The Rest is Noise

Das 20. Jahrhundert hören

Author: Alex Ross

Publisher: Piper ebooks

ISBN: 3492965326

Category: Music

Page: 704

View: 3607

Eine glänzende Erzählung lässt uns die Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts über seine Musik neu erleben. Alex Ross, Kritiker des »New Yorker«, bringt uns aus dem Wien und Graz am Vorabend des Ersten Weltkriegs ins Paris und Berlin der Goldenen Zwanzigerjahre, aus Hitler-Deutschland über Russland ins Amerika der Sechziger- und Siebzigerjahre. Er führt uns durch ein labyrinthisches Reich, von Jean Sibelius bis Lou Reed, von Gustav Mahler bis Björk. Und wir folgen dem Aufstieg der Massenkultur wie der Politik der Massen, den dramatischen Veränderungen durch neue Techniken genauso wie den Kriegen, Experimenten, Revolutionen und Aufständen der zurückliegenden 100 Jahre. »Eine unwiderstehliche Einladung, sich mit den großen Themen des 20. Jahrhunderts zu beschäftigen.« Fritz Stern

The Rest is Noise

Das 20. Jahrhundert hören

Author: Alex Ross

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: 9783492301893

Category: Music

Page: 704

View: 4335

Aufregend erzählte (Hör-)Reise durch die Klangwelten des 20. Jahrhunderts

The Rest Is Noise

Listening to the Twentieth Century

Author: Alex Ross

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN: 9781429932882

Category: History

Page: 640

View: 8804

The scandal over modern music has not died down. While paintings by Pablo Picasso and Jackson Pollock sell for a hundred million dollars or more, shocking musical works from Stravinsky's Rite of Spring onward still send ripples of unease through audiences. At the same time, the influence of modern music can be felt everywhere. Avant-garde sounds populate the soundtracks of Hollywood thrillers. Minimalist music has had a huge effect on rock, pop, and dance music from the Velvet Underground onward. Alex Ross, the brilliant music critic for The New Yorker, shines a bright light on this secret world, and shows how it has pervaded every corner of twentieth century life. The Rest Is Noise takes the reader inside the labyrinth of modern sound. It tells of maverick personalities who have resisted the cult of the classical past, struggled against the indifference of a wide public, and defied the will of dictators. Whether they have charmed audiences with the purest beauty or battered them with the purest noise, composers have always been exuberantly of the present, defying the stereotype of classical music as a dying art. Ross, in this sweeping and dramatic narrative, takes us from Vienna before the First World War to Paris in the twenties, from Hitler's Germany and Stalin's Russia to downtown New York in the sixties and seventies. We follow the rise of mass culture and mass politics, of dramatic new technologies, of hot and cold wars, of experiments, revolutions, riots, and friendships forged and broken. In the tradition of Simon Schama's The Embarrassment of Riches and Louis Menand's The Metaphysical Club, the end result is not so much a history of twentieth-century music as a history of the twentieth century through its music.

The Rest Is Noise Series: Dance of the Earth: The Rite, the Folk, le Jazz

Author: Alex Ross

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007519575

Category: Music

Page: 55

View: 5606

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.

The Rest Is Noise Series: Doctor Faust: Schoenberg, Debussy, and Atonality

Author: Alex Ross

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007519567

Category: Music

Page: 50

View: 5443

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.

The Rest Is Noise Series: Sunken Cathedrals: Music at Century’s End

Author: Alex Ross

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007522193

Category: Music

Page: 30

View: 363

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.

The Rest Is Noise Series: Beethoven Was Wrong: Bop, Rock, and the Minimalists

Author: Alex Ross

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 0007522150

Category: Music

Page: 30

View: 2817

This is a chapter from Alex Ross’s groundbreaking history of twentieth-century classical music, ‘The Rest is Noise’. Further extracts are available as digital shorts, accompanying the London Southbank festival programme.

Listen to This

Author: Alex Ross

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN: 9781429977616

Category: Music

Page: 384

View: 1974

One of The Telegraph's Best Music Books 2011 Alex Ross's award-winning international bestseller, The Rest Is Noise: Listening to the Twentieth Century, has become a contemporary classic, establishing Ross as one of our most popular and acclaimed cultural historians. Listen to This, which takes its title from a beloved 2004 essay in which Ross describes his late-blooming discovery of pop music, showcases the best of his writing from more than a decade at The New Yorker. These pieces, dedicated to classical and popular artists alike, are at once erudite and lively. In a previously unpublished essay, Ross brilliantly retells hundreds of years of music history—from Renaissance dances to Led Zeppelin—through a few iconic bass lines of celebration and lament. He vibrantly sketches canonical composers such as Schubert, Verdi, and Brahms; gives us in-depth interviews with modern pop masters such as Björk and Radiohead; and introduces us to music students at a Newark high school and indie-rock hipsters in Beijing. Whether his subject is Mozart or Bob Dylan, Ross shows how music expresses the full complexity of the human condition. Witty, passionate, and brimming with insight, Listen to This teaches us how to listen more closely.

Richard Wagner

Die Inszenierung eines Lebens

Author: Ulrich Drüner

Publisher: Karl Blessing Verlag

ISBN: 3641179270

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 832

View: 9941

Ein epochales Werk, das unseren Blick auf Richard Wagner verändern wird. Nach heutigen Maßstäben hätte Wagner spätestens 1855 mit den Erfolgen von Rienzi und Lohengrin finanziell ausgesorgt haben müssen. Statt dessen musste er Bettelbriefe schreiben und Mäzene suchen, wegen seiner Sucht nach Luxus, aber auch, weil das frühe 19. Jahrhundert ernsthafte Komponisten schlechter entlohnte als spektakuläre Virtuosen. Wagner gelang es, um sich und sein Schaffen einen Mythos zu kreieren, der ihm neue finanzielle – und künstlerische – Möglichkeiten eröffnete. Zu diesem Mythos gehörte, dass Richard Wagner als deutscher Künstler von der jüdischen Presse ungerecht behandelt, von dem jüdischen Komponisten Meyerbeer getäuscht und von dem jüdischen Musikverleger Schlesinger ausgebeutet wurde – faustdicke Lügen, wie Drüner aus den Quellen zeigt. So wie Luxus, Seide und Parfüms, weibliche Zuneigung, tiefe Freundschaften (Nietzsche, Liszt) brauchte Wagner zum Komponieren sehr lange diesen antisemitischen Impuls. Zu seiner Selbstinszenierung gehörte auch das Rezitieren und Deklamieren seiner Dichtung im engsten Kreise, woraus er die Sprachmelodie und die Inspiration gewann. Diese Biografie zeigt, wie Wagner nicht nur als Komponist, Regisseur und Dirigent wegweisend wirkte, sondern auch das Berufsbild des sich immer wieder neu erfindenden Intellektuellen in Deutschland maßgebend prägte.

Bel Canto

Roman

Author: Ann Patchett

Publisher: Piper Schicksalsvoll

ISBN: 3492983006

Category: Fiction

Page: 377

View: 6233

Der Champagner fließt, die wundervolle Stimme einer Weltklasse Sopranistin erfüllt den Palazzo – die politische Elite feiert ausgelassen. Plötzlich fallen Schüsse. Eine Bande von Terroristen stürmt den Raum und nimmt die ganze Gesellschaft in Geiselhaft. Es gibt keinen Ausweg. Und noch ahnt niemand, was die verzaubernde, einende Kraft der Musik in dieser lebensbedrohlichen Situation auszurichten vermag.