100 or So Boyhood Memories of the Real West Endies

Author: Malcolm Lindsay Allen, Sr.

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 256

View: 996

This book is written to share some experiences of a person who has survived being born as colored, graduating from high school as a Negro, working half his life in corporate America as a Black, and finally arriving at old age as an African-American. Whew! The paths through those personas have led through many precious persons’ lives. Their interaction with me may have seemed insignificant to them. But, I cherished each experience as part of the “learning-how—to-live-and-get-along-with-others life course. Even the places and spaces, the landmarks, the neighborhood haunts, the nooks and the crannies of a wonderful community mentioned in this collection of stories are highly significant in my development as a man, and a husband, a father, a grandfather. All these are cherished in my heart . . . in my life. I respectfully salute the West Endies. That is the area in Cincinnati bounded on the south by the Ohio River, on the north and east by the curving Central Parkway and on the west by the Western Hills Viaduct to State Avenue. Thanks for the memories. So, as you read—and I feel privileged that you do—please reminisce along with me. Thanks.

THEODORE ROOSEVELT - Memoirs of the 26th President of the United States

Boyhood and Youth, Education, Political Ideals, Political Career (the New York Governorship and the Presidency), Military Career, the Monroe Doctrine and Winning the Nobel Peace Prize

Author: Theodore Roosevelt

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 466

View: 759

This book is an autobiography written by Theodore Roosevelt, one of the most impressive figures of the entire American History. Statesman, historian, writer, explorer, soldier and naturalist, Roosevelt leads us through his life discovering at the same time his political ideals and his love of the frontier and the great outdoors. Contents: Boyhood and Youth The Vigor of Life Practical Politics In Cowboy Land Applied Idealism The New York Police The War of America the Unready The New York Governorship Outdoors and Indoors The Presidency; Making an Old Party Progressive The Natural Resources of the Nation The Big Stick and the Square Deal Social and Industrial Justice The Monroe Doctrine and the Panama Canal

Of This Earth

A Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

Author: Rudy Wiebe

Publisher: Vintage Canada

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 450

A beautiful, moving memoir of a boy’s coming of age, infused with a deep love of the land, from one of Canada’s most cherished and acclaimed writers. In Of This Earth, Rudy Wiebe gives vivid life again to the vanished world of Speedwell, Saskatchewan, an isolated, poplar-forested, mostly Mennonite community – and Rudy’s first home. Too young to do heavy work, Rudy witnessed a way of life that was soon to disappear. And we experience with him the hard labour of clearing the stony, silty bushland; the digging out of precious wells one bucket of dirt at a time; sorrow at the death of a beloved sister; the disorienting searches for grazing cattle in the vast wilderness sloughs and the sweet discovery of the power of reading. Rare personal photographs (reproduced throughout the book) and the fragile memories of those who are left give shape to the story of Mennonite immigrants building a life in Canada, the growth and decline of the small Speedwell community, the sway of religion, and a young boy’s growing love of the extreme beauty of the aspen forests – as well as how all these elements came to inform his destiny as a writer. A hymn to a lost place and a distant time, Of This Earth follows the best of memoirs in the tradition of Sharon Butala’s The Perfection of the Morning and W. G. Sebald’s Austerlitz. It is an evocation of the Canadian west that only a writer of Rudy Wiebe’s powers could summon. From the Hardcover edition.

Mark Twain

A Life

Author: Ron Powers

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 592

View: 140

Ron Powers’s tour de force has been widely acclaimed as the best life and times, filled with Mark Twain’s voice, and as a great American story. Samuel Clemens, the man known as Mark Twain, invented the American voice and became one of our greatest celebrities. His life mirrored his country's, as he grew from a Mississippi River boyhood in the days of the frontier, to a Wild-West journalist during the Gold Rush, to become the king of the eastern establishment and a global celebrity as America became an international power. Along the way, Mark Twain keenly observed the characters and voices that filled the growing country, and left us our first authentically American literature. Ron Powers's magnificent biography offers the definitive life of the founding father of our culture.

Of this Earth

A Mennonite Boyhood in the Boreal Forest

Author: Rudy Wiebe

Publisher: Random House of Canada

ISBN:

Category: Authors, Canadian (English)

Page: 416

View: 922

A beautiful, moving memoir of a boy’s coming of age, infused with a deep love of the land, from one of Canada’s most cherished and acclaimed writers. InOf This Earth,Rudy Wiebe gives vivid life again to the vanished world of Speedwell, Saskatchewan, an isolated, poplar-forested, mostly Mennonite community – and Rudy’s first home. Too young to do heavy work, Rudy witnessed a way of life that was soon to disappear. And we experience with him the hard labour of clearing the stony, silty bushland; the digging out of precious wells one bucket of dirt at a time; sorrow at the death of a beloved sister; the disorienting searches for grazing cattle in the vast wilderness sloughs and the sweet discovery of the power of reading. Rare personal photographs (reproduced throughout the book) and the fragile memories of those who are left give shape to the story of Mennonite immigrants building a life in Canada, the growth and decline of the small Speedwell community, the sway of religion, and a young boy’s growing love of the extreme beauty of the aspen forests – as well as how all these elements came to inform his destiny as a writer. A hymn to a lost place and a distant time,Of This Earthfollows the best of memoirs in the tradition of Sharon Butala’sThe Perfection of the Morningand W. G. Sebald’sAusterlitz. It is an evocation of the Canadian west that only a writer of Rudy Wiebe’s powers could summon. From the Hardcover edition.