Cheat Sheets

Author: Edward O'Dwyer

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 154

View: 766

108 stories of infidelity ""Disturbingly knowing and knowingly disturbing, Edward O'Dwyer comes at his delicate subject matter with a playful and razor eye. These are shards that insist on being read, and then read again."" Alan McMonagle, author of 'Psychotic Episodes' and 'Ithaca' ""Cheat Sheets (is) an astonishing collection of vignettes about life, love, lust and relationships, which are jaw-droppingly hilarious, tender, strange, potent and weirdly charming--all at the same time. I laughed out loud in public too many times, the laughs often interrupted with sharp intakes of breath, as stories took outrageously i-didn't-see-that-coming turns. If I have any advice for readers when they sit down with this collection, it is this: pace yourself. Like a packet of Nestlé's Rolos or a family size packet of salt & vinegar crisps, you won't want these stories to end."" Ali Whitelock, author of 'and my heart crumples like a coke can' and 'Poking seaweed with a stick and running away from the smell'

Beautifully Broken

A Mother’s Journey Through Her Son’s Traumatic Brain Injury and Recovery

Author: Rebecca Boone Kozowyk

Publisher: WestBow Press

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 124

View: 250

After spending the morning in a CPR class, registered nurse and mother of three Rebecca Boone Kozowyk returned home to a family barbeque with her husband, sons, and parents. When her sixteen-year-old son David asked her for the truck keys later that evening to drive his girlfriend home, she handed them to him without a second thought, unaware that just a few hours later she and her husband would receive the devastating news that David had suffered a catastrophic brain injury and other life-threatening injuries in a horrible crash. At the hospital, they were told by doctors to gather their family together and begin making arrangements to bury their son, because his injuries were not survivable. With nowhere else to turn, Rebecca placed all of her faith and hope in God and cried out to Him. Her desperate prayer for her son’s survival and recovery set forth a miraculous chain of events that would take her and her son on a journey from completely shattered to beautifully broken.

Casanegra

A Tennyson Hardwick Novel

Author: Blair Underwood

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 308

View: 879

Struggling to hold on to his career while endeavoring to redeem a scandalous past that estranged him from his family, actor Tennyson Hardwick finds himself accused of murder in the aftermath of his strict LAPD captain father's stroke. Reprint.

Shiver

Author: Karen Robards

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 372

When she swore off love, he was the last man she imagined would steal her heart. If driving a tow truck through the seediest part of town with a gun beside her means putting a roof over her son's head, then single mother Samantha is going to be the best repossession woman on the books. But when she hooks her truck up to a flashy BMW, the last thing she expects is to find a beaten, bloody man in the trunk - or to be catapulted into a terrifying fight to survive. Daniel knows the drug runners who kidnapped him from protective custody will stop at nothing to see him dead. With his life on the line, his only option is to take his pretty saviour hostage and force her to help him. Sam and her four-year-old son are in too deep. With ruthless killers on their trail, she must reluctantly trust this handsome, menacing stranger. And as Sam relinquishes control, she feels an unmistakable desire. But what is the price of falling for a man who operates on the edge of danger - her heart, her life . . . or both?

Dancing With the Virgins

A Cooper & Fry Mystery

Author: Stephen Booth

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 592

View: 732

Dancing With the Virgins is an atmospheric, psychological stunner—perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. As winter closes in on the moors, so does death. The body of a young woman is found within a ring of ancient cairns, her arms and legs arranged to look as though she's dancing. Now another young woman has been found, savagely wounded and severely traumatized, but alive. Ben Cooper and Diane Fry must unlock the memories trapped inside her mind before more blood is shed amongst the stones . . .

Predator One

A Joe Ledger Novel

Author: Jonathan Maberry

Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 596

On opening day of the new baseball season a small model-kit airplane flies down from the stands and buzzes the mound, where a decorated veteran pilot is about to throw out the first ball. The toy plane is the exact replica of the one flown by the war hero. Everyone laughs, thinking it's a prank or a publicity stunt. Until it explodes, killing dozens. Seconds later a swarm of killer drones descend upon the picnicked crowd, each one carrying a powerful bomb. All across the country artificial intelligence drive systems in cars, commuter trains and even fighter planes go out of control. The death toll soars as the machines we depend upon every day are turned into engines of destruction. Joe Ledger and the Department of Military Sciences go on the hunt for whoever is controlling these machines, but the every step of the way they are met with traps and shocks that strike to the very heart of the DMS. No one is safe. Nowhere is safe. Enemies old and new rise as America burns. Joe Ledger and his team are back in Jonathan Maberry's seventh book in the series. They begin a desperate search for the secret to this new technology and the madmen behind it. But before they can close in the enemy virus infects Air Force One. The president is trapped aboard as the jet heads toward the heart of New York City. It has become PREDATOR ONE.

Your Name Shall be Tanga

Author: Calixthe Beyala

Publisher: Heinemann Educational Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 137

View: 412

Calixthe Beyala underlines the solidarity that unites women across racial, religious, class and national lines in this novel about a young woman dying in a West African prison cell.