A River in Darkness

One Man's Escape from North Korea

Author: Masaji Ishikawa

Publisher: AmazonCrossing

ISBN:

Category: Caste-based discrimination

Page: 172

View: 235

Previously published in Japan in 2000. Translated from Japanese by Risa Kobayashi and Martin Brown. First published in English by AmazonCrossing in 2017.

Summary of a River in Darkness by Masaji Ishikawa: Conversation Starters

Author: Bookhabits

Publisher: Blurb

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 68

View: 281

A River in Darkness by Masaji Ishikawa: Conversation Starters A River in Darkness, is a memoir written by Masaji Ishikawa. Ishikawa grew up in Japan, the son of a Japanese mother and Korean father. His family moved from Japan to North Korea when Ishikawa was thirteen years old. The family was enticed to come to the country through propaganda that promised a better life with work, education, and a higher societal status. When they arrived in North Korea, they were automatically put in the lowest social caste in the country. They realized immediately that their lives would be brutal. Ishikawa retells the story of his nearly forty years living in North Korea and his dangerous escape from the country. A River in Darkness is a shocking tale of how people are forced to live in North Korea. A River in Darkness by Masaji Ishikawa is a most sold and most read book on Amazon. Kirkus Reviews calls it the "terrifying true story" of how people are living inside North Korea. A Brief Look Inside: EVERY GOOD BOOK CONTAINS A WORLD FAR DEEPER than the surface of its pages. The characters and their world come alive, and the characters and its world still live on. Conversation Starters is peppered with questions designed to bring us beneath the surface of the page and invite us into the world that lives on. These questions can be used to... Create Hours of Conversation: - Promote an atmosphere of discussion for groups - Foster a deeper understanding of the book - Assist in the study of the book, either individually or corporately - Explore unseen realms of the book as never seen before Disclaimer: This book you are about to enjoy is an independent resource meant to supplement the original book. If you have not yet read the original book, we encourage you to before purchasing this unofficial Conversation Starters.

Light in Darkness

Or, Missions and Missionary Heroes. An Illustrated History of the Missionary Work ... Taking Up Principally the Work in India, Burmah, Siam, China ... Being a History of These Countries ... to which is Added the Adventures of Missionaries Among the Uncivilized Races of the World ...

Author: John Emory Godbey

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Missionaries

Page: 768

View: 449

A River in the Sky

Author: Elizabeth Peters

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 764

1910. Having brought Egypt firmly under her thumb, Amelia Peabody turns her attention to a harder challenge: Palestine, a province of the crumbling, corrupt Ottoman Empire and the Holy Land of three religions. Hearing that Morley, an English adventurer, has raised money to mount an expedition to search for the vanished treasures of the Temple in Jerusalem, Emerson and Amelia are persuaded to go after him in order to prevent a catastrophically inept excavation and the possibility of armed protest by the infuriated members of all three religions who view the Dome of the Rock as sacred. The War Office is concerned about increasing German influence in Palestine and insists that Morley is secretly working for German intelligence. Emerson doesn't believe it, but could he be mistaken? In the meantime, their son Ramses has been working on a dig at Samaria, north of Jerusalem, where he encounters an unusual party of travellers. One is a female German archaeologist, and the other a mysterious man of unknown nationality and unknown past. Ramses's insatiable curiosity leads him to a startling discovery about the pair. He must now pass the information on to his parents in Jerusalem - but only if he can get there alive...

A River in the Trees

Author: Jacqueline O'Mahony

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 182

Two women. Two stories. One hundred years of secrets. A sweeping novel of love, loss, family and history for readers who love Maggie O'Farrell, John Boyne and Donal Ryan 'Thrilling, thoughtful, passionate' Daily Mail 'Beautiful, unsentimental, intelligent' The Times 1919 Ireland is about to be torn apart by the War of Independence. Hannah O'Donovan helps her father hide rebel soldiers in the attic, putting her family in great danger from the British soldiers who roam the countryside. An immediate connection between Hannah and O'Riada, the leader of this hidden band of rebels, will change her life and that of her family forever . . . 2019 Ellen is at a crossroads: her marriage is in trouble, her career is over and she's grieving the loss of a baby. After years in London, she decides to come home to Ireland to face the things she's tried so hard to escape. Reaching into the past, she feels a connection to her ancestor, the mysterious Hannah O'Donovan. But why won't anyone in her family talk about Hannah? And how can this journey help Ellen put her life back together? 'A gripping novel about two women, their desires and frustrations, about the wars they find themselves fighting . . . a thrill to discover' Belinda McKeon 'A fierce, beautifully written story' Louise O'Neill

Folk-etymology

A Dictionary of Verbal Corruptions Or Words Perverted in Form Or Meaning, by False Derivation Or Mistaken Analogy

Author: Abram Smythe Palmer

Publisher: London, G. Bell and sons

ISBN:

Category: English language

Page: 664

View: 870

The Life of Col. John Charles Fremont

And His Narrative of Explorations and Adventures, in Kansas, Nebraska, Oregon and California

Author: John Charles Frémont

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: America

Page: 493

View: 887

This memoir explores the life of Colonel John Charles Fremont.?

Oliver Optic's Magazine

Our Boys and Girls

Author: Oliver Optic

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Children's periodicals, American

Page:

View: 824

The Century Dictionary and Cyclopedia

An Encyclopedic Lexicon of the English Language and a Pronouncing and Etymological Dictionary of Names in Geography, Biography, Mythology, History, Art, Etc., Together with Atlas of the World

Author: William Dwight Whitney

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Biography

Page:

View: 368