Wave Me Goodbye

Author: Jacqueline Wilson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 289

View: 789

September, 1939. As the Second World War begins, ten-year-old Shirley is sent away on a train with her schoolmates. She doesn’t know where she’s going, or what’s going to happen to her when she gets there. All she has been told is that she’s going on ‘a little holiday’. Shirley is billeted in the country, with two boys from East End London, Kevin and Archie – and their experiences living in the strange, half-empty Red House, with the mysterious and reclusive Mrs Waverley, will change their lives for ever. Award-winning, bestselling and beloved author Jacqueline Wilson turns to this period of history for the first time, in this beautiful, moving story of friendship and bravery against the backdrop of the worst conflict the world has ever known.

Wave Me Goodbye

Stories of the Second World War

Author: Anne Boston

Publisher: Virago Press

ISBN:

Category: English fiction

Page: 631

View: 131

An invaluable omnibus that brings together women as diverse as Barbara Cartland, Virginia Woolf, Doris Lessing, a Soho street-sweeper and an air-raid warden. Containing fiction and non-fiction from some of the most well-known writers of the twentieth century, as well as those who had never written before, this fascinating collection opens a window on to a hidden landscape of war.

Wave Me Goodbye

Author: Ruby Jackson

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 651

A compelling story of tragedy and triumph in WWII -the second in a series of books featuring four young women whose lives will be forever changed by the war. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.

Wave Me Goodbye (Part One: Chapters 1–7)

Author: Ruby Jackson

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 84

View: 708

Wave Me Goodbye can be read either as a full length book or in 3 serialised eBook only parts.

Wish Me Luck As You Wave Me Goodbye

Author: Marius Gabriel

Publisher: Lake Union Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 410

As the devastating years of the Second World War march ever closer, the beautiful Redcliffe sisters must face their own struggles and navigate the perils of growing up—and growing apart. Eldest sister Isobel—passionate, domineering, misguided—is infatuated with Fascism. But can she continue to justify her dangerous political beliefs when faced with the shocking realities of Nazi Germany? Insecure and introverted Felicity, youngest of the three, is about to take her vows and enter the convent, against her sisters' wish. A chance meeting with an American soldier threatens the very foundations of her decisions. Chiara, the bright and happy golden child, is more interested in the gay whirl of the season than matters of faith or ideology. But even her breezy innocence cannot survive the harsh lessons of heartbreak and war. Each sister must follow her own path and, as they do so, their differences threaten to take them beyond the realms of forgiveness.

Into Dust and Fire

Five Young Americans Who Went First to Fight the Nazi Army

Author: Rachel S. Cox

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 352

View: 255

“A moving, beautifully-written tale… Rachel Cox has produced a masterpiece of storytelling, infused with romance, danger, adventure, humor, and heartbreaking loss. It is, hands down, the best description of the transformation of untested young men into soldiers that I have ever read.” — Lynne Olson, New York Times Bestselling Author of Those Angry Days The untold story of five young American friends who left the ivory towers at Harvard and Dartmouth to take on Rommel's Panzers under the blazing sun of North Africa… In the spring of 1941, with Europe consumed by war and occupation, Britain stood alone against the Nazi menace. The United States remained wary of joining the costly and destructive conflict. But for five extraordinary young Americans, the global threat of fascism was too great to ignore. Six months before Pearl Harbor, these courageous idealists left their promising futures behind to join the beleaguered British Army. Fighting as foreigners, they were shipped off to join the Desert Rats, the 7th Armoured Division of the British Eighth Army, who were battling Field Marshal Rommel’s panzer division. The Yanks would lead antitank and machine-gun platoons into combat at the Second Battle of El Alamein, the twelve-day epic of tank warfare that would ultimately turn the tide for the Allies. A fitting tribute to five men whose commitment to freedom transcended national boundaries, Into Dust and Fire is a gripping true tale of idealism, courage, camaraderie, sacrifice, and heroism. INCLUDES PHOTOS From the Trade Paperback edition.

Wish Me Luck as You Wave Me Goodbye

A Selection of Northumbrian Memories of World War II

Author: Jane Torday

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Northumbria (England : Region)

Page: 160

View: 734

A Long Way Home

One POW's Story of Escape and Evasion During World War II

Author: Charles Granquist

Publisher: Big Sky Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Prisoner-of-war escapes

Page: 201

View: 898

Granqist's account of his wartime experiences adds another important chapter to the story of Australian World War II POW's while showcasing the spirit, humour, persistence, and ingenuity of an Aussie Digger.

Dutch Treat

A Novel of World War II

Author: Tristan Jones

Publisher: Sheridan House, Inc.

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 419

A powerful novel set against the somber background of Dunkirk and the Blitzkrieg.

Out in the Army

My Life as a Gay Soldier

Author: James Wharton

Publisher: Biteback Publishing

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 352

View: 458

"A highly readable and distinctly 21st-century boy's own tale." BEN SUMMERSKILL OBESeeking escape from the quiet countryside of North Wales, the young James Wharton joined the British Army with adventure on his mind - and he found it...At basic training, boozing and brawling accompany the daily trials of army life, but all the while James faces a battle of his own: he is gay, and finding the courage to tell not only his family and friends but also his fellow soldiers will be the biggest challenge of all.Written with searing honesty, and updated to include a new chapter, James charts his incredible journey from punchbag to poster boy, describing the troubles and trials of coming to terms with his sexuality via late nights in Soho clubs and early mornings at ceremonial events.The first openly gay person to appear on the cover of Soldier, the British Army's official magazine, James has played an active role in developing support networks for gay men and women within the forces.A courageous and candid account from the soldier who escorted the Queen to the wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton, endured rocket attacks in the deserts of Iraq and served bravely alongside Prince Harry on the plains of Canada - this is James's life out in the army."A fascinating and charming insight into a remarkable life that wouldn't have been possible just a few years ago." MATT CAIN, FORMER CUL TURE EDITOR, CHANNEL 4 NEWS