And Four to Go

Author: Rex Stout

Publisher: Crimeline

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 923

“It is always a treat to read a Nero Wolfe mystery. The man has entered our folklore.”—The New York Times Book Review Embark on a year of murder and mystery. It begins at Christmas with a party and a poisoning, then blossoms into spring with sudden death at the Easter Parade. With a killer in the crowd, the Fourth of July is no picnic, and the calendar is overbooked with corpses when death is in season. Here are four cunning cases that leave everyone guessing. When it comes to sleuthing out a clever solution, only Nero Wolfe has a clue.

Stout Fellow

A Guide Through Nero Wolfe's World

Author: O. McBride

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 268

View: 458

Are you one of the millions who has spent many pleasant hours reading aboutNero Wolfeconverting the calories from his gourmet dining (albeit grudgingly) into mental energy to solve a murder? If you have traipsed through that morass of neuroses, idiosyncrasies and obsessive-compulsive behaviors, you must have questions. Did you know that while Wolfe usually tilts the scales near one-seventh of a ton, he may once have weighed less than his svelte associate, Archie Goodwin? Or how many times the "unbreakable" rules of the house are broken? Or why Fritz speaks French although he's not from France? Or how many bullet and knife wounds Wolfe carries on his normally sedentary carcass? Or what Inspector Cramer's first name is? Or how the characters evolved over the four decades of their existence? This book will provide you with the answers to those questions and a thousand others. I hope you find it satisfactory.

Games, Rhymes, and Wordplay of London Children

Author: N. G. N. Kelsey

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 835

View: 255

This book presents a unique annotated collection of some 2000 playground games, rhymes, and wordplay of London children. It charts continuity and development in childlore at a time of major social and cultural change and offers a detailed snapshot of changes in the traditions and language of young people. Topics include: starting a game; counting-out rhymes; games (without songs); singing and chanting games; clapping, skipping, and ball bouncing games; school rhymes and parodies; teasing and taunting; traditional belief and practice; traditional wordplay; and a concluding miscellany. Recorded mainly in the 1980s by primary schoolteacher Nigel Kelsey, transcribed verbatim from the children’s own words, and accompanied by extensive commentaries and annotation, the book sets a wealth of new information in the wider historical and contemporary context of existing studies in Britain, Ireland, and other parts of the English-speaking world. This valuable new resource will open new avenues for research and be of particular interest to folklorists and linguists, as well as to those working across the full spectrum of social, cultural, and educational studies.

Classic Golf Stories

26 Incredible Tales from the Links

Author: Jeff Silverman

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 224

View: 295

An assortment of writings about golf features works from such celebrated authors as P.G. Wodehouse, F. Scott Fitzgerald, and A.A. Milne.

Elizabeth's Coal Camp Stories

Author: Carrie D. Franklin Heck

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 252

View: 391

It takes on a setting of a coal camp; somewhere in West Virginia during the great depression days. Some of the book is fictitious. Most of the characters were names I had remembered as a child; whether they be real in character or of a fictitious nature, I used them out of due love for the families of yesteryears. Judge Henry S. Cato is a real character in this novel. I had cared for him as his private duty nurse for a period of five years. I feel like I got to know him as a nurse and as a special person. His life touched mine in a many ways, as well as the lives of others.

Surviving Home

A Novel

Author: A. American

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 528

View: 705

Book 2 of The Survivalist Series No electricity. No running water. No food. No end in sight. If life as you knew it changed in an instant, would you be prepared? In A. American’s first novel, Going Home, readers were introduced to Morgan Carter, the resourceful, tough-as-nails survivalist who embarks on a treacherous 250-mile journey across Florida following the collapse of the nation’s power grid. Now reunited with his loving wife and daughters in this follow-up to Going Home, Morgan knows that their happiness is fleeting, as the worst is yet to come. Though for years Morgan has been diligently preparing for emergency situations, many of his neighbors are completely unready for life in this strange new world—and they’re starting to get restless. With the help of his closest companions, Morgan fights to keeps his home secure—only to discover shocking information about the state of the nation in the process. Fans of James Wesley Rawles, William R. Forstchen's One Second After, and The End by G. Michael Hopf will revel in A. American's apocalyptic tale.

The Mystery Fancier (Vol. 3 No. 1) March-April 1979

Author: Kim Philby

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 66

View: 231

Volume 3 Number 1 of The Mystery Fancier contains: "Gene Stratton-Porter: Mistress of the Mini-Mystery," by Jane S. Bakerman, "The Len Deighton Series," by Jeff Banks and Harry Dawson, "Kim Philby, Master Spy in Fact and Fiction," by Theodore P. Dukeshire, "Bouchercon, 1978: IX and Counting," by Donald A. Yates, "The Nero Wolfe Saga, Part XI," by Guy M. Townsend, and "An Index of Books Reviewed in TMF Volume 2," compiled by David H. Doerrer.

Touchdown for Tommy

Author: Matt Christopher

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 145

View: 730

TOUCHDOWN FOR TOMMY Is football Tommy's key to a new home? Football isn't just Tommy's favorite sport-he also thinks that it's the key to a good home. The recently orphaned Tommy is delighted to discover that his foster father, Mr. Powell, coaches Midget League football. By playing well, Tommy hopes that he will make Mr. Powell want to adopt him, and then he will have a real family again. But will things work out the way he plans!

The Great Parade

Broadway's Astonishing, Never-to-Be-Forgotten 1963-1964 Season

Author: Peter Filichia

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 304

View: 862

It was the Broadway season when Barbra Streisand demanded "Don't Rain on My Parade" and Carol Channing heard the waiters at the Harmonia Gardens say "Hello, Dolly!". From June 1, 1963 through the final day of May 31, 1964, theatergoers were offered 68 different productions: 24 new plays, 15 new comedies, 14 new musicals, 5 revivals of plays, 3 revues, 3 plays in Yiddish, 2 in French, 1 double-bill and even 1 puppet show. Peter Filichia's The Great Parade will look at what a Broadway season looked like a half-century ago analyzing the hits, the flops, the trends, the surprises, the disappointments, the stars and even how the assassination of JFK and the arrival of the Beatles affected Broadway. The Great Parade is a chronicle of a Broadway season unprecedented in the star power onstage: Barbara Streisand, Carol Channing, Claudette Colbert. Colleen Dewhurst, Hal Holbrook, Mary Martin, Christopher Plummer, Robert Preston, Julie Harris, Jason Robards, Jr., Carol Burnett, Tallulah Bankhead, Alec Guinness, Kirk Douglas, Albert Finney, Paul Newman, Joanne Woodward, Richard Burton, Mary Martin, Beatrice Lillie, Hermione Gingold, Robert Redford and many more. Neil Simon and Stephen Sondheim burst on to the Broadway stage with Barefoot in the Park and Anyone Can Whistle. The '63-'64 season was one of Broadway's greatest and in The Great Parade, Peter Filichia gives us another classic.