The Woman in the Woods

A Thriller

Author: John Connolly

Publisher: Atria/Emily Bestler Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 152

“With its singular characters, eerie subject matter, and socko style” (The New York Times), this gripping thriller from the internationally bestselling author John Connolly follows Private Investigator Charlie Parker as he is hired to track down the identity of a dead woman—who apparently died in childbirth—and her missing child. In the beautiful Maine woods, a partly preserved body is discovered. Investigators realize that the young woman gave birth shortly before her death. But there is no sign of a baby. Private detective Charlie Parker is hired by a lawyer to shadow the police investigation and find the infant but Parker is not the only one searching. Someone else is following the trail left by the woman, someone with an interest in much more than a missing child…someone prepared to leave bodies in his wake. And in a house by the woods, a toy telephone begins to ring and a young boy is about to receive a call from a dead woman. With breathless pacing and shivery twists and turns, “this is Connolly’s masterpiece” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

The Woman in the Wood

A missing teenager. An outcast woman in the woods. And a girl determined to find the truth. From The Sunday Times bestselling author

Author: Lesley Pearse

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 937

'A gripping new novel' HELLO! Magazine _______________ London, 1960 The lives of teenage twins Maisy and Duncan change forever the night their sick mother is taken to an asylum. Sent to live in the New Forest with their cold-hearted grandmother, Mrs Mitcham, they feel unloved and abandoned. And when one day Duncan doesn't come home from exploring in the forest, no one - least of all his grandmother - appears to care about his disappearance. The police, who've found the bodies of other missing boys, offer little hope of finding Duncan alive. Yet Maisy refuses to give up. Though she doesn't know the woods well, she knows someone who does. The strange old woman who lives at their heart. Dare Maisy enlist the help of the woman in the wood? _______________ 'A real page-turner, a family story that is multi-layered just as you'd expect from Lesley Pearse, who is deservedly one of the world's favourite story tellers' My Weekly 'Characters it is impossible not to care about . . . this is storytelling at its very best' Daily Mail

The Woman in the Woods

Author: Louise Mullins

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 276

View: 520

The Woman in the Woods: a powerful new psychological thriller from a best-selling author Editorial reviews: "A fantastic example of domestic noir that will keep you turning the pages." "Betsy Reavley, author of the best-selling thrillers The Quiet Ones, Carrion & The Optician's Wife" "" Book description: Reporter, Rachel Harper, begins to investigate the disappearance of a local student. In the hope of redeeming her career, she is determined to find out what happened to Gemma. But beneath the surface of her professional life lies a secret she is too ashamed to confront. When Gemma's body is discovered in Leigh Woods, Rachel becomes obsessed with finding her killer. But as the list of suspects mount it is clear that someone is following her every lead. Can Rachel discover what happened on that cold winter night before her own demons catch up with her? "The Woman in the Woods is an absorbing psychological thriller from the bestselling author Louise Mullins it will appeal to fans of authors like Lisa Hall, Kathryn Croft and CL Taylor." .

The Girl in the Woods

Author: Patricia MacDonald

Publisher: Canongate Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 240

View: 976

"I have to tell you something. I did something bad." Fifteen years ago, Blair's best friend Molly was murdered. Fifteen years ago, Adrian Jones went to prison for it. Fifteen years ago, the real killer got away with it. And now, Blair's terminally ill sister has made a devastating deathbed confession, which could prove that the wrong man has been imprisoned for years - and that Molly's killer is still out there. Blair's determined to find him, but the story behind Molly's death is more twisted than she could imagine. If she isn't careful, the killer will ensnare her and bury Blair with his secret.

The Girl in the Woods

Author: Gregg Olsen

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 737

Kitsup County forensic pathologist Birdy Waterman is well known for giving a voice to the voiceless: the corpses of people who are often victims of violent crimes. Birdy is also letting her teenage nephew Sean stay with her for a while but the family reunion is put on hold when Birdy gets a phone call from the coroner’s office. An unidentified foot has been found in Banner Forest. The only clue to its owner: pink nail polish on the toenails. As Birdy teams up with homicide detective Kendall Stark to investigate, she soon discovers that people all over town are hiding secrets that can prove deadly if they are uncovered.

The Woman in the Woods

Linked Stories

Author: Ann Joslin Williams

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 203

View: 571

A collection of linked stories by Ann Joslin Williams.

THE GIRL IN THE WOODS

Author: JAMES WHALEY

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 296

View: 645

When Ralph Kellem comes across a girl buried in the woods, he gets caught up in a tangle of a sheriff who would do whaever is necessary to solve a crime and Ralph's attempts a playing detective to help sold the crime puts him in jeperdy as he is now a suspect. The Sheriff has his own legal problems and Ralph's sister does not help when she befrends one of the other suspects. The ways of justice are strange indeed.

The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods

Author: Emily Barr

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 320

View: 742

The new YA thriller from the acclaimed author of The One Memory of Flora Banks. Perfect for fans of Karen McManus, E. Lockhart and Sophie McKenzie. A commune hidden from the world. A terrible event. A lifetime of secrets to uncover. I've been trapped here for days. What if I die here? I decided to write down my story so that one day, when I'm discovered, they will know who I was and why I was here. Arty has always lived in the Clearing, a small settlement in the forests of south India. But their happy life, hidden from the rest of the world, is shattered after a terrible event. For the first time in her sixteen years, Arty must leave the only place she's ever known, and head into the outside world she fears, but is also slightly intrigued by. Her only goal is to get help from a woman called Tania, who used to live in the forest, and an uncle she knows is out there, somewhere. As she embarks on the terrifying journey, stalked by a strange new enemy she can't fathom, Arty soon realises that not everyone is to be trusted. Everything is changing too fast for this girl who came out of the woods... could she be running into a trap?