A Matter of Temptation

Author: Lorraine Heath

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 306

The handsome duke whom Victoria married is more deliciously exciting than the cold-hearted rogue she was engaged to . . . How could he possibly be the same man?

A Matter of Fate

The Concept of Fate in the Arab World as Reflected in Modern Arabic Literature

Author: Dalya Cohen-Mor

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 352

View: 489

Dalya Cohen-Mor examines the evolution of the concept of fate in the Arab world through readings of religious texts, poetry, fiction, and folklore. She contends that belief in fate has retained its vitality and continues to play a pivotal role in the Arabs' outlook on life and their social psychology. Interwoven with the chapters are 16 modern short stories that further illuminate this fascinating topic.

A Matter of Honour

Author: Jeffrey Archer

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 200

View: 180

The opening of a letter leads to a desperate chase across Europe in A Matter of Honour by Jeffrey Archer, one of the world's bestselling novelists. Adam Scott listens to the reading of his father's will, aware that the contents can only be meagre. The Colonel, after all, had nothing to leave – except a letter he had never opened himself, a letter that can only bring further disgrace to the family name. Against his mother's advice, Adam opens the letter, and immediately realizes his life can never be the same again. The contents leave him with no choice but to follow a course his father would have described as a matter of honour.

Shades of Temptation

Author: Virna DePaul

Publisher: HQN Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 971

When Special Investigations Group detective Carrie Ward is tasked with pursuing a high-profile serial killer, she must join forces with the one man she doesn't trust--Jase Tyler, a reckless senior detective who makes her heart race. Original.

As a Matter of Course

Author: Annie Payson Call

Publisher: The Floating Press

ISBN:

Category: Self-Help

Page: 118

View: 668

Think of As a Matter of Course as a philosophical manifesto for women who embrace traditional roles and values in the family and in the wider world. In this collection, the popular nineteenth-century magazine columnist Annie Payson Call addresses a broad range of issues and matters spiritual and practical in nature, issuing advice that is both thought-provoking and timeless in its wisdom.

It’S a Matter of Faith

Author: Barbara J. Tarver

Publisher: Inspiring Voices

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 76

View: 917

Does it seem to you that some Christians seem to get all the breaks and things seem to always go their way? Have you wondered why this happens to them and not you? This book explains how one person has gotten Gods attention and favor in her life and how you can get it, too. Learn how she stood in faith when everything around her looked totally impossible. See how God miraculously saved a home from foreclosure just in the nick of time. Read about the two-year journey of believing for a car that was provided the day before it was desperately needed. There are examples to follow throughout Gods Word. Find out how Abraham, Noah, Ezekiel, Daniel, and others received favor from God just by believing what God told them was the absolute truth and standing on His promises. Learn how to truly grow in faith and favor by following those examples. Philippians 4:19 says, But my God shall supply all your needs according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus. You can experience the power of prayers prayed in faith, believing and see the miraculous happen in your life. God does not exclude people. If He does it for one person, Hell do it for you.

A Matter of Life and Death

Inside the Hidden World of the Pathologist

Author: Sue Armstrong

Publisher: Canongate Books

ISBN:

Category: Science

Page: 385

View: 651

A Matter of Life and Death tells fascinating stories of mysterious illnesses and miraculous scientific breakthroughs. But it is also crammed full of extraordinary characters from the forensic anthropologist with his own Body Farm in Tennessee to the doctor who had a heart-and-lung transplant and ended up using her own lungs for research.

The Art of Temptation

Author: Lauren Royal

Publisher: Novelty Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 305

View: 398

A Top 10 Google Play Bestseller from a New York Times Bestselling Author! A double romance: Sean & Corinna + Griffin & Rachael! London, 1817: Sean Delaney has no shortage of female admirers, but all he wants is a divorce—for his sister, that is. Too bad her rotter of a husband, reclusive oil painter John Hamilton, won't consent unless Sean agrees to help him pull off a major deception. With his sister's happiness on the line, Sean has no choice. But he won't be able to do it alone... Though Lady Corinna Chase is more interested in pursuing her art than finding a husband, she can't help but take notice of the handsome Irishman who's moved in next door. When it soon becomes evident that her new neighbor isn't who he says he is, rather than expose him, she finds herself drawn into the hoax. As collaboration grows into admiration, and temptation breeds desire, Corinna faces a difficult choice: Will she abandon her artistic ambitions, or give up the man she's come to love? Meanwhile, Corinna's brother Griffin is helping their alluring cousin Rachael find her father. Thank goodness they're cousins, because Rachael has made it clear she won't ever marry one. Except...they discover she isn't actually his cousin. Good God, he's really in trouble now... BOOK DETAILS A complete, standalone story—no cliffhangers! Series: Chase Family Series: The Regency, Book 3 Style: Humorous historical romance Length: 100,000 words (about 400 standard pages) Bonus Material: Author’s Note, preview of next book, link to giveaway R-rated Content: Steamy love scenes!* * If you’d prefer to read a Sweet & Clean (kisses-only) version of this story, look for “Corinna” by Lauren Royal & Devon Royal. AWARDS • Top 10 Bestseller on Google Play, Kindle, Nook, and iBooks • Nominated for the Reviewer's Choice Award at SingleTitles.com REVIEWS "A captivating historical romance. Fans of Julia Quinn and Tessa Dare will love Lauren Royal!" —Glynnis Campbell, USA Today Bestselling Author "Royal adds her hallmark spark of humor to a delightful story of mistaken identity that turns into a charming comedy of errors..…let the mayhem and delicious madness begin!" —Romantic Times "…a story that will easily steal your heart…delightful, delicious, and glorious reading...Lauren Royal shines on every page!" —Romance Junkies CONNECTING BOOKS While THE ART OF TEMPTATION can be read as a stand-alone novel, many readers enjoy reading it as part of a series. All of Lauren's books feature Chase family members. Should you wish to read them in chronological order, this is the sequence: Chase Family Series: The Jewels 1666 - AMETHYST (Colin & Amy) 1667 - EMERALD (Jason & Caithren) 1667 - FOREVERMORE (Cameron & Clarice) 1668 - AMBER (Trick & Kendra) Chase Family Series: The Flowers 1673 - VIOLET (Ford & Violet) 1677 - LILY (Rand & Lily) 1677 - ROSE (Kit & Rose) 1651 - A SECRET CHRISTMAS (Joseph & Chrystabel) Chase Family Series: The Regency 1815 - LOST IN TEMPTATION (Tristan & Alexandra) 1816 - TEMPTING JULIANA (James & Juliana) 1817 - THE ART OF TEMPTATION (Sean & Corinna + Griffin & Rachael) Specially Priced Boxed Sets CHASE FAMILY SERIES: THE JEWELS COLLECTION CHASE FAMILY SERIES: THE FLOWERS COLLECTION CHASE FAMILY SERIES: THE REGENCY COLLECTION _______ Themes: steamy love stories, lords and ladies, noblemen and aristocrats, castles and stately homes, England and English history, Irishmen and Ireland, 19th century and 1800s, Jane Austen era, brothers and sisters, family life, weddings and marriage, cross-class romantic comedy, commoners and debutantes, the London season, scandal and intrigue, mistaken identity, con artists, landscape painting and portraiture, sweets and desserts, baking and cooking recipes

The Weight of Temptation

Author: Ana Mara Shua

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 200

View: 308

Dystopian fantasy, political parable, morality tale—however one reads it, this novel is first and foremost pure Ana María Shua, a work of fiction like no other and a dark pleasure to read. Shua, an Argentinian writer widely celebrated throughout Latin America, frames her complex drama in deceptively simple, straightforward prose. The story takes place at a fat farm called The Reeds, a nightmare world that might not exist but certainly could. The last resort of the overweight wealthy (or sponsored), The Reeds subjects its “campers” to extreme measures—particularly the regimented system of public humiliation imposed by its director, a glib and sharp-minded sadist called the Professor. Into the midst of this methodical madness comes Marina Rubin, who experiences all the excesses of The Reeds. The pervasive cruelty of this refined novel distances it from facile conclusions. Amid the mordant social satire, The Reeds’ obese campers are far more than merely victims of the system, subjected to impossible social demands for physical perfection. Out of control, fierce, rebellious, or subjugated, they are recognizable human beings, contending with an unjust but efficient authority in their unique and solitary ways.