A Nice Cup of Tea

Author: Anthony Gilbert

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 577

'No author is more skilled at making a good story seem brilliant' Sunday Express When Alice Hunter's mother dies, after grimly clinging on for eighty-odd years, it is enough for genteel Alice just to be free. But she soon becomes lonely, having few points of contact with the people in the cheap boarding houses which are all she can afford. Then comes news of a legacy, and Alice's soul rises as she travels to the family's lawyers in Bath. Her new life is not what she expects, however, and she is lost in a fog of human misunderstanding, hatred and deceit. A nice cup of tea, stirred by detective Arthur Crook, is what she will need to put things right . . .

A Nice Cup of Tea

Author: Celia Imrie

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 591

The witty and enchanting fourth novel from the well-loved actress and Sunday Times-bestselling author of Not Quite Nice and Nice Work (If You Can Get It) follows the hilarious antics of a group of retired expats in the South of France The beautiful town of Bellevue-sur-Mer, tucked between glitzy Monte Carlo and the plush red carpets of Cannes, is home to Theresa, Carol, William, Benjamin and Sally: five retired expats who have pooled their resources to set up La Mosaïque, a divine little restaurant. But there is trouble in paradise: the friends are desperately struggling to make ends meet, and when the much hoped for sale of their Picasso mosaic falls through they realise it will take every bit of their talent and gumption to save La Mosaïque. But with fussy customers, obnoxious cruise parties and a failing delivery van, it's certainly not going to be easy. On top of this, Theresa and Sally have their own distractions. Theresa's teenage granddaughter has gone missing, and the chap she's run off with sounds distinctly unsavoury; plus she's getting mysterious phone calls, and the strong sense that someone's watching her. Meanwhile, Sally's run into the Markhams: a grisly husband and wife pair of luvvies from her acting days, whose jibes are enough to send her on an ill-advised search for the limelight...

Tea

A Very British Beverage

Author: Paul Chrystal

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 96

View: 198

The ubiquitous cup of tea is as much a part of British life as indifferent weather, the BBC or the queue at the post office. Look at the facts: we Britons drink 62 billion cups per year; 70 per cent of the population (over age ten) drank tea yesterday; over 25 per cent of milk consumed in the UK goes into your cup of tea. Tea, since its arrival here in the seventeenth century, has shaped our lives, our history, our work, our culture and even our bodies. Not surprisingly for a drink that we take throughout the day, every day, there is a fascinating story to tell about its origins and how it took Britain by storm to become our second most-popular beverage after tap water. This book begins with the early history of tea and goes on to chart its development as something quintessentially British with it slowly but surely insinuating itself into our culture, language and society. Our loss of the American colonies, the Opium Wars, female emancipation and victory in the Second World War all owe something to a nice cup of tea. Tea is synonymous with Britain. The story of our intimate relationship with tea is in effect the social history of Britain, reflecting aspects of the nation's trade, manners, fashion, art, drinking habits, industrial legislation, foreign policy, and its health. Like Samuel Johnson, we just can't get enough of it: 'You cannot make tea so fast as I can gulp it down.' So, put the kettle on, and read the amazing tale of tea …

Basics Film-Making 02: Screenwriting

Author: Robert Edgar

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Photography

Page: 208

View: 615

Basics Film-Making: Screenwriting is the second in the Basics Film-Making series and is aimed both at students on film production courses, as well as those wishing to write a short film. The book teaches the key elements of screenwriting through examining areas such as dialogue, sound, setting, shots and structure. It also provides advice to new film-makers on how to market their productions. This is an essential guide to screenwriting and will teach you to write and produce artistically satisfying shorts.

Out of My Mind

A Collection of Narratives

Author: Martha B. Wood

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 200

View: 347

OUT OF MY MIND is a delightful, eclectic collection of engaging narratives by author Martha Wood. These were developed as the author’s mind was, as she puts it, “Set free to play.” Written in short story style, some of the anecdotes are amusing, as in Funny Names, or Things I Always Wanted to Do, But Thank God I Haven’t; some serious like It Shouldn’t Hurt..., or The N Word; some fictional such as Elizabeth, the Queen, or Treasures from the Attic; some poignant as in No One Ever Says, “Hi,” or Where Sorrow and Gladness Meet; while yet others are instructive like Dealing with the Odor, and Until We Eat Again. For a little mystery, there is The Gunslinger, and Congratulations on a Dedicated Life. All, though, give voice to thoughts set free and permitted expression.

Traveling with Philosophes

Author: Ken Ewell

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 572

View: 467

Join a fellow traveler on a walkabout through Paris and London, and then travel with him across England, Scotland and Wales. After those walkabouts, accompany him as he journeys across America and follows the equator to Australia. Finally, wander with him along the corridors of modern and postmodern philosophy, and as he travels with old and new Philosophes, who all voiced an opinion as regards this travel book. It is a book that people won't buy, won't read and won't praise. Mark Twain After reading only a few pages, I gave up the study of philosophy forever. Voltaire I cannot look upon the book without shedding tears. Bertrand Russell If I could only make a travel book like that, I would be perfectly willing to die-even anxious. John Dewey I have seen a great many travel books in my time, but none that this one reminds me of. Will Durant This travel book is one-third fabrication, one-third prevarication and one-third barefaced lies. However, the rest of the book is the unadulterated truth. Dr. Morris A. Nussbaum

Eating for Britain

Author: Simon Majumdar

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 384

View: 218

'Who are these people? Look at what they eat.' Simon Majumdar travels the country to find out what British food -- from Arbroath Smokies to Welsh rarebit to chicken tikka masala -- reveals about British identity. Exploring the history of British food, he celebrates the wealth of fare on offer today, and meets the people all over the country -- the farmers, the fishermen, the brewers, bakers and cheese makers -- who have given the British reason to love their food again. Join Simon as he becomes a judge at the Great British Pie Competition (where, to his sorrow, he ends up judging vegetarian pies), as he learns to make Balti with a true Brummie, hunts for grouse, and sees seaside rock being made in Blackpool. EATING FOR BRITAIN is an impassioned and hilarious journey into the meaning of eating British.

The Pride of the Peacock

Author: Victoria Holt

Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 747

A young woman uncovers her family's dark secrets in this mystery and her connection to a famously cursed gemstone in this Victorian gothic thriller from an internationally bestselling author To secure her inheritance, Jessica Clavering agrees to a marriage of convenience, but will her handsome new husband's desire for her ever surpass his obsession with a famously cursed opal? Raised in the shadow of her family's financial ruin, Jessica has never felt as though she fit in. When her only friend, an elderly neighbor, offers her the chance at a new life, she's eager to take it. His only condition: she must marry her son, Joss. The newlyweds inherit a fabled opal mine in Australia. It's only once they arrive on the faraway continent that Jessica starts to uncover her family's dark past and her connection to the Green Flash, an exquisite and spellbinding opal. The stone arouses a dangerous desire in anyone who sees it-even her husband. Blending historical romance with elements of the paranormal, The Pride of the Peacock is an exhilarating tale from the Queen of Gothic Romance. Fans of Susanna Kearsley, Daphne Du Maurier, and Kate Morton will be spellbound by classic story of an overseas voyage, a cursed opal, and forbidden desire. Other Titles from Victoria Holt The India Fan: Drusilla's glamorous neighbors gift her a priceless family heirloom-a beautiful fans with a terrible curse The Shivering Sands: Caroline Verlaine's sister has gone missing and no one can tell her why. The only option is to go where Roma was last seen-an estate with a deadly history. The Time of the Hunter's Moon: According to legend, a girl will see her future husband at the time of the hunter's moon. But when the handsome stranger revealed to Cordelia Grant disappears after an all-too-brief encounter, she has to wonder: Was he merely an apparition...or something more? What readers are saying about The Pride of the Peacock "The heroine is adventurous, the hero is brooding, and the twists and turns of the story are unexpected, culminating in a surprise but satisfying ending." "It's suspenseful, full of relationship tales, uplifting, and I had a hard time putting it down!" "I couldn't put it down. The twist at the end is surprising and reminiscent of Agatha Christie's style. Definitely a classic." "One of Holt's best books." "I loved this book. I have read it over and over again-along with every novel ever written by Victoria Holt!" What reviewers are saying about The Pride of the Peacock "The mysteries drew me in and kept me guessing right up to the end..."-The Good, the Bad, and the Unread "This is just story telling at its finest."-Romancing the Book What everyone is saying about the Queen of Gothic Romance Victoria Holt "Victoria Holt's writing is captivating"-Bookfoolery "She spins history with romance and intrigue and always leaves me wanting more." "Holt's stories are spell binding....page turners." "I love her books! I have read all of them again and again. She is a wonderful storyteller." "One of the supreme writers of gothic romance, a compelling storyteller whose gripping novelshave thrilled millions."-RT Book Reviews

You Never Know

Author: Isabel Huggan

Publisher: Vintage Canada

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 797

You Never Know is the new collection of stories from Isabel Huggan, author of The Elizabeth Stories. Set in Canada, Kenya and France, the tales deal with the friendship of young girls, mother-daughter relationships and unresolved feelings between men and women. From the Trade Paperback edition.