A Sword From Red Ice

Book 3 of the Sword of Shadows

Author: J. V. Jones

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 720

View: 546

The Long Night has begun. The Endlords and their dark army of Unmade prepare to unleash untold destruction upon the world. Every Sull warrior must step forward and fight, or risk the North falling into eternal darkness. Key to mankind's survival is the sacred warrior Ash March. But for Ash to realise her true potential as a Reach, and become the Sull's greatest weapon, she must keep herself safe as the perils that surround her multiply. Raif Sevrance has an equally perilous task. The exile must travel to the barren wastes of the Red Glaciers and recover the legendary sword named Loss. For Sull legend decrees that he who wields the Sword from Red Ice will bring terror to their enemies. But fulfilment of these goals may yet come too late. In the remote reaches of the Bitter Hills, the Endlords' minions have made a cataclysmic discovery: a crack in the Blindwall, an ancient and unguarded passage leading directly into the realms of men.

A Cavern Of Black Ice

Book 1 of the Sword of Shadows

Author: J. V. Jones

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 816

View: 456

When Raif and Drey Sevrance return home to their clan as the only survivors of a vicious attack in which both their father and the clan chief, were killed, everything changes for Raif. Uneasy with the new chief's reign of brutality and his brother's acceptance of it, Raif welcomes his uncle Angus Lok's invitation to accompany him to Spire Vanis. Asarhiah March, Ash for short, is the beautiful ward of Penthero Iss, Overlord of Spire Vanis. Suspicious of Penthero's increasing interest in her developing body, when Ash overhears him planning to imprison her she flees, only to be cornered at the city gate by a band of the Overlord's elite guards. But as they close in on her, a stranger comes to the rescue - observed by a bemused Raif, Angus Lok plunges into the midst of the guards and snatches her to safety. For Angus knows that as this girl grows to womanhood she will develop powers which could destroy herself and the world if she doesn't learn to control them . . . and only Raif can protect her on her journey to understanding.

A Fortress Of Grey Ice

Book 2 of the Sword of Shadows

Author: J. V. Jones

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 752

View: 335

The war to end all wars is coming. The Endlords are preparing themselves for invasion. Now should be the time when city men and clansmen come together to fight the dark forces of destruction, yet they feud amongst themselves, unaware of the danger facing them. Only the Sull are preparing for war against the Endlords. They are an ancient, dwindling race, and they fear this fight might be their last. Sull legend speaks of The One Who Bears Loss, the warrior who will slay the Endlords, and they believe this warrior will be one of their own. Ash March is their most valued and sacred warrior, and it is Mal Naysayer's duty to bring her home to save her people. But thousands of leagues to the north, Raif Severance is learning that he alone can kill Endlords swiftly. An outcast and outlaw, Raif must betray his clan and forsake his beliefs, and raise the Fortress of Grey Ice. Look out for more information on this book and others on the Orbit website at www.orbitbooks.co.uk

Red Ice

Author: R. L. Crossland

Publisher: Diamond Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 260

View: 446

"Beyond Glasnost is the bitter reality of the Gulag. The life expectancy of a special prisoner is about six months. Unless someone goes in and gets him out"--Page 4 of cover.

Forthcoming Books

Author: Rose Arny

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: American literature

Page:

View: 529

A Sword Upon the Rose

Author: Brenda Joyce

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 918

New York Times bestselling author Brenda Joyce takes you back to the Highlands, where the battle for land, liberty and love rages on… A bastard daughter, Alana was cast away at birth and forgotten by her mighty Comyn family. Raised in solitude by her grandmother, she has remained at a safe distance from the war raging through Scotland. But when a battle comes close to home and she finds herself compelled to save an enemy warrior from death, her own life is thrown into danger. Iain of Islay's allegiance is to the formidable Robert Bruce. His beautiful rescuer captures both his attention and his desire, but Alana must keep her identity a secret even as she is swept up into a wild and forbidden affair. But as Bruce's army begins the final destruction of the earldom, Alana must decide between the family whose acceptance she's always sought, or the man she so wrongly loves.

The Knight of the Red Beard

Author: Andre Norton

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 460

Having rebuilt the NordornLand from rubble, Ashen and Gaurin rule justly and fairly over a reinvigorated land. Beloved by their kingdom, they now turn their attention to the next generation of Nordorn royalty. Responsible Bjaudin, heir to the throne, focuses on his studies and Hegrin, Queen of Rendel, rears her own growing brood. But the youngest siblings, Elin and Mikkel, seem destined to alter the future of the NordornLand—for better or for worse. Thirteen-year-old Elin craves power, and believes her new alliance with the evil Ysa may help her achieve it. Eleven-year-old Mikkel stows away on a Sea-Rover ship, hoping for a brief adventure. But when the ship is attacked, Mikkel is taken prisoner, and soon his bonds to the NordornLand are the last thing on his mind. Through births and deaths, celebration and wars, Ashen and Gaurin have worked tirelessly to bring peace and prosperity to their kingdom. But it appears that this era of peace may be at its end. This final installment of the Cycle of Oak, Yew, Ash, and Rowan brings the series to a thrilling climax worthy of these fascinating characters.

The Ancient Prophecy

Author: Nandanie Phalgoo

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 155

View: 980

ROSANA Im thirteen years old, and Ive struggled to live with my mother and my father for as long as I can remember in my poor hometown. I have a very strange birthmark on my forehead- one shaped like a claw-or more accurately, a dragons claw. One day it started to glow, and thats when my life turned to chaos. I was rushed to the town herbalist - where she was murdered right before me in the same house by a fiery-haired woman and a man in black. I barely escaped with my life intact - and was saved by a boy named Red and his shocking ally. Thrust into a mystical world of dragons, magic, and a mysterious seven thousand year old prophecy Im expected to fulfill, can I accept my fate?

The World of Ice & Fire

The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones

Author: George R. R. Martin

Publisher: Bantam

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 756

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The perfect holiday gift for fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones—an epic history of Westeros and the lands beyond, featuring hundreds of pages of all-new material from George R. R. Martin! If the past is prologue, then George R. R. Martin’s masterwork—the most inventive and entertaining fantasy saga of our time—warrants one hell of an introduction. At long last, it has arrived with The World of Ice & Fire. This lavishly illustrated volume is a comprehensive history of the Seven Kingdoms, providing vividly constructed accounts of the epic battles, bitter rivalries, and daring rebellions that lead to the events of A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones. In a collaboration that’s been years in the making, Martin has teamed with Elio M. García, Jr., and Linda Antonsson, the founders of the renowned fan site Westeros.org—perhaps the only people who know this world almost as well as its visionary creator. Collected here is all the accumulated knowledge, scholarly speculation, and inherited folk tales of maesters and septons, maegi and singers, including • artwork and maps, with more than 170 original pieces • full family trees for Houses Stark, Lannister, and Targaryen • in-depth explorations of the history and culture of Westeros • 100% all-new material, more than half of which Martin wrote specifically for this book The definitive companion piece to George R. R. Martin’s dazzlingly conceived universe, The World of Ice & Fire is indeed proof that the pen is mightier than a storm of swords.