A Dream of Italy

Author: Nicky Pellegrino

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 663

'A novel about the joy of learning to live again. It also made me very hungry!' JOJO MOYES on Recipe for Life For sale: historic building in the picturesque town of Montenello, southern Italy. Asking price: 1 Euro Cloudless skies, sun-soaked countryside, delicious food... In the drowsy heat of an Italian summer, four strangers arrive in a beautiful town nestled in the mountains of Basilicata, dreaming of a new adventure. An innovative scheme by the town's Mayor has given them the chance to buy a crumbling historic building for a single Euro - on the condition that they renovate their home within three years, and help to bring new life to the close-knit local community. Elise is desperate to get on the property ladder. Edward wants to escape a life he feels suffocated by. Mimi is determined to start afresh after her divorce. And there's one new arrival whose true motives are yet to be revealed... For each of them, Montenello offers a different promise of happiness. But can they turn their dream of Italy into reality? A deliciously escapist summer read, perfect for fans of Jo Thomas.

Dreaming of Italy

Las Vegas and the Virtual Grand Tour

Author: Giovanna Franci

Publisher: University of Nevada Press

ISBN:

Category: Architecture

Page: 157

View: 522

In Dreaming of Italy, Giovanna Franci compares three Las Vegas Italian-themed resorts--Caesars Palace, Bellagio, and The Venetian--to their Italian counterparts: the ancient Forum of the Caesars, the breathtaking Lake Como resort town of Bellagio, and eternal Venice, jewel of the Adriatic. Franci not only examines architectural format and decorative details but considers how the mystique of these Italian sites has been transplanted to the Nevada desert. In the process, she addresses the compelling phenomena of modern mass tourism and postmodern travelers to whom the distinction between the real and the fake is often far less important than the appeal of a destination that allows a visitor to make a virtual Grand Tour within the confines of a single city. Franci's perceptive commentary offers unique insights into the trends and intentions behind recent development in Las Vegas. She shows how the builders of these three casinos use architectural language to unite the themes and functions of American consumer culture with the romantic mythology of some of the world's most fantastic oases of pleasure. In this context, Las Vegas emerges as far more than a popular tourist icon. It is rather the first urban spectacle of the postmodern world, a chameleon-like city continuously reinventing itself to offer visitors an unflagging array of experiences, sensations, and hedonistic delights. Federico Zignani's dazzling photographs bring to life the physical details and idyllic ambiance of the lavish Las Vegas resorts and their Italian inspirations.

Woodrow Wilson and the American Myth in Italy

Culture, Diplomacy, and War Propaganda

Author: Daniela Rossini

Publisher: Harvard University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 263

View: 149

In 1918, Wilson's image as leader of the free world and the image of America as dispenser of democracy spread through Italy, filling an ideological void. Rossini sets the Italian-American political confrontation in the context of the countries' cultural perceptions of each other, different war experiences, and ideas about participatory democracy.

The Unity of Italy

The American Celebration of the Unity of Italy, at the Academy of Music, New York, Jan. 12, 1871, with the Addresses, Letters, and Comments of the Press

Author: Italy

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Italian question, 1848-1870

Page: 197

View: 620

Nelson: A Dream of Glory

Author: John Sugden

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 976

View: 876

Nelson: A Dream of Glory is the most comprehensive and thoroughly researched account ever written of Horatio Nelson's rise to international fame. Giving us the private as well as the public man, it combines ground-breaking scholarship with a brilliantly vivid and compelling style.

America, the Dream of My Life

Selections from the Federal Writers' Project's New Jersey Ethnic Survey

Author: David Steven Cohen

Publisher: Rutgers University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 295

View: 630

This selection is the first statewide collection of life histories from the Social-Ethnic Studies program of the Federal Writers's Project. They represent for ethnic history what the more famous Federal Writers' Project's Slave Narratives have meant for African-American history.

Italy in the Making June 1846 to 1 January 1848

Author: G. F.-H. Berkeley

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 422

View: 266

This book examines the movement towards Italian nationality and independence during the period between June 1846 and January 1848.

From the Industrial Revolution to World War II in East Central Europe

Author: Marija Wakounig

Publisher: LIT Verlag Münster

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 258

View: 934

The Centers for Austrian Studies - founded by the Austrian Federal Ministry for Science and Research - play an important role for the international scientific community. Their tasks are to promote studies on Austria and Central Europe, and to give Austrian students the opportunity to conduct research abroad and make contact with local scientific communities. This book contains reports on the activities of these institutions during the 2010/2011 academic year, as well as the working papers developed by some of their most promising PhD students. The research presented in this book covers various aspects of Central European history in modern times, ranging from the 17th century to the present. (Series: Europa Orientalis - Vol. 12)

The Dream of Reason: A History of Philosophy from the Greeks to the Renaissance

Author: Anthony Gottlieb

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN:

Category: Philosophy

Page: 469

View: 883

"His book...supplant[s] all others, even the immensely successful History of Western Philosophy by Bertrand Russell."—A. C. Grayling Already a classic in its first year of publication, this landmark study of Western thought takes a fresh look at the writings of the great thinkers of classic philosophy and questions many pieces of conventional wisdom. The book invites comparison with Bertrand Russell's monumental History of Western Philosophy, "but Gottlieb's book is less idiosyncratic and based on more recent scholarship" (Colin McGinn, Los Angeles Times). A New York Times Notable Book, a Los Angeles Times Best Book, and a Times Literary Supplement Best Book of 2001.

Margaret Percival in America

Author: Everett Hale Edward Everett Hale

Publisher: Applewood Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 284

View: 356