A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe

Author: Alex White

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 278

A crew of outcasts tries to find a legendary ship before it falls into the hands of those who would use it as a weapon in this science fiction adventure series for fans of The Expanse and Firefly. A washed-up treasure hunter, a hotshot racer, and a deadly secret society. They're all on a race against time to hunt down the greatest warship ever built. Some think the ship is lost forever, some think it's been destroyed, and some think it's only a legend, but one thing's for certain: whoever finds it will hold the fate of the universe in their hands. And treasure that valuable can never stay hidden for long.... Read the book that V. E. Schwab called "A clever fusion of magic and sci-fi. I was hooked from page one."

The Forgotten Planet

Author: Sewell Peaslee Wright

Publisher: eStar Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 748

I have been asked to record, plainly and without prejudice, a brief history of the Forgotten Planet.That this record, when completed, will be sealed in the archives of the Interplanetary Alliance and remain there, a secret and rather dreadful bit of history, is no concern of mine. I am an old man, well past the century mark, and what disposal is made of my work is of little importance to me. I grow weary of life and living, which is good. The fear of death was lost when our scientists showed us how to live until we grew weary of life. But I am digressing-an old man's failing.The Forgotten Planet was not always so named. The name that it once bore had been, as every child knows, stricken from the records, actual and mental, of the Universe. It is well that evil should not be remembered. But in order that this history may be clear in the centuries to come, my record should go back to beginnings.So far as the Universe is concerned, the history of the Forgotten Planet begins with the visit of the first craft ever to span the space between the worlds: the crude, adventuresome Edorn, whose name, as well as the names of the nine Zenians who manned her, occupy the highest places in the roll of honor of the Universe.

Requiem for the Sun

A New Adventure in the Symphony of Ages

Author: Elizabeth Haydon

Publisher: Tor Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 832

It all began with the nationally bestselling Elizabeth Haydon's Rhapsody Trilogy. A fellowship of three had been forged, companions brought together by fate, driven by prophecy: Rhapsody, a Singer of great talent and beauty; Achmed, an assassin with unearthly talents; and Grunthor, a giant of jolly disposition and lethal skill with weapons. The three overcame great adversity in defeating the F'dor--an ancient evil being intent on destroying the world--their battle culminating in Destiny, a thundering crescendo of tragedy, love, and triumph of the human spirit over world-shattering cataclysm. Now comes... Requiem for the Sun, Sequel to the USA Today bestselling Rhapsody Trilogy It has been three years since their devastating battle, and peace has settled across their land. But to the south an empire lies ready to crumble. When the Dowager Empress dies, along with her successor, a great war breaks out, threatening to overwhelm the known world. And an old nemesis of Rhapsody's--presumed dead for centuries--resurfaces, forcing her to choose between facing his depravity or sacrificing her own life . . . and that of her unborn child. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Dynasty of Doom

Author: E.C. Tubb

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 126

View: 505

Wilner pointed, his finger trembling as he stared at the screen. "There, ships, hundreds of them! A space fleet!" These were the vessels which had vanished in space over many years. This was the centre of hyperspace, the resting place of derelict star ships, the Sargasso of Space . . .

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Author: Douglas Adams

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page:

View: 129

The intergalactic adventures of Arthur Dent begin in the first volume of the 'trilogy of five', Douglas Adams' comedy sci-fi classic The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. On 12 October 1979 the most remarkable book ever to come out of the great publishing corporations of Ursa Minor (and Earth) was made available to humanity - The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. It's an ordinary Thursday lunchtime for Arthur Dent until his house gets demolished. The Earth follows shortly afterwards to make way for a new hyperspace express route, and his best friend has just announced that he's an alien. At this moment, they're hurtling through space with nothing but their towels and an innocuous-looking book inscribed, in large friendly letters, with the words: DON'T PANIC. The weekend has only just begun . . . With exclusive bonus material from the Douglas Adams archives, and an introduction by former Doctor Who showrunner, Russell T Davies.

Menace from the Past

Author: E.C. Tubb

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 921

Originally published under Carl Maddox, one of E. C. Tubb's many pseudonyms.

Toward Carpatian Divinity

Author: Michael Markevich

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 196

View: 543

Toward Carpatian Divinity The suggestion within the title accurately sums up the direction that the author has taken with the character story and allegory of the second book. The extremely unique and gifted characters of the "Carpadia" legend have journeyed to the Skeletal Coast of Africa in order to bear witness to the birth of a savior. She will usher in the Fifth Civilization of mankind but these followers of that cause are not yet spiritually sufficient. "Toward Carpatian Divinity" quickly begins to outline the direction that these disciples will realize in travels and inner sanctum. The chapters are organized as parables and each is a message within the broad communication of integrity and moral code. The tools and locations of these metaphysical errands are as diverse and novel as the entire imaginative spectrum. "Holoflux" becomes a hive in the creative process of transmigration as it develops from the witchery of a coven of white Wiccans. Claire is introduced as the beautiful and fragile recipient of a powerful Magnolia vision that spins away phenomenal debris. She is left with the stationary, ancient and unfaltering soul of her matriarchal line and gives that heart's desire to Dneipo. The Mystic aboriginal sorcerers become "entangled" in the source helix of the manifest and are able to cross time and space. Intent is described as a "pawl" designed to catch in the ratchet of moment discontinuity. Ron and Vani play a chess-like game as pawns able to capture the most superior concepts and Vanisila maintains her earthly presence as a Valkyrie and bypasses the aging process. The parables continue, bringing insight and awareness to the characters. The final chapter is a eulogy praising the spiritual enlightenment of the "illuminati" as it opens with, ...... " We now become Divine Carpatians."

The Edge of the Universe

What is Our Destiny? Is There Life After Death? What Incredible Secret Lies in the Depths of Space?

Author: Harold W. G. Allen

Publisher: Downsview, Ont. : Allen Book Pub.

ISBN:

Category: Future life

Page: 268

View: 704

Dumbfounded Praying

Author: Harold M. Best

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 218

View: 636

Dumbfounded Praying is a book of no-limits, uninhibited praying-dumfounded praying. It is a confessing book, an idea book, a wrestling and praise-filled book, and like the Psalms, intensely personal, but certainly not private. These prayers are for everybody who is thirsty and hungry, who doubts, who might be unsure of the value of prayer; they are for anybody who wants to question, confess, praise, lament, imagine, and speculate. This book is open to all who love the richness of speech with God and want his everlasting richness to flood their minds, hearts, and circumstances in return.Prayer is more than a narrow, tidied list of "proper things" to talk to God about. Nothing is off-limits with God, for he intimately knows what fills our minds, stirs in our hearts, and frames our circumstances. God invites us to talk everything over with him, honestly, fearlessly, even imaginatively. Out of sheer love, God has eternally befriended himself to us and asks us into his confidence and in turn invites us to confide freely in him. God wants us to know that while we would rather talk than listen, he always listens before he talks, and when he does, it is always with his Word, strongly yet sweetly offered to us by his Spirit and made eternally sure by his Son. This Word is inevitably filled with mercy, love, grace, forgiveness, correction, and unblemished wisdom.

Supernova Fugue / Threnody

Author: D. R. Wicksell

Publisher: D. R. Wicksell

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 33

View: 207

Supernova Fugue —————————— Devon Hawkins expected the stellar cartography mission to be just another job. Now he’s in a fight for his life against one of the most powerful forces in the universe, and his fate may unlock a mystery that has plagued mankind for centuries. Threnody —————————— Facing the last great trial of every man’s life, David Reese struggles to meet his end with grace; yet endings and beginnings are inextricably linked in the strangest of ways…