A Cornish Christmas Carol

Author: Liz Fenwick

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 765

A Cornish Christmas Carol is a festive delight to enjoy with a hot cup of mulled wine, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Karen Swan. Joy to the world? Not if Abigail Scorrier has anything to do with it. She's spent most of her adult life trying to avoid the festive frenzy. She loved Christmas as a child in Cornwall: the colourful stockings hanging above a crackling fire, the excitement of what will be waiting for her the next morning. But ever since her life took a heart-breaking turn, she's buried those memories and done everything she can to avoid her past, her family and most of all, the Christmas season. But on Christmas Eve, Abigail will have three visitors she can't ignore, and what they reveal about her past, present and future might just change her life - and mend her heart... Your favourite authors love A Cornish Christmas Carol! 'Lock yourself in, break out the mulled wine and mince pies and fall into this lovely Christmas story' Milly Johnson 'A magical, heartrending take on A Christmas Carol. I loved it!' Julia Williams 'This heart-warming festive tale is about the true meaning of Christmas: loved ones, family and coming home' Cathy Bramley 'Both heart-warming and poignant, a wonderful tale about the power of Christmas, and all that it means' Fiona Harper 'A moving Christmas story about love and redemption that would melt even Scrooge's heart' Phillipa Ashley

A Cornish Anthology

Author: Alfred Lestie Rowe

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 300

View: 549

One Cornish Summer

The feel-good summer romance to read on holiday this year

Author: Liz Fenwick

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 644

'One Cornish Summer captured my heart and didn't let it go until long after I'd finished it. A heart rending story about secrets, lies and the power of love' Cathy Bramley Against the beauty of Cornwall, a story of two women struggling with their past: one cannot remember hers, the other cannot forget... When Hebe receives a life-changing diagnosis at only 53, she struggles to make sense of what it will mean for her, her job and the man she loves. With memories slipping away by the day, she flees to the one place she has always felt safe and peaceful - Cornwall, and the house her family spent so many summers in. Lucy is having her own crisis, and seizes the chance to follow her aunt to Cornwall. Curious about what has driven Hebe there after so many years, she also has to battle with the secret she has kept since her family's last summer there more than ten years ago. Both women will learn that memories live in our hearts and that sharing secrets can set you free... But can they find their way back to the things that are truly important to them? The perfect escapist read for fans of Rachel Hore, Lucinda Riley and Karen Swan. 'Full of warmth, wisdom and compassion...Liz Fenwick's writing is vivid, satisfying and descriptive' Daily Express 'A moving and heart-felt story' The Lady 'Fenwick brings us her best novel yet in One Cornish Summer as she casts her humane and discerning eye over family bonds, relationships, the nature of love, and the power of the landscape to inspire, console and renew... Immaculately researched and emotionally astute, this is a fabulous holiday read with heart, drama, history and humour' Lancashire Post ***** Readers are enchanted by One Cornish Summer: 'A joy to read' 'Once more Liz has transported me to my favourite place in Cornwall to walk side by side with her characters...A perfect read in any season!' 'Wonderful characters, secrets and romance...hard to put down' 'Simply outstanding...a story that will carry you away' 'Liz Fenwick has done it again...A must read' 'Characters who become part of your life in a beautiful, evocative setting' 'Love, relationships, and secrets...a sublime read which is cleverly crafted, intricately researched and beautifully written' 'This book will always be a very special one for me' 'Absolutely perfect Cornish read' 'What a heartwarming but heartbreaking story'

D.H. Lawrence, Music and Modernism

Author: Susan Reid

Publisher: Springer

ISBN:

Category: LITERARY CRITICISM

Page: 243

View: 222

This first book-length study of D. H. Lawrence's lifelong engagement with music surveys his extensive musical interests and how these permeate his writing, while also situating Lawrence within a growing body of work on music and modernism. A twin focus considers the music that shaped Lawrence's novels and poetry, as well as contemporary developments in music that parallel his quest for new forms of expression. Comparisons are made with the music of Debussy, Schoenberg, Stravinsky, Wagner, and British composers, including Bax, Holst and Vaughan Williams, and with the musical writings of Forster, Hardy, Hueffer (Ford), Nietzsche and Pound. Above all, by exploring Lawrence and music in historical context, this study aims to open up new areas for study and a place for Lawrence within the field of music and modernism.

The Returning Tide

Author: Liz Fenwick

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 855

Two sisters and one betrayal that will carry across generations . . . In wartime Cornwall, 1943, a story between two sisters begins - the story of Adele and Amelia, and the heart-breaking betrayal that will divide them forever. Decades later, the efforts of one reckless act still echo - but how long will it be until their past returns? The Returning Tide will sweep you away to the beautiful Cornish coast, full of secrets and mystery, and will be loved by fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

A Collection of Christmas Carols

Author: Benjamin Bloomfield

Publisher: Benjamin Bloomfield

ISBN:

Category: Music

Page: 210

View: 950

A Collection of over 150 Christmas Carols arranged for voice or piano. MIDI files for each song, as well as a PDF of the entire manuscript is available here:http://acollectionofchristmascarols.comThe entire list of carols is as follows:Ad cantus lætitiæAdeste FidelesAll my heart this night rejoicesAlma Redemptoris MaterAlthough at Yule it Bloweth CoolThe Angel GabrielAngels from the Realms of GloryAngels We Have Heard on HighAngelus ad VirginemAs Lately We WatchedAs With Gladness Men of OldAuld Lang SyneAve Jesu DeusAway in a MangerThe Babe of BethlehemBlessed be that Maid MarieThe Boar's Head CarolBring a Torch, Jeannette, Isabella!Carol for Christmas DayCarol for Christmas EveA Carol for Christmas EveCarol of the BellsCarol of the BirdsCarol of the ShepherdsA Child this day is bornChrist Was Born on Christmas DayChristians, Awake, Salute the Happy MornChristmas BellsChristmas DayChristmas is ComingA Christmas RoundChristmas SongChristmas Time is Come AgainChrystmasse of OldeCome Thou Long Expected JesusCome, tune your heartCome, ye loftyConditor alme siderumCongaudeat turba fideliumCorde NatusThe Coventry CarolA Cradle-Song of the Blessed VirginCreator alme siderumA day, a day of gloryDeck the HallDing Dong Merrily on HighEarth today rejoicesEs Ist Ein Ros EntsprungenThe First NoëlFlos de radice JesseThe Friendly BeastsFrom Church to ChurchFrom far awayFrom Heaven High I Come to YouFum Fum FumGaudeteGlad Christmas BellsGlorious, beauteous, golden-brightGloucestershire WassailGod loved the worldGod Rest You Merry, GentlemenGod's dear SonThe Golden CarolGood Christian Men, RejoiceGood King WenceslasHacia Belén va una burraHail! Holy Child, Lain In An Oxen MangerHark! A Herald Voice is CallingHark! The Herald Angels SingHo! Steward Bid my servantsThe Holly and the IvyHow Great Our JoyHymn for Christmas DayI Heard the Bells on Christmas DayI Saw Three ShipsIl est né le divin EnfantIn Bethlehem, that noble placeIn Dulci JubiloIn natali DominiIn terra PaxIn The Bleak Midwinter (both Darke and Holst)The IncarnationInfant Holy Infant LowlyIt Came Upon the Midnight ClearJacob's LadderJesu, hail! O God most holyJesus in the MangerJesus the Light of the WorldJingle BellsJolly Old Saint NicholasJoseph, O Dear Joseph MineJoy to the WorldKling GlöckchenLætentur CoeliLo, How a Rose E'er BloomingMake we joy now in this festThe Manger ThroneMasters in This HallMilfordMyn LykingNew Prince, New PompeNoel NouveletO Christmas TreeO Come Divine MessiahO Come, All Ye FaithfulO Come, Little ChildrenO Come, O Come, EmmanuelO Du FrohlicheO Holy NightO Little Town of BethlehemO Magnum MysteriumO TannenbaumOf the Father's Love BegottenOn Jordan's BankOn the Birthday of the LordOnce in Royal David's CityOrientis PartibusPast Three A ClockPat-a-PanPersonent HodiePuer Natus in BethlehemPuer nobis nasciturQuem PastoresRing out Wild BellsRise Up, Shepherds, And FollowRiu Riu ChiuThe Sans Day CarolThe Seven Joys of MaryShepherds! Shake Off Your Drowsy SleepShilohSilent NightSleep, Holy BabeThe Son of God is born for allStill Still StillStille NachtThe Story of the ShepherdThe Stranger StarSussex CarolSweet was the song the Virgin sungThere's a Song in the AirThis Endris NightTo us is born a little ChildTo Us This Morn a Child is BornTollite HostiasThe Truth from AboveTwas in a Cave on Christmas MornTwas in the winter coldThe Twelve Days of ChristmasUnto us is born a SonUp Good Christen Folk and ListenVeni, Veni, EmmanuelThe Virgin and ChildA Virgin UnspottedWachet AufThe Waits' SongThe Wassail SongWatchman, Tell Us of the NightWe Three Kings of Orient AreWe Wish You a Merry ChristmasThe Wexford CarolWhat Child is This?When Angelick Host EntunedWhen Christ Was Born of Mary FreeWhile Shepherds Watched Their Flocks

A Cornish Carol: A Short Story

Author: Fern Britton

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 68

View: 914

A wise and witty short story that is full of Christmas cheer from the best-selling author and TV presenter, Fern Britton.

A Cornish Carol

A Short Story

Author: Fern Britton

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Cornwall (England : County)

Page: 68

View: 383

The new wonderfully warm and witty novel from Fern Britton, the much-loved TV personality. Perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Trisha Ashley. When the residents of the Cornish seaside town of Trevay discover that their much-loved theatre is about to be taken over by coffee chain, Cafe au Lait, they are up in arms. It is up to Penny Leighton, hotshot producer and now happily married Cornish resident, to come up with a rescue plan. Armed with only her mobile phone and her contacts book, she starts to pull in some serious favours. The town is soon deluged by actors, all keen to show their support and take part in a charity season at the theatre. One of the arrivals is Jess Tate, girlfriend to TV heartthrob Ryan Hearst. His career is on the rise while hers remains resolutely in the doldrums. But when opportunity comes calling, it isn't just her career prospects that are about to change. Trevay is about to put on the show of its life - but can the villagers, and Jess, hold on to the thing they love the most?

A Handbook of the Cornish Language

Chiefly in Its Latest Stages, with Some Account of Its History and Literature

Author: Henry Jenner

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN:

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 230

View: 374

This 1904 book, by an enthusiastic promoter of Cornwall's Celtic language and heritage, was influential in the twentieth-century Cornish revival.

California Geology

Author: California. Division of Mines and Geology

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Geology

Page:

View: 866