A Brush with Death

A Penny Brannigan Mystery

Author: Elizabeth J. Duncan

Publisher: Minotaur Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 272

View: 938

When Penny Brannigan inherits a charming, old-fashioned cottage in the North Wales town of Llanelen, she soon realizes she has come into more than what real estate agents like to describe as a desirable period property: She's also acquired memories, mystery, and an unsolved, decades-old crime. As Penny sorts through the belongings of her benefactor, a deceased teacher, she comes upon a packet of letters from a promising young Liverpool artist, A. Jones, who was killed in an accident in 1970. An artist herself, Penny sets out to discover who killed this painter, and is helped by a small group of townsfolk, including her business partner, Victoria Hopkirk. While at a retrospective art exhibition in Liverpool, Penny recognizes what she believes to be a watercolor painted by Jones. But it is attributed to another artist, leading her to suspect that art theft was at the heart of the case, and that Jones's death was no accident. In her eagerly awaited sequel Duncan wonderfully revisits the bustling Welsh town and vibrant characters introduced in The Cold Light of Mourning. With its lyrical prose and tantalizing puzzle, A Brush with Death is a treat on many levels.

A Brush with Death

Author: Ali Carter

Publisher: Charnwood

ISBN:

Category: Large type books

Page: 330

View: 857

ONE CHEEKY WINK AND LORD GREENGRASS WAS FLAT OUT ON THE GROUND, DELIRIOUSLY GASPING FOR LIFE, HIS EYES FLICKERING WITH A SPARKLE OF HOPE THAT THE SHADOW ON THE WALL HAD COME TO HELP... In the village of Spire, murder is afoot. Rich landowner Alexander, 9th Earl of Greengrass, is caught with his trousers down in the village graveyard before meeting a gruesome end. Luckily, Susie Mahl happens to be on hand. With her artist's eye for detail and her curious nature, she is soon on the scent of the murderer...

A Brush with Death

Author: Jody Summers

Publisher: JS Books Publishiing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 145

"A tense and satisfying thriller that does justice to its weird and macabre premise." --KIRKUS REVIEWS A dead serial killer’s spirit longs to kill again and an artist’s canvas becomes its portal. It all started innocently enough when New Orleans painter Kira McGovern mixed some of her mother’s cremated ashes into her oil paints. Entering an altered state, she channeled key moments of her mother’s life into a breathtaking memorial work of art. Her new business, Canvas of Life, was begun, and commissions rolled in. But things get strange when Kira meets Sean Easton, a Midwestern rancher, hiding a secret of his own. Both are unprepared for the horrific terrors that emerge with every brush stroke from an unexpected new commission. Even as the pair fall for each other, the evil in the painting grows more malevolent. Soon, the awakened entity isn’t satisfied to just flood Kira’s dreams with blood and murder. It wants her as its next victim. Can Kira and Sean unmask the horror—and stop Kira becoming its next possession—before it’s too late? A fascinating blend of TV’s Supernatural with a touch of paranormal romance, A Brush with Death’s dab of Stephen King-like creepiness will keep you up reading long into the night. Follow Kira's and Sean's mysterious brushes with supernatural evil in the next book in the series, A Brush with Fire.

A Brush with Death (Bob Skinner series, Book 29)

Author: Quintin Jardine

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 940

When millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned, Scotland's toughest cop is called in to solve the high-profile case... Skinner joins his old team in a complex murder investigation in the twenty-ninth gripping mystery in Quintin Jardine's bestselling crime series. Praise for Jardine's compelling novels: 'A masterclass in how murder-mysteries ought to be written' Scots Magazine When millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned at his Ayrshire mansion, Police Scotland has a tough case on its hands. Speight was a champion boxer with national hero status, and a long list of lovers and friends stand to benefit from his estate. Did one of them decide to speed things up? Or was jealousy or rivalry the motive? The Security Service wants to stay close to the investigation and they have just the man to send in: ex-Chief Constable Bob Skinner. Skinner might have retired from the police, but solving crimes is in his blood. Combining forces with DI Lottie Mann and DS Dan Provan of Serious Crimes, he's determined to see Speight's murderer put away for a long time. But there's a twist even Bob Skinner couldn't see coming... 'Well constructed, fast-paced, Jardine's narrative has many an ingenious twist and turn' Observer

A Brush with Death

Author: Joan Smith

Publisher: Belgrave House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 974

Cassie Newton once again joins forces with John Weiss, an investigator for Lloyds of London, when he shows up in Montreal on the track of ten fake Van Gogh paintings. The forger is murdered, with the cast of suspects including Hot Buns, a museum curator and a sheik. Along with the luxury and excitement she craves, Cassie finds herself facing deadly danger. Contemporary Romantic Suspense by Joan Smith; originally published by Jove

A Brush With Death

Art of the Dead Series

Author: Summers Jody

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 400

View: 206

A Brush With Death First in the Art of the Dead Series Evil Comes Alive When She Paints With Ashes of the Dead. A dead serial killer's spirit longs to kill again and an artist's canvas becomes its portal. It all started innocently enough when New Orleans painter Kira McGovern mixed some of her mother's cremated ashes into her oil paints. Entering an altered state, she channeled key moments of her mother's life into a breathtaking memorial work of art. Her new business, Canvas of Life, was begun, and commissions rolled in. But things get strange when Kira meets Sean Easton, a Midwestern rancher, hiding a secret of his own. Both are unprepared for the horrific terrors that emerge with every brush stroke from an unexpected new commission. Even as the pair fall for each other, the evil in the painting grows more malevolent. Soon, the awakened entity isn't satisfied to just flood Kira's dreams with blood and murder. It wants her as its next victim. Can Kira and Sean unmask the horror--and stop Kira becoming its next possession--before it's too late?

Brush with Death, A

An Artist in the Death Camps

Author: Morris Wyszogrod

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 254

View: 443

The author recounts his experiences during the Holocaust.

A Brush with Death

A classic murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie

Author: Richard King

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 507

Sam Wiseman is back to investigate murder and mystery in Montreal! For fans of Agatha Christie and M.C. Beaton, A Brush With Death is the second book in The Bookshop Mysteries series. When a famous author is murdered, bookshop owner and wannabe sleuth, Sam Wiseman, once again finds himself drawn into the investigation. Reuniting with Detective Gaston Lemieux, it seems that the investigative duo have their work cut out, and as they delve deeper into the case, they uncover criminals who will do anything to protect their secrets . . . Praise for Richard King: 'The plot is pure whodunnit.' The Globe and Mail 'crisply written and captivating in its plot twists.' Times Colonist ' . . . keeps its reader guessing until the very end. The books grabs hold of the reader's attention quickly and never lets go. It remains engaging, fast-paced and finely written throughout.' The Chronicle-Herald

A Brush with Death

Author: Mark Gentry

Publisher: Tate Publishing & Enterprises

ISBN:

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 280

View: 557

"At that moment, Albert burst excitedly through the front door. Jake grabbed for the pistol, and Ellen instinctively drew it back toward her with both hands. She was looking directly into Albert's adoring eyes when the joy of the moment was shattered by the crushing blast of the big forty-four." Twelve-year-old Mark spends a summer with his grandparents where he learns about his rich family heritage. He did not know he had an appointment with destiny that would change his life and inspire him to write his family history. He wondered, "How may people have experienced a brush with death to enable me to survive in peace and write the story of my family?"

Merryll Manning: A Brush with Death

Author: John Howard Reid

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 200

View: 558

"A Brush with Death" takes former police detective, Merryll Manning, from his usual haunts in Miami, Florida, to "Allmiston," a leading city in Colorado, where Manning obtains a job with Security at the city's Art Gallery for the duration of a Rembrandt Exhibition. A leading art thief, self-styled Rob Roy, threatens to steal at least one of the Rembrandts. Presumably, he is already employed at the Gallery. But who is he? Or she? Other factions are also at work. Manning and other members of the staff are threatened. A security guard is killed, a religious bigot goes on the rampage, and the skirt-chasing Manning ends up in court! This is the first USA and Canadian printing of a book originally published in Britain, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, India and South Africa in 1999. "Reid's plots are cleverly constructed and he provides a colorful parade of characters." (Sunday Mail). "Totally fascinating!" (Sunday Telegraph). "Reid successfully foils any attempts to guess the outcome of the plot." (The Times).