A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Farm...

Vignettes From a Third Generation Farm Family

Author: Sharon Wistisen

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 215

View: 579

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Farm, written by Sharon Wistisen and illustrated by Kathy Hamann, is a collection of vignettes about farm family living in Southeastern Idaho. In total, the essays tell the story, sometimes warm and thoughtful, often humorous, of a third-generation farmer-rancher who marries a California city girl. It is filled with dialogue depicting the trials and joys of working side by side with their five children – often being raised by them. It is homespun humor, insider’s wisdom, and reflections of yesteryear.

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Senility

Author: Jerry Page

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 128

View: 657

This book has been percolating in my subconscious for more than 70 years. It may have mellowed a little over the years, but has lost little of its relevance or bite. As one of the premiere procrastinators of this and over half of the last century, I put it off as long as I could but finally acquiesced and the final product is now in your hands. If not for political correctness, the book would be longer and possibly less relative. Jokes are multi-dimensional. For everyone they delight, they piss somebody off. It’s a zero-sum game and we each identify with one side or the other. I found myself single again about 4 years ago, and moved half way across the state. One of the main advantages of a major move is that a brand new audience is right at hand. Over the last few years, quite a few of my new acquaintances have been telling me that I should write a joke book, and here it is.

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the White House

Foolhardiness, Folly, and Fraud in Presidential Elections from Andrew Jackson to George W. Bush

Author: David E. Johnson

Publisher: Taylor Trade Publications

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 247

View: 263

Recounts humorous anecdotes concerning the political campaigns and elections of American presidents ranging from Andrew Jackson to George W. Bush.

Hunger and Hope

Escaping Poverty and Achieving Food Security in Developing Countries

Author: George W. Norton

Publisher: Waveland Press

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 178

View: 979

Readable, thought-provoking, and beneficial for those who want to comprehend the plight of the rural poor, Hunger and Hope examines the world of those living near, on, and over the edge of poverty in developing countries. Their aspirations, struggles, and daily challenges are revealed with compassion and genuine understanding of the risks they face to sustain themselves and their families. The text is rich with lucid and methodical observations of the economic processes that shape agricultural development in impoverished countries. The author builds in an imaginative way on his extensive experience assisting farmers and assessing the impacts of agricultural interventions. Real-world illustrations of the policies and practices that not only create opportunities and food security but also create hardships show that, while progress has been made in reducing poverty and hunger, there is a need to do more.

A Funny Thing Happened On The Way

Discover the 1960s trend for buying land on a Greek island and building a house. How hard could it be...?

Author: Nancy Spain

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 888

The superb classic memoir from a dazzlingly eccentric and endlessly fascinating author and feminist icon - a woman very much ahead of her time - including her time spent on the glorious island of Skiathos 'A happy, hilarious book' Daily Express Nancy Spain was one of the most celebrated - and notorious - writers and broadcasters of the 50s and 60s. Witty, controversial and brilliant, she lived openly as a lesbian (sharing a household with her two lovers and their various children) and was frequently litigated against for her newspaper columns - Evelyn Waugh successfully sued her for libel... twice. Nancy Spain had a deep love of the Mediterranean. So it was no surprise when, in the 1960s, she decided to build a place of her own on the Greek island of Skiathos. With an impractical nature surpassed only by her passion for the project, and despite many obstacles, she gloriously succeeded. This classic memoir is infused with all Spain's chaotic brilliance, zest for life and single-minded pursuit of a life worth living. Perfect for fans of A PLACE IN THE SUN and ESCAPE TO THE COUNTRY 'Full of fun, and that zest of intelligence that never left her' Sunday Times

A Funny Thing Happened On the Way To Communion

Finding Subtle Humor in the Bible

Author: Dale T. Stanton

Publisher: Covenant Books, Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 74

View: 898

Is the Bible a humorous book? Probably most people wouldn’t think of it as being funny at all. Even as the Bible is regarded as the Word of God, we find considerable ungodly human activity, immorality, wars, rebellion, murder, adultery, demon possession, and just about every other facet of what we call the human condition. Yes, the Bible is full of some pretty serious and heavy stuff. In spite of all this, is there a remote possibility we might discover something amusing, something to bring a smile on our face, something that might even cause us to laugh? Author Dale Stanton says, “Yes!” In his book, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Communion, Dale explores some of the subtle, camouflaged, and elusive gems of humor in the Bible that don’t exactly leap out at you as one would find in a comic strip or a TV sitcom. These hidden treasures of humor come alive in the biblical characters themselves, revealed in all their human quirks, foibles, and idiosyncrasies, which remind us that, in many ways, these biblical personalities are just like us. Referring to many of the Scripture lessons that are read in church on Sunday morning, Dale, in his tongue-in-cheek style, brings to life this collection of inconspicuous and sometimes wry nuggets of humor that might just make you laugh.

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Stockholm

The Adrenaline Fueled Adventures of an Accidental Scientist

Author: Robert Lefkowitz

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 304

View: 698

The rollicking memoir from the cardiologist turned legendary scientist and winner of the Nobel Prize that revels in the joy of science and discovery. Like Richard Feynman in the field of physics, Dr. Robert Lefkowitz is also known for being a larger-than-life character: a not-immodest, often self-deprecating, always entertaining raconteur. Indeed, when he received the Nobel Prize, the press corps in Sweden covered him intensively, describing him as “the happiest Laureate.” In addition to his time as a physician, from being a "yellow beret" in the public health corps with Dr. Anthony Fauci to his time as a cardiologist, and his extraordinary transition to biochemistry, which would lead to his Nobel Prize win, Dr. Lefkowitz has ignited passion and curiosity as a fabled mentor and teacher. But it's all in a days work, as Lefkowitz reveals in A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Stockholm, which is filled to the brim with anecdotes and energy, and gives us a glimpse into the life of one of today's leading scientists.

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the White House

Humor, Blunders, and Other Oddities from the Presidential Campaign Trail

Author: Charles Osgood

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Humor

Page: 256

View: 203

Charles Osgood, one of America's favorite news personalities, offers a hilarious compendium of anecdotes from the last seventy years of presidential campaigns. With anecdotes from Harry Truman to JFK to George W. Bush, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the White House captures the wit and humor of the campaign trail. Culled from speeches, interviews, press conferences, as well as articles written by and about the candidates--no source is left untapped. From Bob Dole telling reporters after a loss in the primary that "I slept like a baby--every two hours I woke up and cried," and Barry Goldwater's comment that his talkative opponent Hubert Humphreys "has been clocked at 275 words a minute with gusts up to 340," to Adlai Stevenson declaring that "If I talk over the people's head, Ike must be talking under their feet," this is the go-to source for campaign humor. Just when America most needs a good laugh, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the White House makes the seemingly endless race to the presidency a lot more fun.

A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To Heaven

Author: Corey Taylor

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Music

Page: 256

View: 843

Corey Taylor has seen a lot of unbelievable things. The Grammy Award-winning singer of Slipknot and Stone Sour's curiosity has drawn him into situations that would’ve sent most people screaming scared and running for the hills. Corey’s ballsy enough to go into the darkness and deal with the consequences though. As a result, he’s seen ghosts up close and personal, whether it be while combing through an abandoned house in his native Iowa as a child or recording an album in the fabled Houdini Hollywood Hills mansion. He’s also got the memories (and scars) to prove it. For some reason, he can’t seem to shake these spectral stories, and that brings us to this little tome right here... At the same time, being an erudite, tattooed, modern Renaissance Man, he never bought into the whole God thing. Simply put, he’s seen ghosts, but he hasn’t seen Jesus. Corey especially can’t find a reason why people do the insane things they do in HIS name. That’s where everything really gets interesting. His second book, A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Heaven, compiles Corey’s most intimate, incredible, and insane moments with the supernatural. His memories are as vivid as they are vicious. As he recounts these stories, he questions the validity of religious belief systems and two-thousand-year-old dogma. As always his rapid-fire writing, razor sharp sense of humour, unbridled honesty, and cosy anecdotes make quite the case for his point. You might end up believing him or not. That’s up to you, of course. Either way, you’re in for a hell of ride.

A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to Beirut

Author: Pat Stewart

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 364

View: 613

It's hard to coach a team when your players don't show up. Mafi muscula. Hard to make air flights without reservations. Mafi muscula. Can't tape ankles without tape. Hey! Why isn't Darrin here from the States yet? Mafi Muscula. Can't understand these Hungarian menu forms...we could starve. Mafi muscula. We're almost out of tea. Muscula! In Arabic, mafi muscula means "no problem." But a better definition is probably: "no problem for ME, big problem for YOU." Saudi Arabia is where mafi musculas start, but they don't end there. From Saudi it's on to a training camp near Budapest then onward to Beruit for the basketball championships of the Eighth Pan Arab Games. Some funny things happen along the way. And there, too. These are recounted through the eyes of an American coach. They sometimes happen on the court., but more often off. Some are pretty peculiar and that's the kind of questions they raise. For example: —Was Bruce Springsteen born in Saudi Arabia? —Do you know how to properly kiss your players? —Why are Homer's underpants radioactive? —Is Martin as dead as he thinks? —Is Adel as dead as Coach tells his mom he is? —How to get a lunatic asylum airborne? —When must camels kill you? And more.