Unearthed

The Aboriginal Tasmanians of Kangaroo Island

Author: Rebe Taylor

Publisher: Wakefield Press

ISBN: 9781862547988

Category: Aboriginal Tasmanians

Page: 389

View: 5622

A new, revised and updated edition of this wonderful book that won the South Australian Premier's Award for Non-Fiction, the Victorian Premier's Award for a First Book of History and the Canberra Critics Circle Award for Literature. 'This is a powerful and passionate exploration of cross-cultural history, and it is also an intriguing detective story. Taylor skilfully interweaves experience and memory, narrative and genealogy, politics and place so that this island saga becomes a history of the national psyche.' - Tom Griffiths . 'UNEARTHED is a wonderful piece of scholarship ... warm, humane and deserving of a wide and intelligent readership.' - Journal of Australian Studies. 'One of the most original and exciting thinkers in Australian history today'. - Australian Historical Studies. This new edition reveals previously disguised names.

Unearthed

Author: BA Tortuga

Publisher: DSP Publications

ISBN: 1635332575

Category: Fiction

Page: 200

View: 9079

From Sardinia to Wyoming, Phoenix to Denver, a lethal ancient evil travels toward its bitter last stand, leaving death and destruction in its wake. No one who touches it will ever be the same.

Spirits Unearthed (A Daisy Gumm Majesty Mystery, Book 12)

Historical Mystery

Author: Alice Duncan

Publisher: ePublishing Works!

ISBN: 1947833391

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 4854

Dachshund Discovers Doctor's Body in Altadena Cemetery, Daisy Gumm Majesty Investigates, in the Historical Cozy Mystery, SPIRITS UNEARTHED, by Alice Duncan "Author Alice Duncan whisks the reader to 1924 in a way that will have you wishing for skinny dresses and cloche hats." ~Deborah L. Rogers, Verified Reviewer Nothing interrupts a good lover’s spat like a dog – Daisy Gumm Majesty’s Dachshund, Spike, in particular. Of course, they were in a graveyard, and Spike did have a shoe in his mouth – and the shoe did have an occupant. Well, a foot, if that counts. Daisy is horrified until she discovers that the occupying foot belonged to Dr. Everhard Allen Wagner, a notorious abuser of women and young girls. Good riddance! Of course, there’s still a good mystery for this spiritualist-medium to people-with-more-money-than-sense to solve; after all, there may still be a risk to the good citizens of Pasadena. Her fiancé, Sam Rotondo – detective for the Pasadena Police Department – for once, doesn’t mind Daisy helping solve the case since the crime scene is in Altadena and not Pasadena. Still, Daisy ends up in the thick of things when she learns the murderer may have also killed her friend, Harold Kincaid. The killer has bigger problems than the law when Daisy metes out justice of her own. Dip into the most riveting and down-to-earth Daisy Gumm Majesty Mystery yet. A series which RT Book Reviews described as "Well plotted with a band of whimsical characters and genuine humor..." Don't miss Aunt Vi's recipe for Swedish Smothered Chicken at the end of the story. Now you can experience the smells and flavors of Aunt Vi's kitchen, just like Daisy! "The characters come alive on the page. . . " Andie Senji, ~Verified Reviewer "Each one seems as fresh and entertaining as the first." ~Kilian, Verified Reviewer "Got the first in the series and couldn't wait to get the next. I have read them all . . ." ~Joann, Verified Reviewer "Daisy is great, I love the feel of 1920s Pasadena . . ." ~Yafa Crane Luria, Verified Reviewer "Each book gets better and better and better." ~Doobs, Verified Reviewer From the Publisher: The Daisy Gumm Majesty Cozy Mystery Series is a light-hearted mystery in a historical setting. There are no explicit sexual scenes and minimal cursing and will be enjoyed by readers who appreciate clean and wholesome reads. Fans of Carola Dunn, Amanda Quick, Elizabeth Peters, Rhys Bowen and M. Louisa Locke will not want to miss this series. You can start anywhere, but you'll want to read all of the Daisy Gumm Majesty Mysteries: Strong Spirits Fine Spirits High Spirits Hungry Spirits Genteel Spirits Ancient Spirits Dark Spirits Spirits Onstage Unsettled Spirits Spirits United Spirits Unearthed Shaken Spirits ABOUT ALICE DUNCAN: In an effort to avoid what she knew she should be doing, Alice folk-danced professionally until her writing muse finally had its way. Now a resident of Roswell, New Mexico, Alice enjoys saying no smog, no crowds, and yes to loving her herd of wild Dachshunds.

Vampires unearthed

the complete multi-media vampire and dracula bibliography

Author: Martin V. Riccardo

Publisher: Scholarly Title

ISBN: N.A

Category: Reference

Page: 135

View: 4764

The Underwood Mystery

Author: Charles Judson Dutton

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: American fiction

Page: 305

View: 8328

From Yahweh to Yahoo!

The Religious Roots of the Secular Press

Author: Doug Underwood

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN: 9780252027062

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 346

View: 3568

Presenting religion as journalism's silent partner, From Yahweh to Yahoo! provides a fresh and surprising view of the religious impulses at work in the typical newsroom by delving into the largely unexamined parallels between religion and journalism, from the "media" of antiquity to the electronic idolatry of the Internet. Focusing on how the history of religion in the United States has been entwined with the growth of the media, Doug Underwood makes the case that American journalists are rooted in the nation's moral and religious heritage and operate, in important ways, as personifications of the old religious virtues. Underwood traces religion's influence on mass communication from the biblical prophets to the Protestant Reformation, from the muckraker and Social Gospel campaigns of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries to the modern age of mass media. While forces have pushed journalists away from identifying themselves with religion, they still approach such secular topics as science, technology, and psychology in reverential ways. This wide-ranging study - hailed by American Journalism as one of the best books in its field - thoughtfully analyzes the press's formulaic coverage of spiritual experience, its failure to cover new and non-Christian religions in America, and the complicity of the mainstream media in launching the religious broadcasting movement.

The Undeclared War between Journalism and Fiction

Journalists as Genre Benders in Literary History

Author: D. Underwood

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 1137353481

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 250

View: 4724

In this volume, Doug Underwood asks whether much of what is now called literary journalism is, in fact, 'literary,' and whether it should rank with the great novels by such journalist-literary figures as Twain, Cather, and Hemingway, who believed that fiction was the better place for a realistic writer to express the important truths of life.

Eye of the Beast

The True Story of Serial Killer James Wood

Author: Terry Adams,Mary Brooks-Mueller,Scott Shaw

Publisher: Addicus Books

ISBN: 1938803507

Category: True Crime

Page: 300

View: 7673

In the summer of 1993, James Wood brought terror to the unassuming town of Pocatello, Idaho. Little did the friendly community realize it had opened its arms to serial killer. Wood, the stranger in town, was polite and soft-spoken. He looked quite ordinary—he was a master at appearing normal. In late June, Wood abducted and murdered Jeralee Underwood, the eleven-year-old daughter of a devout Mormon family. The entire region was shocked and outraged. Now, author Terry Adams teams with lead investigator Scott Shaw and forensic psychologist Mary Brooks-Mueller to bring readers a unique perspective on this case. Shaw takes us into the heart of an exhaustive investigation, while Brooks-Mueller shows us the mind of a true sexual psychopath. Having spent years researching this case, the authors are skillful in recreating this true story about James Woods—one of the nation's most unusual serial killers. The case that rocked the Mormon Church.

Riders Down

A Jack Doyle Mystery

Author: John McEvoy

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press Inc

ISBN: 1615951350

Category: Fiction

Page: 254

View: 878

No one really notices that a fix may be in until Matt O’Connor, a Chicago-based columnist for a national racing newspaper, gets a call from Moe Kellman, a horse-owning acquaintance. Kellmans question for Matt: Was the death of ninety-two-year-old Bernard Glockner, Chicago’s oldest active bookmaker, suicide or murder? Glockner was Kellman’s late uncle and Kellman, a man not unfamiliar with the Chicago mob, wants Matt to check it out. Matt quickly comes to believe that the fate of the bookie is tied to a series of races whose outcomes have been manipulated. His quest is aided by horse trainer Maggie Collins and Dave Zimmer, a professional gambler known as The Fount for his reputation as an encyclopedic source of information. Eventually, going as far afield as Las Vegas and Madison, Wisconsin, they fix their sights on a brilliant sociopath. But why would this psycho have plotted a race-fixing scheme? Spiced with the kind of lively language that marked Blind Switch, the author’s debut novel (2004), Riders Down offers striking insights into the world of horse racing and the possibilities of its corruption.

Americana

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Americana

Page: N.A

View: 5576

The Argosy

Author: N.A

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Short stories

Page: N.A

View: 2089

Biddeford

Author: Charles L. Butler

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

ISBN: 9780738513034

Category: History

Page: 128

View: 2927

In the 1700s and early 1800s, Biddeford was a small, prosperous village dependent on fishing, lumbering, shipbuilding, and merchant mills for its wealth. In 1830, New England's industrial revolution brought massive investment and development to the town. The Saco Water Power Company was developed, two large textile companies were established, and six hundred buildings and thirty-six streets were constructed between 1829 and 1849. Biddeford quickly became the most ethnically and culturally diverse city in Maine. The city thrived for more than one hundred years, but the Great Depression brought hard times to Biddeford. Through images, Biddeford tells the compelling story of this remarkable city.