The Spark Girl

A heart-warming tale of wartime adventure, romance and heartbreak.

Author: Fiona Ford

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 272

'A compelling first novel which I promise you won't be able to put down' Daisy Styles, bestselling author of The Bomb Girls Can her fight for the country fix her broken heart? A knock on the door early one morning shouldn't be cause for concern but it is 1941, Britain is at war, and Kitty Williams's fiancé is far from home fighting Hitler with the Navy. As her heart is shattered hearing the news she had been dreading, Kitty becomes more determined than ever to do her bit for the war effort. Signing up to the Women's Army is just the sort of challenge Kitty needs but when bombs start to fall on her home town of Coventry, and allies turn against her, Kitty must find the strength she never knew she had to save her family, fix her broken heart and help her country to victory. The Spark Girl is an absorbing and poignant saga, perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Ellie Dean. The second book in the series, The Spark Girl's Promise is now available for pre-order 'a fabulous debut from an immensely talented author' Annie Groves 'Ford gets to the heart of what it was like to live through the dangerous war years in this warm, captivating, down-to-earth story which is brimming with engaging characters, adventure, romance and heartbreak.' Lancashire Post 'Fiona Ford has written a charming and very appealing story...Kitty Williams is the girl we all want to be.' Swirl and Thread 'an enjoyable read with a twist towards the end to keep the reader engaged until the next one!' Jera's Jamboree

Leonard Maltin's movie & video guide 2004

Author: Leonard Maltin

Publisher: Plume Books

ISBN:

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 1664

View: 551

With more than eighteen thousand capsule film reviews and three hundred new entries, this updated version of this classic movie and video guide offers readers a comprehensive reference to the world of film, including more than six thousand DVD titles, along with valuable information on performers, ratings, running times, and helpful features. Original.

Popular Mechanics

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 140

View: 564

Popular Mechanics inspires, instructs and influences readers to help them master the modern world. Whether it’s practical DIY home-improvement tips, gadgets and digital technology, information on the newest cars or the latest breakthroughs in science -- PM is the ultimate guide to our high-tech lifestyle.