A Bed for Kitty

A Picture Book

Author: Yasmine Surovec

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 40

View: 726

Sweet dreams, Kitty! This adorable bedtime book from the creator of I See Kitty is perfect for tucking the very youngest cat lovers in at night. Kitty sleeps everywhere: on the TV, in the sink, even in her litter box! But she never sleeps in her own bed. This follow up to Yasmine Surovec's I See Kitty shows that sometimes it takes a friend to find the perfect place to sleep. With bright, bold artwork, A Bed for Kitty will charm very young readers with its gentle humor and genuine warmth.

My Pet Human

Author: Yasmine Surovec

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 112

View: 824

From queen cat lady Yasmine Surovec comes a cuddly new chapter book series about a cat in need of a pet human. Oliver is an independent kitty. He has his run of the neighborhood and looks at his animal friends with their fussing humans with pity. But when a freckle-faced girl moves into town, Oliver sees the opportunity to train a human to provide him with a few creature comforts. And if he can help her adjust to her life and make a new friend, that's just all in a day's work. The real surprise comes, however, when Oliver needs Freckles just as much as she needs him. Not a comic book and not a traditional illustrated chapter book, My Pet Human is truly a hybrid of text and art that could only come from the whimsical and brilliant mind of Yasmine Surovec.

My Pet Human Takes Center Stage

Author: Yasmine Surovec

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 112

View: 518

The adorable My Pet Human series continues at school, where Oliver and Freckles star in the pet club's talent show. Freckles is new at her elementary school, and Oliver wants to be sure she finds her niche. So when she joins the pet club and gets roped into putting on a talent show to raise money for the local animal shelter, Oliver has no choice but to help out. What he doesn't bargain for is that Freckles takes in a foster kitten! Turns out, while Oliver values his independence, he's not so eager to give up being center stage.

Kitty Rainbow (Kitty Rainbow Trilogy, Book 1)

A powerful saga about the search for love

Author: Wendy Robertson

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 325

View: 567

An abandoned baby. A troubled childhood. A search for belonging. Kitty Rainbow is a gripping Victorian saga, and the first instalment of the Kitty Rainbow trilogy from Wendy Robertson, that follows a young woman's discovery of where her heart truly belongs. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Josephine Cox. When the soft-hearted, bare-knuckle fighter Ishmael Slaughter rescues an abandoned baby from the swirling River Wear, he knows that if he returns home with her his predatory employer will give the child short shrift - or worse. So it is to Janine Druce, a Scottish draperwoman with a dubious reputation but a child of her own that he takes the baby - whom he has christened Kitty Rainbow. Kitty grows up wild and stubborn in Janine's tough household but she is as fierce in her affections as she is in her hatreds. And she saves her greatest affection for Ishmael, the now ageing boxer who is the only link with her true parentage - apart from the scrap of blue cloth she was wrapped in when he found her. Eventually the cloth leads Kitty to her true origins - a discovery that shakes the very essence of her being - but eventually allows her to resume the life she so passionately embraces... What readers are saying about Kitty Rainbow: 'Wendy Robertson draws such a realistic picture of a town in the northeast of England in the nineteenth century' 'Peopled with strong characters, good and bad, rich and poor, that the reader endures Kitty's hardships and fights her battles with her, cheers when she wins and worries with Ishmael about what is to become of her' 'Five stars'

Bad Kitty Goes to the Vet

Author: Nick Bruel

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 144

View: 445

When Kitty is happy and healthy, everything is perfect. She jumps around, eats everything in sight, and has the energy to keep slobbering puppies in their place. But when she's sick, all she can do is lie in her bed. Looks like it's time for this sick kitty to go...to the vet. When Kitty's family finally manages to get their clawing, angry pet into the doctor's office, it's a wild adventure for Kitty, who has to get the most dreaded thing of all...a shot. Once the shot is administered, Kitty is cast into an ingenious dream within a dream sequence in which she has to make right by Puppy or risk being shut out of PussyCat heaven forever. This ninth installment of the popular Bad Kitty series from Nick Bruel is chock-full of brilliant supporting characters and, of course, the crankiest bad kitty you've ever seen.

Second Thyme Around

A Novel

Author: Katie Fforde

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 296

For years, things have run quite smoothly for Perdita and her organic gardening business. So what if her hair needs a complete overhaul, her sweater has more holes than Swiss cheese, and there's no hope of a boyfriend on the horizon? The last thing Perdita wants is a meddlesome man in her life-but she's about to get one, in the form of her completely infuriating ex-husband, Lucas. Lucas in disagreeable, curt, arrogant, and smolderingly gorgeous. He's also the new chef at Grantly House, Perdita's number-one customer. Worse, Mr. Grantly has the insane idea of starting a television cooking show that will put Lucas and Perdita together as "The Gourmet and the Gardener." Now, things are heating up in the kitchen--and elsewhere. With the bright lights blazing and old feelings stirring the pot, it could be a recipe for disaster...or absolute delight.

Kitty Genovese: The Murder, the Bystanders, the Crime that Changed America

Author: Kevin Cook

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN:

Category: True Crime

Page: 288

View: 253

"Vividly transforms Ms. Genovese from an iconic urban martyr to a three-dimensional protagonist in a case that transformed the criminal justice system." —Sam Roberts, New York Times In 1964 Catherine "Kitty" Genovese was brutally stabbed to death on her front stoop in plain view of numerous witnesses. Her sensational case provoked an anxious outcry and became the stuff of urban legend. Kevin Cook’s “provocative” (Wall Street Journal) investigation upends the simple story we thought we knew. His unprecedented minute-by-minute reconstruction of the crime shatters the fable of the 38 passive witnesses—a myth perpetuated by the New York Times, movies, TV programs, and countless psychology textbooks. For the first time, Cook introduces us to a neighbor who did intervene, and he brings to life a vibrant and charismatic Kitty, working (and dancing) her way through the colorful, fast-changing New York of the ’60s.

Fables, Fairies & Folklore of Newfoundland

Author: Alice Lannon

Publisher: St. John's, Nfld. : Jesperson

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 105

View: 351

This is a chronicle of the magical side of The Rock, told in vivid prose that will engage the attentions of readers both young and old. Fables, Fairies & Folklore of Newfoundland includes tales such as Big Black Bull of Hollow Tree, The Harbour Grace Prophecy, The Thing From the Sea and The Fairy Captive.