The Other Side of the Wall

Author: Amy Ephron

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 224

View: 515

In this new adventure with Tess and Max, internationally bestselling author Amy Ephron takes readers to London at Christmastime, where a new fantastical journey awaits. It's Christmas break and Tess and Max are in London, staying at the posh Sanborn House with their Aunt Evie. As they wait for their parents to arrive, there is an unusual snowstorm that makes the city seem as if it's caught in a snow globe. Perfect weather for an adventure in Hyde Park. But when Max, Tess, and Aunt Evie leave to search for a cab, they find a horse and carriage and driver curiously waiting for them at the curb. And that's just the beginning... Soon Tess is charmed by a mysterious boy named Colin who lives at the hotel all year round--on the 8th floor. But Max is sure the elevator only had 7 floors the day before. And how come everyone at the hotel seems to ignore Colin? Things seem to get stranger and stranger. There's a 1920s costume party in Colin's parents' apartment. A marble that seems to be more than it appears. And a shadow that passes mysteriously by Tess and Max's hotel window. Tess wants to figure out what's going on, but finds only more questions: Is it just a coincidence that Colin's last name is Sanborn, the same as the hotel? Why does the cat's-eye marble look eerily similar to the crystal at the top of their hotel room key? And, most importantly, what happened in that hotel one Christmas long, long ago? In this mysterious story sprinkled with holiday enchantment, Amy Ephron transports readers into the magic of London at wintertime, where it's just possible that what seems imaginary is real, and your wishes might come true.

Here to Stay

Author: Mark Edwards

Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 380

View: 834

"Mark Edwards always delivers! Taut, gripping, scary and original - a fabulous read!"--Robert Bryndza, #1 Wall Street Journal bestselling author A beautiful home. A loving wife. And in-laws to die for. Gemma Robinson comes into Elliot's life like a whirlwind, and they marry and settle into his home. When she asks him if her parents can come to stay for a couple of weeks, he is keen to oblige - he just doesn't quite know what he's signing up for. The Robinsons arrive with Gemma's sister, Chloe, a mysterious young woman who refuses to speak or leave her room. Elliot starts to suspect that the Robinsons are hiding a dark secret. And then there are the scars on his wife's body that she won't talk about . . . As Elliot's in-laws become more comfortable in his home, encroaching on all aspects of his life, it becomes clear that they have no intention of moving out. To protect Gemma, and their marriage, Elliot delves into the Robinsons' past. But is he prepared for the truth? From the two million copy bestselling author comes a tale about the chilling consequences of welcoming strangers into your home.

Code Name: Lise

The True Story of the Woman Who Became WWII's Most Highly Decorated Spy

Author: Larry Loftis

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 384

View: 366

NATIONAL BESTSELLER Featured in The New York Times, The Atlantic, Time, New York Newsday, and on Today! Best Nonfiction Books to Read in 2019—Woman’s Day The Best Nonfiction Books Coming Out This Year—BookBub “A nonfiction thriller.”—The Wall Street Journal From internationally bestselling author of the “gripping” (Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author) Into the Lion’s Mouth comes the extraordinary true story of Odette Sansom, the British spy who operated in occupied France and fell in love with her commanding officer during World War II—perfect for fans of Unbroken, The Nightingale, and Code Girls. The year is 1942, and World War II is in full swing. Odette Sansom decides to follow in her war hero father’s footsteps by becoming an SOE agent to aid Britain and her beloved homeland, France. Five failed attempts and one plane crash later, she finally lands in occupied France to begin her mission. It is here that she meets her commanding officer Captain Peter Churchill. As they successfully complete mission after mission, Peter and Odette fall in love. All the while, they are being hunted by the cunning German secret police sergeant, Hugo Bleicher, who finally succeeds in capturing them. They are sent to Paris’s Fresnes prison, and from there to concentration camps in Germany where they are starved, beaten, and tortured. But in the face of despair, they never give up hope, their love for each other, or the whereabouts of their colleagues. In Code Name: Lise, Larry Loftis paints a portrait of true courage, patriotism, and love—of two incredibly heroic people who endured unimaginable horrors and degradations. He seamlessly weaves together the touching romance between Odette and Peter and the thrilling cat and mouse game between them and Sergeant Bleicher. With this amazing testament to the human spirit, Loftis proves once again that he is adept at writing “nonfiction that reads like a page-turning novel” (Parade).

The Explorers: The Quest for the Kid

Author: Adrienne Kress

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 496

View: 487

The third book in the Explorers series has more mystery, more bravery, more danger than ever before! The perfect read for fans of Chris Grabenstein and The Mysterious Benedict Society! Sebastian is still at large, kidnapped again! Evie is still missing her grandfather, the leader of the Filipendulous Five! And there's still an explorer hanging from the edge of a perilous cliff! All this and more in the third book in the Explorers series: The Quest for the Kid. PRAISE FOR THE THE EXPLORERS SERIES: "[A] wildly funny adventure. . . . Animals in teeny hats, Wonderland-style logic, and loads of wordplay and sarcasm will keep readers giggling all the way through." --Kirkus Reviews "Exhilarating. . . . Fans of a Series of Unfortunate Events will be drawn to this." --Booklist "A rollicking read, full of derring-do and old-fashioned villainy." --School Library Journal "Funny, offbeat, and subversive . . . occasional footnotes and other humorous asides from the omniscient narrator break the fourth wall and ramp up the playfulness." --The Horn Book Magazine "Narrated with a smart, brisk tone and plenty of snark. . . . The Explorers: The Door in the Alley packs plenty of twists, turns and danger." --Shelf Awareness

The Key of Lost Things

Author: Sean Easley

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 320

View: 581

With the help of a magical key, Cam searches for his missing friend—who just might be the Hotel’s newest enemy—in this thrilling sequel to The Hotel Between, which New York Times bestselling author Lisa McMann calls a “rollicking magical adventure around the world.” Ever since Cam was named Concierge-in-Training, he’s been struggling to keep up with the pace of The Hotel Between. It doesn’t help that his missing friend Nico keeps unleashing pranks—you try finding fifty-two cats scattered all over the world. When a grand party goes horribly wrong, Cam learns his twin sister, Cass, may also be up to no good. Now Cam must set out to prevent Cass and Nico from endangering the Hotel and keep it from falling into the hands of Mr. Stripe, a horrible magic. If he fails, The Hotel Between could be lost. Forever.

The Quest for the Kid

Author: Adrienne Kress

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 496

View: 193

"On the run from nefarious, nameless thugs, Sebastian and Evie must travel the world to reunite the other explorers from the Filipendulous Five if they are to put all their clues together and find Evie's grandfather before it's too late"--

Bound by Passion (The Alliance, Book 4)

Author: Brenda K. Davies

Publisher: Brenda K. Davies

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 350

View: 664

When Kadence has a vision of a cabin in the woods, Saxon and his friends are determined to find it. He’s beginning to think they’re on a wild goose chase… until he stumbles across the cabin and a horde of Savages. Elyse and her father have spent months imprisoned by Savages. Tortured and brutalized, she has no hope of getting out alive. When Saxon arrives, he gives her a chance at freedom; however, he wants to know why the Savages imprisoned her, and she can never reveal that. She tries to keep her distance, but when they are trapped together, it becomes increasingly difficult to resist the growing desire between them. Desperate to save her father, Elyse realizes Saxon may be the only one who can help her, but if she reveals the truth, will he forgive her... or kill her? ***The Alliance Series is a spin-off of the Vampire Awakenings series. You do not have to read the Vampire Awakenings Series to follow the Alliance Series. Due to violence, language, and sexual content this book is recommended for readers 18+*** Keywords: Action adventure urban fantasy enemies to lovers mythical creatures angst steamy romance novels supernatural love story angst new adult dark romance psychic powers folklore romance supernatural love story folklore fiction strong male lead romantic fantasy for adults adult fantasy thriller strong heroine mythical creatures strong heroine supernatural thriller novels twists vampires blood mate contemporary vampire fantasy.