A Brush with Blood

Author: Vincent Carron

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 504

View: 649

A thought-provoking and erotic novel set during a five year period of the French Revolution. It tells the story of Alexandre Lemierre, an artist and political satirist who worked for such infamous men as Desmoulins, Danton and Robespierre, the instigators and leaders of the 'Reign of Terror'. He was one of the 'spin-doctors' of his day whose images weren't only pornographic in the literal sense but helped incite people to acts of horrific brutality. Nevertheless, in this book, all his loves are laid bare along with his many doubts and fears. It endeavours to show through his relationship with four sisters how even those of a sensitive and humane disposition can become instrumental in promoting events which would otherwise be repugnant to them.

A Brush with Blood (the Clan-Vampire Clash

Book Three)

Author: Betsy Flak

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 649

He's repressing his feelings to keep her safe. She's reeling from betrayal. When vampires target her and her latent power, he'll have to fight both vampires and his own heart.Lila's sophomore year has taken a dark turn. Her popular best friend has deserted her, as has handsome crush Gabe. Her grades are so bad that she might lose her scholarship and be forced to leave Eversfield Preparatory Academy. Unknown to her, an undead evil hunts her and her building power.Nightmares of Lila dying haunt vampire hunter Gabe, tormenting him each night. He gave up the girl of his dreams to keep her and the rest of his classmates alive, but the senior wonders if that was a mistake. When an unknown magic alerts him that Lila is in danger, it no longer matters. He needs to find her. He needs to save her.With the clock ticking, Gabe races to find Lila. With the clock ticking, Lila fights back. Who will survive? And who will meet a bloodcurdling end?A Brush with Blood is the third book in The Clan-Vampire Clash YA paranormal fantasy series. If you like fierce heroes and heroines, heart-stopping action, and tender romance, then you'll love Betsy Flak's enthralling novel.Buy A Brush with Blood to slash your sword through evil today!

A Brush with Death

A classic murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie

Author: Richard King

Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 203

Sam Wiseman is back to investigate murder and mystery in Montreal! For fans of Agatha Christie and M.C. Beaton, A Brush With Death is the second book in The Bookshop Mysteries series. When a famous author is murdered, bookshop owner and wannabe sleuth, Sam Wiseman, once again finds himself drawn into the investigation. Reuniting with Detective Gaston Lemieux, it seems that the investigative duo have their work cut out, and as they delve deeper into the case, they uncover criminals who will do anything to protect their secrets . . . Praise for Richard King: 'The plot is pure whodunnit.' The Globe and Mail 'crisply written and captivating in its plot twists.' Times Colonist ' . . . keeps its reader guessing until the very end. The books grabs hold of the reader's attention quickly and never lets go. It remains engaging, fast-paced and finely written throughout.' The Chronicle-Herald

Blood Feather

Author: Don Bendell

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 364

From the author of Strongheart comes an all new Western adventure... ONE CRAVES BLOOD… His name is We Wiyake, meaning “Blood Feather.” He stalks the mountains and fields, searching for prey in both the native world and the white world. Killing is the one thing that makes him feel alive. But he does more than just kill—he eats his victims’ hearts and leaves a blood-soaked feather on their faces. …THE OTHER JUSTICE. The only person who can track Blood Feather is Joshua Strongheart, a man who was a mentor to one of the monster’s victims. But Blood Feather won’t be taken easily—he can see that Strongheart is his ultimate prey. To consume his heart would give him more power than ever. Luckily, killing a man like Joshua Strongheart is no easy task…

Brush with Death

A Social History of Lead Poisoning

Author: Christian Warren

Publisher: JHU Press

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 362

View: 525

During the twentieth century, lead poisoning killed thousands of workers and children in the United States. Thousands who survived lead poisoning were left physically crippled or were robbed of mental faculties and years of life. In Brush with Death, social historian Christian Warren offers the first comprehensive history of lead poisoning in the United States. Focusing on lead paint and leaded gasoline, Warren distinguishes three primary modes of exposure—occupational, pediatric, and environmental. This threefold perspective permits a nuanced exploration of the regulatory mechanisms, medical technologies, and epidemiological tools that arose in response to lead poisoning. Today, many children undergo aggressive "deleading" treatments when their blood-lead levels are well below the average blood-lead levels found in urban children in the 1950s. Warren links the repeated redefinition of lead poisoning to changing attitudes toward health, safety, and risk. The same changes that transformed the social construction of lead poisoning also transformed medicine and health care, giving rise to modern environmentalism and fundamentally altered jurisprudence.

Blood Family

Author: Anne Fine

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 226

Edward is four years old when he is locked away with his mother by her abusive, alcoholic partner, Harris. By the time an elderly neighbour spots his pale face peering through a crack in the boarded-up window and raises the alarm, he is seven. Rescue comes, but lasting damage has been done. Sent to live with a kindly foster family, and then adopted, Edward struggles to adapt to normal life. Even as a teenager it’s still clear to his new family and schoolmates there’s something odd about him. Then one fateful day, Edward catches a glimpse of himself in a photograph. What he sees shocks him to the core – a vision of Harris. Was this monster his father all along? And does that mean that, deep down, another Harris is waiting to break out? Every step of progress Edward has made swiftly begins to unravel, and he has to decide whether his blood will determine his future.

A Brush with Passion: a Trilogy—Book Two—Diamonds and Sand

A Historical Novel About Gustav Klimt and Adele Bloch-Bauer

Author: Joan Kelley

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 654

View: 546

Diamonds and Sand Adele Bloch-Bauer (1882-1925) did not seek fame—but acclaimed and passionate artist Gustav Klimt (1862-1918) thrust her into the public’s eye by painting two portraits that assured her lasting admiration and speculation. Both portraits were commissioned by her wealthy industrialist husband—and each illustrated different, almost contradictory views of the intellectually curious, mysterious woman. As a child, Adele escaped the rules of a repressive Vienna in the last decades of the 19th century, by conjuring a secret tunnel that gave life to her fantasies. Only when she began sitting for Klimt’s portrait of her did her fantasies slide into reality, bringing both blinding ecstasy and paralyzing guilt. Her journey is intriguing... Join her...

Blood Rush

The Dark History of a Vital Fluid

Author: Jan Verplaetse

Publisher: Reaktion Books

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 320

View: 836

As a young man, Jan Verplaetse saw a hare suspended from a meat hook, skinned and gutted. What struck him so forcefully at the time was not the animal itself, but the blood gently dripping from its mouth. His reaction prompted the start of a quest he undertakes in this book: to investigate our fascination with blood, the most vital of fluids. Blood Rush shows how, throughout history, blood has had the capacity to intoxicate us, to the point that we lose ourselves, whether in violence, through hunting, fighting, or killing, or in the vicarious thrill of watching sporting events, horror films, or video games. Are these feelings physical, or in our imagination? Where does the magic of blood come from? In his deeply researched and provocative narrative, Verplaetse moves from antiquity to the present, from magic to experimental psychology, from philosophy to religion and scientific discoveries, to demonstrate why blood at once attracts and repels us.

The Isle of Blood

Author: Rick Yancey

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 560

View: 745

When Dr. Warthrop goes hunting for the "Holy Grail of Monstrumology" in 1888, twelve-year-old orphan Will Henry follows him to Socotra, plunging into depths of horror worse than anything he has experienced so far.

Blood on the Rocks

Author: Priscilla Masters

Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 432

DI Joanna Piercy is not happy when she’s assigned the apparently minor case of finding a missing elderly man, but it turns out to be far more sinister . . . DI Joanna Piercy is irritated at what she perceives to be an attempt to wrap her up in cotton wool during her pregnancy when she is asked to take on the case of Zachary Foster, a missing ninety-six-year-old man suffering from dementia. Zachary has vanished from his residential care home on the edge of Leek during the night with his beloved old teddy bear. He can’t have gone far, surely, but how did a frail, elderly man manage to abscond from a secure house at night? As Joanna investigates, it soon becomes clear that this apparently minor case is far more sinister than it first appears. Could her own life, and that of her unborn child, be at risk?

AARP The Blood Pressure Cure

8 Weeks to Lower Blood Pressure without Prescription Drugs

Author: Robert E. Kowalski

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN:

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 306

View: 146

This book will help you take control of your health with a complete, tested, and proven plan for reducing blood pressure without expensive drugs or complicated lifestyle changes. The author’s unique and clinically proven program will show you how to manage blood pressure with the amino acid arginine, grape seed extract, tomato extract, cocoa, and other all-natural approaches. Kowalski’s step-by-step instructions for accurately testing blood pressure, establishing new blood pressure goals, and reaching those goals quickly will give you the opportunity to dramatically lower your blood pressure.

With One Brush

Author: Jan Dean

Publisher: Interactive Publications

ISBN:

Category: Australian poetry

Page: 87

View: 859

The act of painting takes on metaphorical significance as Dean navigates themes of creation and documentation of life through art. What emerges is a sensuously layered and intriguing meditation on the past that offers a sense of connectedness and hope for the future.