A Brush with Death

A Penny Brannigan Mystery

Author: Elizabeth J. Duncan

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 258

View: 465

A sequel to The Cold Light of Mourning finds Penny Brannigan discovering in the Welsh cottage she inherited from schoolteacher Emma Teasdale a package of letters that reveal Emma's lesbian affair with a Liverpool artist who was killed in a suspicious hit-and-run accident.

A Brush with Death

Author: Ali Carter

Publisher: Oneworld Publications

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 495

Agatha Christie meets Downton Abbey in this delightful new series introducing pet portraitist and amateur super-sleuth, Susie Mahl In the village of Spire, murder is afoot. Rich landowner Alexander, 9th Earl of Greengrass is caught with his trousers down in the village graveyard before meeting a gruesome end. Luckily Susie Mahl happens to be on hand. With her artist’s eye for detail and her curious nature she is soon on the scent of the murderer...

A Brush with Death

Author: Joan Smith

Publisher: Belgrave House

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 622

Cassie Newton once again joins forces with John Weiss, an investigator for Lloyds of London, when he shows up in Montreal on the track of ten fake Van Gogh paintings. The forger is murdered, with the cast of suspects including Hot Buns, a museum curator and a sheik. Along with the luxury and excitement she craves, Cassie finds herself facing deadly danger. Contemporary Romantic Suspense by Joan Smith; originally published by Jove

Brush with Death, A

An Artist in the Death Camps

Author: Morris Wyszogrod

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 254

View: 516

The author recounts his experiences during the Holocaust.

A Brush with Death

A classic murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie

Author: Richard King

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 795

Sam Wiseman is back to investigate murder and mystery in Montreal! For fans of Agatha Christie and M.C. Beaton, A Brush With Death is the second book in The Bookshop Mysteries series. When a famous author is murdered, bookshop owner and wannabe sleuth, Sam Wiseman, once again finds himself drawn into the investigation. Reuniting with Detective Gaston Lemieux, it seems that the investigative duo have their work cut out, and as they delve deeper into the case, they uncover criminals who will do anything to protect their secrets . . . Praise for Richard King: 'The plot is pure whodunnit.' The Globe and Mail 'crisply written and captivating in its plot twists.' Times Colonist ' . . . keeps its reader guessing until the very end. The books grabs hold of the reader's attention quickly and never lets go. It remains engaging, fast-paced and finely written throughout.' The Chronicle-Herald

Merryll Manning: A Brush with Death

Author: John Howard Reid

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 200

View: 610

"A Brush with Death" takes former police detective, Merryll Manning, from his usual haunts in Miami, Florida, to "Allmiston," a leading city in Colorado, where Manning obtains a job with Security at the city's Art Gallery for the duration of a Rembrandt Exhibition. A leading art thief, self-styled Rob Roy, threatens to steal at least one of the Rembrandts. Presumably, he is already employed at the Gallery. But who is he? Or she? Other factions are also at work. Manning and other members of the staff are threatened. A security guard is killed, a religious bigot goes on the rampage, and the skirt-chasing Manning ends up in court! This is the first USA and Canadian printing of a book originally published in Britain, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, India and South Africa in 1999. "Reid's plots are cleverly constructed and he provides a colorful parade of characters." (Sunday Mail). "Totally fascinating!" (Sunday Telegraph). "Reid successfully foils any attempts to guess the outcome of the plot." (The Times).

Brush with Death

A Social History of Lead Poisoning

Author: Christian Warren

Publisher: JHU Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 362

View: 390

"In this highly engaging study, Christian Warren develops a broad critique of the lead industries, gas and paint manufacturers, and the scientific authorities who, for the most part, worked for them in the twentieth century." -- Journal of American History

A Brush with Death

Author: Sheila Pim

Publisher: Rue Morgue

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 155

View: 948

You can fool Art experts but not An Irish gardener with An eye for details. Hester Fenneily's brother Fergus, An Artist with great skill And few Sales, Appears to be The victim of a poisoner. But who would do it & how is the posioned being Administered.

A Brush with Death

Author: Tom Howard

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Australian fiction

Page: 184

View: 204

A Brush with Death (Bob Skinner series, Book 29)

Author: Quintin Jardine

Publisher: Headline

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 315

When millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned, Scotland's toughest cop is called in to solve the high-profile case... Skinner joins his old team in a complex murder investigation in the twenty-ninth gripping mystery in Quintin Jardine's bestselling crime series. Praise for Jardine's compelling novels: 'A masterclass in how murder-mysteries ought to be written' Scots Magazine When millionaire Leo Speight is found poisoned at his Ayrshire mansion, Police Scotland has a tough case on its hands. Speight was a champion boxer with national hero status, and a long list of lovers and friends stand to benefit from his estate. Did one of them decide to speed things up? Or was jealousy or rivalry the motive? The Security Service wants to stay close to the investigation and they have just the man to send in: ex-Chief Constable Bob Skinner. Skinner might have retired from the police, but solving crimes is in his blood. Combining forces with DI Lottie Mann and DS Dan Provan of Serious Crimes, he's determined to see Speight's murderer put away for a long time. But there's a twist even Bob Skinner couldn't see coming... 'Well constructed, fast-paced, Jardine's narrative has many an ingenious twist and turn' Observer