Acts of Vanishing

The gripping new Scandinavian thriller with a huge twist

Author: Fredrik T. Olsson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 925

'Olsson has the page-turning power of Michael Crichton' The Sun A father's search. A daughter in danger. A terrifying secret. It was ten past four on the afternoon of the third of December. Everything was darkness and ink, and the snow falling turned to water. Through it ran Sara Sandberg, the girl who was about to die, and somewhere in the cold, lead-grey hell that was Stockholm was a man who called himself her father. In her rucksack, she had a warning for him. Now whether he would receive it or not was all down to her. From international bestseller and renowned Swedish screenwriter Fredrik T. Olsson comes a gripping, visionary Swedish thriller that's impossible to put down. Praise for Fredrik T. Olsson: 'Boy are you ever going to love this book' Simon Toyne 'A colourful blockbuster' Independent 'Gets high marks for developing an original concept and building suspense' Publishers Weekly

Vanishing Acts

A Science Fiction Anthology

Author: Ellen Datlow

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 946

Stories by Suzy McKee Charnas, Ted Chiang, Avram Davidson, Karen Joy Fowler, Paul McAuley, Brian Stableford, and others. The theme of this anthology is "endangered species", loosely interpreted to include in some cases the human race. The contents are four excellent reprints and a dozen new stories, including a new novella from Ted Chiang, one of the hottest young story writers in SF. This is a distinguished original anthology fit to put on the shelf beside Starlight.

Vanishing acts

Author: Jodi Picoult

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Adult children of divorced parents

Page: 526

View: 709

Vanishing Acts

Theater Since the Sixties

Author: Gordon Rogoff

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 306

View: 130

In this collection of critical writings, Gordon Rogoff tells the story of live theatre in America over the last 40 years of the 20th century. He explores the topics of acting, directing, playwriting, Shakespeare productions, opera and theatre criticism.

Vanishing Acts

Author: Leslie Margolis

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing USA

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 240

View: 166

This young Nancy Drew is back in a second Maggie Brooklyn mystery that shines a spotlight on her super-sleuth skills. When a movie starring tween heartthrob Seth Ryan starts filming in Park Slope, everyone gets movie mania-including Maggie Brooklyn Sinclair. Though her plans to become a movie extra don't quite work out, Maggie manages to capture Seth's attention and he seeks her out at the Pizza Den to talk. But just when Maggie's life is feeling like a romantic comedy, Seth disappears! Everyone thinks he's been kidnapped, but Maggie knows better . . . Don't miss these other stories by Leslie Margolis: The Maggie Brooklyn Mysteries Girl's Best Friend Vanishing Acts Secrets at the Chocolate Mansion The Annabelle Unleashed series Boys Are Dogs Girls Acting Catty Everybody Bugs Out One Tough Chick Monkey Business

Nobody's Story

The Vanishing Acts of Women Writers in the Marketplace, 1670-1820

Author: Catherine Gallagher

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 339

View: 577

"A superb book. . . . A scintillating, continuously rewarding reflection on authorship and its place in the modern world. This is a study in the great tradition of Ian Watt's The Rise of the Novel: both a brilliant work of literary scholarship and an invigorating report on modernity itself."Terry Castle, author of The Apparitional Lesbian "An exemplary instance of what many have been clamoring for: a rigorous cultural study of literature."William B. Warner, author of Reading Clarissa"

Vanishing Women

Magic, Film, and Feminism

Author: Karen Beckman

Publisher: Duke University Press

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 254

View: 471

With the help of mirrors, trap doors, elevators, photographs, and film, women vanish and return in increasingly spectacular ways throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Karen Beckman tracks the proliferation of this elusive figure, the vanishing woman, from her genesis in Victorian stage magic through her development in conjunction with photography and film. Beckman reveals how these new visual technologies projected their anxieties about insubstantiality and reproducibility onto the female body, producing an image of "woman" as utterly unstable and constantly prone to disappearance. Drawing on cinema studies and psychoanalysis as well as the histories of magic, spiritualism, and photography, Beckman looks at particular instances of female vanishing at specific historical moments—in Victorian magic’s obsessive manipulation of female and colonized bodies, spiritualist photography’s search to capture traces of ghosts, the comings and goings of bodies in early cinema, and Bette Davis’s multiple roles as a fading female star. As Beckman places the vanishing woman in the context of feminism’s discussion of spectacle and subjectivity, she explores not only the problems, but also the political utility of this obstinate figure who hovers endlessly between visible and invisible worlds. Through her readings, Beckman argues that the visibly vanishing woman repeatedly signals the lurking presence of less immediately perceptible psychic and physical erasures, and she contends that this enigmatic figure, so ubiquitous in late-nineteenth- and twentieth-century culture, provides a new space through which to consider the relationships between visibility, gender, and agency.

Vanishing acts

Author: Linda Crawford

Publisher: Putnam Adult

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 258

View: 328

Vanishing Acts

Author: Phillip Margolin

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 176

View: 937

From tracking down her best friend, who’s nowhere to be found, to secretly helping her attorney father solve a missing-person case, Madison Kincaid is a busy seventh-grade sleuth. Teaming up with new classmate Jake, she hits the sidewalks of Portland, Oregon, determined to find out what’s behind two mysterious vanishing acts. In his first book for young readers, New York Times bestselling author Phillip Margolin and his daughter, Ami Margolin Rome, deliver a fast-paced, compelling mystery that’s perfect for reluctant readers and sure to appeal to fans of Masterpiece, The Calder Game, and Theodore Boone: Kid Lawyer.

Vanishing acts

Author: Helen Ashmore

Publisher: Mill Street Pr

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 195

View: 358