An English Country Manner

More true stories from a Suffolk country estate

Author: Rory Clark

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 160

View: 402

James Aden has his hands full when he leaves the comparative sanity of a job on an estate in Scotland when his wife inherits a farm in Suffolk. To supplement the income from the farm, he takes a job as an agent on Sir Charles Buckley's vast estate. The list of problems, and problematic characters, that he has to deal with is virtually endless with rogue chimney pots, unsavoury tenants and delinquent sheep giving him frought days and sleepless nights. There's no point in counting sheep to get to sleep when they simply won't do as they're told. Then there's the farm secretary, Gail, whose turbulent love life provides James with even more headaches than the troublesome sheep, without even the prospect of a decent Sunday roast to look forward to once the troublemakers have been put out of their misery!

The City in Cultural Context

Author: John Agnew

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 320

View: 291

Routledge Library Editions: The City reprints some of the most important works in urban studies published in the last century. For further information on this collection please email [email protected]

The Scandalous Adventures of the Sister of the Bride

Author: Victoria Alexander

Publisher: Zebra Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 893

"Sparkling dialogue and endearing characters make this an enthralling read." --Sabrina Jeffries, New York Times bestselling author The bride and groom cordially request the presence of. . . The bride's sister, Delilah, the very proper widowed Lady Hargate, and Samuel Russell, the groom's friend, a very eligible, slightly improper bachelor, at their upcoming wedding. Lady Hargate and Mr. Russell, previously acquainted during one unforgettable night in New York City when caution--and clothing--were thrown to the wind will choose to pretend they have never met before. The lady plans to avoid love and its complications at all costs.The gentleman intends to change her mind. Guests are invited to enjoy the many diversions of Millworth Manor--delightful grounds, lavish drawing rooms, secluded corners--and the chance to discover that one night may have been only the beginning. . . Praise for Victoria Alexander "The perfect holiday treat." –The Chicago Tribune on What Happens at Christmas

Manuel Puig and the Spider Woman

His Life and Fictions

Author: Suzanne Jill Levine

Publisher: Univ of Wisconsin Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 448

View: 916

This is the first biography, now available in paperback, of Manuel Puig (1932–1990), Argentinian author of Kiss of the Spider Woman and pioneer of high camp. Suzanne Jill Levine, his principal English translator, draws upon years of friendship as well as copious research and interviews

Historic Hotels of Texas

A Traveler's Guide

Author: Liz Carmack

Publisher: Texas A&M University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 272

View: 206

From rural towns to mid-size cities to urban metropolises and in every region of the state, more than sixty historic hotels welcome overnight lodgers in Texas. After traveling at least 20,000 miles to visit these unique accommodations first-hand, author Liz Carmack has written the essential guide for anyone looking for out-of-the-ordinary lodging or travel destinations. Historic Hotels of Texas includes detailed profiles of sixty-four hotels that are at least fifty years old, have been in operation as places of lodging for the majority of their existence, and are still open today. Ranging from stagecoach inns and railroad hotels to resort and community-built lodging, some facilities have retained the flavor of their origins; others have become sleek commercial establishments or have been transformed into trendy, boutique locations. Anticipating the diverse interests of travelers, Carmack offers advice in her introduction to help readers choose hotels according to taste and occasion. Whether you’re looking for a romantic getaway, booking a fishing trip, planning a ghost hunting excursion, or going on a cycling tour, Historic Hotels of Texas offers the perfect lodging option to complement your interests. In her description for each hotel, Carmack includes fascinating historical nuggets and focuses on special characteristics that create the unique ambience so often found in these living tributes to the past. An “Essentials” sidebar includes contacts for reservations, room rates, payment methods, parking, and pet accommodations as well as details about amenities and facilities. The author notes the hotel’s historic registration status and also offers a tip or two from her experiences. Together, the information summaries and insider tips give readers the details they need to choose the hotels that best suit their tastes and to make the most of their visits. Historic Hotels of Texas is indispensable for travelers interested in both a good night’s sleep and the culture and history of the great state of Texas.

Next of Kin

A Richard and Judy Book Club Selection

Author: David Hosp

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 925

A Richard and Judy Book Club selection. Next of Kin by David Hosp is a gripping legal thriller in the Scott Finn series, perfect for fans of David Baldacci and Scott Turow. When Boston attorney Scott Finn agrees to defend the son of notorious mobster Eamonn McDougal, he knows he’s putting his reputation on the line. But he also knows he can use him as bait to reel in the prize catch. In a city where mob crime once ruled, a core of corruption, greed, lies and deceit still lingers. And it seems there are those in power who will stop at nothing to achieve what they want. Finn, who grew up an orphan on the meanest streets in the city, is determined to solve the murder of the mother he never knew. In his search for the truth he uncovers a sinister trail of murder, betrayal and revenge borne by someone who could neither forgive nor forget. But who can be trusted, and who can be believed? And can Finn find the answers before it’s too late? 'Hosp hits the trifecta – brilliant, brawny, and totally believable' David Baldacci

Architecture, Language and Meaning

The Origins of the Built World and Its Semiotic Organization

Author: Donald Preziosi

Publisher: Walter de Gruyter

ISBN:

Category: Architecture

Page: 122

View: 739