MacNeil, author of The Brilliant & Forever, A Method Actor's Guide to Jekyll and Hyde and The Stornoway Way. Raw, beautiful and completely devoid of pretension, Ali Whitelock's poems will speak to anyone who's ever messed up, been confused or wished they'd done things differently.

Cheat Sheets

Author: Edward O'Dwyer

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 154

View: 343

108 stories of infidelity ""Disturbingly knowing and knowingly disturbing, Edward O'Dwyer comes at his delicate subject matter with a playful and razor eye. These are shards that insist on being read, and then read again."" Alan McMonagle, author of 'Psychotic Episodes' and 'Ithaca' ""Cheat Sheets (is) an astonishing collection of vignettes about life, love, lust and relationships, which are jaw-droppingly hilarious, tender, strange, potent and weirdly charming--all at the same time. I laughed out loud in public too many times, the laughs often interrupted with sharp intakes of breath, as stories took outrageously i-didn't-see-that-coming turns. If I have any advice for readers when they sit down with this collection, it is this: pace yourself. Like a packet of Nestlé's Rolos or a family size packet of salt & vinegar crisps, you won't want these stories to end."" Ali Whitelock, author of 'and my heart crumples like a coke can' and 'Poking seaweed with a stick and running away from the smell'

Maybe One Day

Author: Debbie Johnson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 384

View: 851

'A laugh-cry book from first page to last' Milly Johnson What if you had the chance to find a lost love? Jess still thinks about the man who disappeared from her life seventeen years ago, and the tragedy that tore them apart. So when she discovers a hidden box of letters in her mother's attic, Jess realises that the truth about why he walked away has been kept from her all this time. Jess sets out to follow the faded postmarks across the country, determined that her journey will bring her closer to him. As each clue falls into place, Jess discovers new things about herself - and the man who once broke her heart. Maybe she can find him. Maybe their love story isn't over. Maybe one day, they will be together again... Praise for Debbie Johnson: 'Original and thought-provoking' Katie Fforde 'An emotional, wise, big-hearted gem of a novel. The perfect read!' Miranda Dickinson 'A beauty of a book, a proper heart-burster' Laura Kemp 'Moving, beautiful and heart-wrenching' Cathy Bramley 'Humour, tears and above all, hope. Bring tissues' Catherine Isaac

Shiver

Author: Karen Robards

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 629

When she swore off love, he was the last man she imagined would steal her heart. If driving a tow truck through the seediest part of town with a gun beside her means putting a roof over her son's head, then single mother Samantha is going to be the best repossession woman on the books. But when she hooks her truck up to a flashy BMW, the last thing she expects is to find a beaten, bloody man in the trunk - or to be catapulted into a terrifying fight to survive. Daniel knows the drug runners who kidnapped him from protective custody will stop at nothing to see him dead. With his life on the line, his only option is to take his pretty saviour hostage and force her to help him. Sam and her four-year-old son are in too deep. With ruthless killers on their trail, she must reluctantly trust this handsome, menacing stranger. And as Sam relinquishes control, she feels an unmistakable desire. But what is the price of falling for a man who operates on the edge of danger - her heart, her life . . . or both?

Isla and the Happily Ever After

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 384

View: 183

Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on brooding artist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And, after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer break, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to face uncertainty about their futures, and the very real possibility of being apart. Set against the stunning backdrops of New York, Paris and Barcelona, this is a gorgeous, heart-wrenching and irresistible story of true love, and the perfect conclusion to Stephanie Perkins's beloved series. "Stephanie Perkins's characters fall in love the way we all want to, in real time and for good." - Rainbow Rowell, author of Eleanor & Park and Fangirl

Predator One

A Joe Ledger Novel

Author: Jonathan Maberry

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 120

On opening day of the new baseball season a small model-kit airplane flies down from the stands and buzzes the mound, where a decorated veteran pilot is about to throw out the first ball. The toy plane is the exact replica of the one flown by the war hero. Everyone laughs, thinking it's a prank or a publicity stunt. Until it explodes, killing dozens. Seconds later a swarm of killer drones descend upon the picnicked crowd, each one carrying a powerful bomb. All across the country artificial intelligence drive systems in cars, commuter trains and even fighter planes go out of control. The death toll soars as the machines we depend upon every day are turned into engines of destruction. Joe Ledger and the Department of Military Sciences go on the hunt for whoever is controlling these machines, but the every step of the way they are met with traps and shocks that strike to the very heart of the DMS. No one is safe. Nowhere is safe. Enemies old and new rise as America burns. Joe Ledger and his team are back in Jonathan Maberry's seventh book in the series. They begin a desperate search for the secret to this new technology and the madmen behind it. But before they can close in the enemy virus infects Air Force One. The president is trapped aboard as the jet heads toward the heart of New York City. It has become PREDATOR ONE.

Dancing With the Virgins

A Cooper & Fry Mystery

Author: Stephen Booth

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 310

Dancing With the Virgins is an atmospheric, psychological stunner—perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. As winter closes in on the moors, so does death. The body of a young woman is found within a ring of ancient cairns, her arms and legs arranged to look as though she's dancing. Now another young woman has been found, savagely wounded and severely traumatized, but alive. Ben Cooper and Diane Fry must unlock the memories trapped inside her mind before more blood is shed amongst the stones . . .

Cut out

Author: Christopher Moore

Publisher: White Lotus Company, Ltd. (Thailand)

ISBN:

Category: Cambodia

Page: 314

View: 661