After the Armistice Ball

Author: Catriona McPherson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 317

A classic murder-mystery set among the struggling upper classes of 1920s Perthshire as, in the aftermath of the First World War, their comfortable world begins to crumble. Dandy Gilver, her husband back from the War, her children off at school and her uniform growing musty in the attic, is bored to a whimper in the spring of 1923 and a little light snooping seems like harmless fun. Before long, though, the puzzle of what really happened to the Duffy diamonds after the Armistice Ball has been swept aside by a sudden, unexpected death in a lonely seaside cottage in Galloway. Society and the law seem ready to call it an accident but Dandy, along with Cara Duffy's fiancé Alec, is sure that there is more going on than meets the eye. What is being hidden by members of the Duffy family: the watchful Lena, the cold and distant Clemence and old Gregory Duffy with his air of quiet sadness, not to mention Cara herself whose secret always seems just tantalizingly out of view? Dandy must learn to trust her instincts and swallow most of her scruples if he is to uncover the truth and earn the right to call herself a sleuth.

After the Armistice Ball

Author: Catriona McPherson

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 477

View: 296

Dandy Gilver, her husband back from the Front and her children away at school, is bored to tears in the spring of 1922, and a little light sleuthing seems like harmless fun. She decides to track down the Duffy diamonds, stolen from the Esslemonts' country house after the Armistice Ball.

The Burry Man's Day

Author: Catriona McPherson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 818

The second classic whodunnit starring Dandy Gilver. Summer 1923, and as the village of Queensferry prepares for the annual Ferry Fair and the walk of the Burry Man, feelings are running high. With his pagan greenery, his lucky pennies and the nips of whisky he is treated to wherever he goes, the Burry Man has much to offend stricter souls like the minister or temperance pamphleteer. And then at the Fair, in full view of everyone including Dandy Gilver, invited to hand out the prizes he falls down dead. If he has been poisoned then the list of suspects includes anyone with a bottle of whisky in the house, and, here at Queensferry, that means just about everyone.

Signed - After the Armistice Ball

Author: C Macpherson

Publisher: Constable

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 308

View: 406

Melanie Fennell's "Overcoming Low Self - Esteem" is a classic of self - help literature, winning acclaim for its practical and user - friendly approach and now recommended on the National Health Service's self - help scheme known as Books on Prescription. This book will aid readers to understand their condition and with this knowledge enable them to break out of the vicious circle of negative self - image, learn the art of self - acceptance and alter their lives for the better. Explains the nature of low self - esteem and self destructive thinking. Contains a complete self - help programme and monitoring sheets. Is based on clinically proven techniques of cognitive therapy.

Go to my Grave

Author: Catriona McPherson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 257

This is the story of three days last September when eight old friends gathered in a beautiful house by the sea. There was food, wine and laughter, and then the friends went their separate ways. That's the truth and nothing but the truth. Or is it? Donna Weaver has put everything into The Breakers. Now it waits - freshly painted, richly furnished, filled with flowers - for the first guests to arrive. But as they roll up, each one discovers they've been here before. Twenty-five years ago. When a party that started with peach schnapps and Postman's Knock ended with a girl walking into the sea and the rest of them making a vow of silence: lock it in a box, stitch my lips and go to my grave. But one of them has broken the pact. And before the weekend is over, someone will have gone to their grave. Praise for Catriona McPherson 'An unnerving and suspenseful novel' Karin Slaughter 'Just the right mixture of spookiness and mystery' James Oswald 'A gripping thriller' Ian Rankin 'A Gothic feast of a novel, this is a country house book with a difference: contemporary, punchy and disturbing, but using the tricks and twists of the best of Christie' Ann Cleeves 'Go To My Grave is both a classic 'country house mystery' and a thriller. Atmospheric, with mind-bending twists, a narrator who may or may not be reliable, and an ending that will take your breath away and leave you astonished' Louise Penny 'Agatha Award-winning McPherson's deliciously gothic country house mystery with a contemporary twist is devious and suspenseful and keeps readers guessing to the shocking end. Highly recommended.' Library Journal

The Turning Tide

Author: Catriona McPherson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 606

It is the breezy Scottish summer of 1936, Lady Dandy Gilver has been called, with trusted colleague Alec Osbourne, to solve the strange case of the Crammond Ferrywoman on the Firth of Forth. A small island is home to a woman, Vesper Kemp, who has lost her mind, spending her days rambling in rags. What is more troubling, is that Vesper claims to have murdered a young man. A concerned group of residents have good reason to believe she is innocent. But Dandy and Alec will have a dangerous journey ahead if they are to uncover the truth in the River Almond's murky waters.

Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses

Author: Catriona McPherson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 103

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1920s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Alexander McCall Smith and Agatha Christie. '1920s lady detective Dandy Gilver lands a sleuthing gig in a setting straight out of Enid Blyton,. Cosier than a pair of WI-knitted mittens, Corpses serves up murder most foul - and is also good for several giggles.' TIME OUT Before she was a detective, before she was a reluctant wife and distracted mother, before she was even a debutante, Dandy Gilver spent one perfect summer with the Lipscotts of Pereford. The golden memories of it have sustained her through many a cold snap in Perthshire. So when two of the Lipscott sisters beg her to help the third, she can hardly refuse. Sweet, pretty Fleur Lipscott: where is she now? The astonishing answer to this is that Fleur - still Miss Lipscott, indeed more Miss Lipscott than ever - is buried alive in the tiny seaside village of Portpatrick, working as a schoolmistress at St Columba's College for Young Ladies. But she is one of the few remaining, for St Columba's has been shedding mistresses as a snake its skins and the exodus is far from over. With mistresses vanishing and corpses mounting up, can Mrs Gilver, detective, pass herself off as Miss Gilver, English mistress, to solve the one and stop the other? Catriona McPherson's latest novel in the series, Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble is now available for pre-order.

Dandy Gilver and a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Author: Catriona McPherson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 916

A cosy Dandy Gilver mystery set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie. 'A delightfully uplifting mystery with a distinctly P.G. Wodehouse-ian feel. Navigating ancient castles, and family feuds, Dandy Gilver must also contend with a ribald staging of Shakespeare's Macbeth. I loved the sense of fun, the wonderful use of language . . . satisfying on many levels.' Vaseem Khan, author of the Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra Scotland, 1934. Aristocratic private detective Dandy Gilver arrives at Castle Bewer, at midsummer, to solve the tangled mystery of a missing man, a lost ruby and a family curse. The Bewer family's latest wheeze to keep the wolf from the door is turning the castle keep into a theatre. While a motley band of players rehearse Macbeth, the Bewers themselves prepare lectures, their faithful servants set up a tearoom, and the guest wings fill with rich American ladies seeking. Meanwhile, Dandy and her sidekick Alec Osborne begin to unravel the many secrets of the Bewers and find that, despite the witches, murders and ghosts onstage, it's behind the scenes where the darkest deeds are done. 'The perfect read for those who enjoy the bygoneworld charm of Nancy Mitford, Evelyn Waugh and Agatha Christie.' - The Lady on Dandy Gilver and a Most Misleading Habit 'Catriona McPherson is a writer as talented as she is versatile. Dandy Gilver tackles a Golden Age era puzzle with her usual aplomb when the Scottish play offers a Shakespearean twist to a mystery with plenty of classic ingredients.' Martin Edwards 'Dandy Gilver is a fabulous character. a cross between Nancy Drew and the Australian crime cracker Miss Fisher. She is both relentless and brilliant.' Amazon Reviewer

In Place of Fear

Author: Catriona McPherson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 943

'Authentic social history at the birth of the NHS, an intriguing murder, a strong and convincing central character, and McPherson's wonderful story-telling skills make this a very classy mystery' ANN CLEEVES Helen leaned close enough to fog the mirror with her breath and whispered, 'You, my girl, are a qualified medical almoner and at eight o'clock tomorrow morning you will be on the front line of the National Health Service of Scotland.' Her eyes looked huge and scared. 'So take a shake to yourself!'' Edinburgh, 1948. Helen Crowther leaves a crowded tenement home for her very own office in a doctor's surgery. Upstart, ungrateful, out of your depth - the words of disapproval come at her from everywhere but she's determined to take her chance and play her part. She's barely begun when she stumbles over a murder and learns that, in this most respectable of cities, no one will fight for justice at the risk of scandal. As Helen resolves to find a killer, she's propelled into a darker world than she knew existed, hardscrabble as her own can be. Disapproval is the least of her worries now. IN PLACE OF FEAR is a gripping new historical crime novel that is both enthralling and entertaining, and perfect for fans of AJ Pearce and Nicola Upson. Readers love IN PLACE OF FEAR: 'What a wonderful book this is!' 'I loved [it] ... Helen is another cracker of a heroine from McPherson and I hope to read much more of her story in future' 'Historical crime from a talented pen. Intriguing and compelling in equal measure' 'An excellent read'

Scot in a Trap

Author: Catriona McPherson

Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 254

View: 580

In this darkly funny mystery Lexy Campbell's first love turns up dead at the Last Ditch Motel on Thanksgiving . . . and she becomes the prime suspect! A mysterious object the size of a suitcase, all wrapped in bacon and smelling of syrup, can mean only one thing: Thanksgiving at the Last Ditch Motel. This year the motel residents are in extra-celebratory mood as the holiday brings a new arrival to the group - a bouncing baby girl. But as one life enters the Ditch, another leaves it. Menzies Lassiter has only just checked in. When resident counsellor Lexy Campbell tries to deliver his breakfast the next day, she finds him checked out. Permanently. Shocking enough if he was a stranger, but Lexy recognises that face. Menzies was her first love until he broke her heart many years ago. What's he doing at the Last Ditch? What's he doing dead? And how can Lexy escape the fact that she alone had the means, the opportunity - and certainly the motive - to kill him?