A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe

Author: Alex White

Publisher: Orbit

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 367

A crew of outcasts tries to find a legendary ship before it falls into the hands of those who would use it as a weapon in this science fiction adventure series for fans of The Expanse and Firefly. A washed-up treasure hunter, a hotshot racer, and a deadly secret society. They're all on a race against time to hunt down the greatest warship ever built. Some think the ship is lost forever, some think it's been destroyed, and some think it's only a legend, but one thing's for certain: whoever finds it will hold the fate of the universe in their hands. And treasure that valuable can never stay hidden for long.... Read the book that V. E. Schwab called "A clever fusion of magic and sci-fi. I was hooked from page one."

The Forgotten Planet

Author: Sewell Peaslee Wright

Publisher: eStar Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 190

I have been asked to record, plainly and without prejudice, a brief history of the Forgotten Planet.That this record, when completed, will be sealed in the archives of the Interplanetary Alliance and remain there, a secret and rather dreadful bit of history, is no concern of mine. I am an old man, well past the century mark, and what disposal is made of my work is of little importance to me. I grow weary of life and living, which is good. The fear of death was lost when our scientists showed us how to live until we grew weary of life. But I am digressing-an old man's failing.The Forgotten Planet was not always so named. The name that it once bore had been, as every child knows, stricken from the records, actual and mental, of the Universe. It is well that evil should not be remembered. But in order that this history may be clear in the centuries to come, my record should go back to beginnings.So far as the Universe is concerned, the history of the Forgotten Planet begins with the visit of the first craft ever to span the space between the worlds: the crude, adventuresome Edorn, whose name, as well as the names of the nine Zenians who manned her, occupy the highest places in the roll of honor of the Universe.

The Portable Conrad

Author: Joseph Conrad

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 752

View: 164

A collection of Conrad's most enduring work, edited by Pulitzer Prize finalist Michael Gorra A great novelist of the sea, a poet of the tropics, a critic of empire and analyst of globalization, a harbinger of the modern spy novel, an unparalleled observer of the moments in which people are stripped of their illusions-Joseph Conrad is one of the greatest writers of the twentieth century. This revised edition of The Portable Conrad features the best known and most enduring of Conrad's works, including The Secret Agent, Heart of Darkness, and The Nigger of the "Narcissus," as well as shorter tales like "Amy Forster" and "The Secret Sharer," a selection of letters, and his observations on the sinking of the Titanic. For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.

Dynasty of Doom

Author: E.C. Tubb

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 126

View: 187

Wilner pointed, his finger trembling as he stared at the screen. "There, ships, hundreds of them! A space fleet!" These were the vessels which had vanished in space over many years. This was the centre of hyperspace, the resting place of derelict star ships, the Sargasso of Space . . .

What Makes This Book So Great

Re-Reading the Classics of Fantasy and SF

Author: Jo Walton

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 448

View: 616

Jo Walton is an award-winning author of, inveterate reader of, and chronic re-reader of science fiction and fantasy books. What Makes This Book So Great? is a selection of the best of her musings about her prodigious reading habit. Jo Walton’s many subjects range from acknowledged classics, to guilty pleasures, to forgotten oddities and gems. Among them, the Zones of Thought novels of Vernor Vinge; the question of what genre readers mean by ‘mainstream’; the under-appreciated SF adventures of C. J. Cherryh; the field’s many approaches to time travel; the masterful science fiction of Samuel R. Delany; Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children; the early Hainish novels of Ursula K. Le Guin; and a Robert A. Heinlein novel you have most certainly never read. Over 130 essays in all, What Makes This Book So Great is an immensely engaging collection of provocative, opinionated thoughts about past and present-day fantasy and science fiction, from one of our best writers.

Toward Carpatian Divinity

Author: Michael Markevich

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 196

View: 640

Toward Carpatian Divinity The suggestion within the title accurately sums up the direction that the author has taken with the character story and allegory of the second book. The extremely unique and gifted characters of the "Carpadia" legend have journeyed to the Skeletal Coast of Africa in order to bear witness to the birth of a savior. She will usher in the Fifth Civilization of mankind but these followers of that cause are not yet spiritually sufficient. "Toward Carpatian Divinity" quickly begins to outline the direction that these disciples will realize in travels and inner sanctum. The chapters are organized as parables and each is a message within the broad communication of integrity and moral code. The tools and locations of these metaphysical errands are as diverse and novel as the entire imaginative spectrum. "Holoflux" becomes a hive in the creative process of transmigration as it develops from the witchery of a coven of white Wiccans. Claire is introduced as the beautiful and fragile recipient of a powerful Magnolia vision that spins away phenomenal debris. She is left with the stationary, ancient and unfaltering soul of her matriarchal line and gives that heart's desire to Dneipo. The Mystic aboriginal sorcerers become "entangled" in the source helix of the manifest and are able to cross time and space. Intent is described as a "pawl" designed to catch in the ratchet of moment discontinuity. Ron and Vani play a chess-like game as pawns able to capture the most superior concepts and Vanisila maintains her earthly presence as a Valkyrie and bypasses the aging process. The parables continue, bringing insight and awareness to the characters. The final chapter is a eulogy praising the spiritual enlightenment of the "illuminati" as it opens with, ...... " We now become Divine Carpatians."

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Author: Douglas Adams

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page:

View: 318

The intergalactic adventures of Arthur Dent begin in the first volume of the 'trilogy of five', Douglas Adams' comedy sci-fi classic The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. On 12 October 1979 the most remarkable book ever to come out of the great publishing corporations of Ursa Minor (and Earth) was made available to humanity - The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. It's an ordinary Thursday lunchtime for Arthur Dent until his house gets demolished. The Earth follows shortly afterwards to make way for a new hyperspace express route, and his best friend has just announced that he's an alien. At this moment, they're hurtling through space with nothing but their towels and an innocuous-looking book inscribed, in large friendly letters, with the words: DON'T PANIC. The weekend has only just begun . . . With exclusive bonus material from the Douglas Adams archives, and an introduction by former Doctor Who showrunner, Russell T Davies.

The Light Voyager

Author: Mardi Orlando

Publisher: Trafford Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 142

The light ray is fractured and the universal planes are clashing. And fifteen-year-old Tarl Argon, who holds a special knowledge bestowed by his late mother, is called upon to balance these paths. The task seems impossible, but Tarl sees no alternative but to follow the plan. Tarls journey takes him to extraordinary worlds where he discovers he is capable of a lot more than he thought possible. But many questions haunt him. Will he find Truth and Light? Can he learn to understand the triangle of expanding life? Can he face his demons in time to pull these paths into alignment? Or will the prophesized catastrophes annihilate everything? As the universe rips, Tarls fears threaten to overwhelm him until he is confronted with a face he has seen in his dreams. Could this strange, young girl with the grey eyes be the key? He has seen her future in the Moon Gate but he must not let that future happen. With the help of his Uncle Rembeu the Teacher, Melik the Star Gazer, and Umbra the Light Worker, he must hope his imagination is only the beginning of what is possible.

Supernova Fugue / Threnody

Author: D. R. Wicksell

Publisher: D. R. Wicksell

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 33

View: 420

Supernova Fugue —————————— Devon Hawkins expected the stellar cartography mission to be just another job. Now he’s in a fight for his life against one of the most powerful forces in the universe, and his fate may unlock a mystery that has plagued mankind for centuries. Threnody —————————— Facing the last great trial of every man’s life, David Reese struggles to meet his end with grace; yet endings and beginnings are inextricably linked in the strangest of ways…

Dumbfounded Praying

Author: Harold M. Best

Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 218

View: 113

Dumbfounded Praying is a book of no-limits, uninhibited praying-dumfounded praying. It is a confessing book, an idea book, a wrestling and praise-filled book, and like the Psalms, intensely personal, but certainly not private. These prayers are for everybody who is thirsty and hungry, who doubts, who might be unsure of the value of prayer; they are for anybody who wants to question, confess, praise, lament, imagine, and speculate. This book is open to all who love the richness of speech with God and want his everlasting richness to flood their minds, hearts, and circumstances in return.Prayer is more than a narrow, tidied list of "proper things" to talk to God about. Nothing is off-limits with God, for he intimately knows what fills our minds, stirs in our hearts, and frames our circumstances. God invites us to talk everything over with him, honestly, fearlessly, even imaginatively. Out of sheer love, God has eternally befriended himself to us and asks us into his confidence and in turn invites us to confide freely in him. God wants us to know that while we would rather talk than listen, he always listens before he talks, and when he does, it is always with his Word, strongly yet sweetly offered to us by his Spirit and made eternally sure by his Son. This Word is inevitably filled with mercy, love, grace, forgiveness, correction, and unblemished wisdom.