A Magical Racquet Ride

Journey to the Four Grand Slam Tournaments of Tennis

Author: Marissa Irvin Gould

Publisher: CreateSpace

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 32

View: 263

**The recipient of a prestigious Mom's Choice Award** With a little world geography and a whole lot of tennis mixed together, kids and parents alike will fall in love with tennis for the first time, or all over again. A fantasy-adventure picture book that both boys and girls will want to read time after time, while they learn about tennis and its truly international appeal. Readers of all ages will be delighted by this brightly illustrated, rhyming story of magical tennis racquets escorting twins across the globe to glamorous tennis ports of call--New York, London, Paris, and Melbourne. Written by a former tennis professional, Marissa Irvin Gould, has played the sport at the highest level-- winning matches at all four Grand Slam events. She is also a mother of three young children and an elementary school teacher with a passion for learning. Don't be surprised if after reading this book, kids are clamoring for a new racquet, and a chance to get outside and play tennis for themselves.

The racquet

or, Viajes por America lejana by César-Agosto Villaseñor M. (as translated from the Spanish)

Author: George Hitchcock

Publisher: Story Line Pr

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 221

View: 436

Mexican tennis player Cesar-Agosto Villasenor embarks on an unexpected adventure when he decides to follow the west coast from Canada to Tijuana and work odd jobs at tennis clubs along the way

New York Magazine

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 132

View: 412

New York magazine was born in 1968 after a run as an insert of the New York Herald Tribune and quickly made a place for itself as the trusted resource for readers across the country. With award-winning writing and photography covering everything from politics and food to theater and fashion, the magazine's consistent mission has been to reflect back to its audience the energy and excitement of the city itself, while celebrating New York as both a place and an idea.

Ski

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 160

View: 408

New York Magazine

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 146

View: 890

New York magazine was born in 1968 after a run as an insert of the New York Herald Tribune and quickly made a place for itself as the trusted resource for readers across the country. With award-winning writing and photography covering everything from politics and food to theater and fashion, the magazine's consistent mission has been to reflect back to its audience the energy and excitement of the city itself, while celebrating New York as both a place and an idea.

Torrent of Love

Author: Marianna Essex

Publisher: Signet Book

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 184

View: 916

Sports Geek

A visual tour of sporting myths, debate and data

Author: Rob Minto

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 192

View: 715

Sport revolves around two things: narrative and numbers. You need the narrative, otherwise why would anyone care about sport? Rivalries, emotions, and sporting legends all require it. But sport also needs numbers. Without them, we have no idea who has won. We need numbers to tell which team is top of the table, or who is the world champion. Sports Geek is a visual and numerical tour through sporting debates and ideas. Teams in all sports use data to create extraordinary analysis of how their players perform, to assess tactics and to get an edge over arch rivals; but fans are rarely presented with challenging and informative data that would help them to further understand sport. You'll never see sport the same way again.

New York Magazine

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 172

View: 239

New York magazine was born in 1968 after a run as an insert of the New York Herald Tribune and quickly made a place for itself as the trusted resource for readers across the country. With award-winning writing and photography covering everything from politics and food to theater and fashion, the magazine's consistent mission has been to reflect back to its audience the energy and excitement of the city itself, while celebrating New York as both a place and an idea.

Girl Against the Universe

Author: Paula Stokes

Publisher: HarperCollins

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 400

View: 682

From the author of The Art of Lainey and Liars, Inc. comes a fresh, contemporary story about one girl’s tragic past and a boy who convinces her that maybe her luck is about to change. Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen or Jenny Han. Maguire knows she’s bad luck. No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash—and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch. But then on her way out of her therapist’s office, she meets Jordy, an aspiring tennis star, who wants to help Maguire break her unlucky streak. Maguire knows that the best thing she can do for Jordy is to stay away, but staying away may be harder than she thought.