The Lost Plot

Author: Genevieve Cogman

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 919

The fourth title in Genevieve Cogman's witty and wonderful The Invisible Library series, The Lost Plotis an action-packed literary adventure. A covert mission. A royal demand. And a race against time. In a 1920s-esque America, Prohibition is in force, fedoras, flapper dresses and tommy guns are in fashion, and intrigue is afoot. Intrepid Librarians Irene and Kai find themselves caught in the middle of a dragon vs dragon contest. It seems a young librarian has become tangled in this conflict, and if they can't extricate him there could be serious political repercussions for the mysterious Library. And, as the balance of power across mighty factions hangs in the balance, this could even trigger war. Irene and Kai find themselves trapped in a race against time (and dragons) to procure a rare book. They'll face gangsters, blackmail and fiendish security systems. And if this doesn't end well, it could have dire consequences for Irene's job. And, incidentally, for her life . . .

The Lost Plot: The Invisible Library 4

Author: Genevieve Cogman

Publisher: Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 587

The fourth title in Genevieve Cogman's witty and wonderful The Invisible Library series, The Lost Plot is an action-packed literary adventure. A covert mission A royal demand And a race against time In a 1930s-esque Chicago, Prohibition is in force, fedoras, flapper dresses and tommy guns are in fashion, and intrigue is afoot. Intrepid Librarians Irene and Kai find themselves caught in the middle of a dragon vs dragon contest. It seems a young librarian has become tangled in this conflict, and if they can't extricate him there could be serious political repercussions for the mysterious Library. And, as the balance of power across mighty factions hangs in the balance, this could even trigger war. Irene and Kai find themselves trapped in a race against time (and dragons) to procure a rare book. They'll face gangsters, blackmail and fiendish security systems. And if this doesn't end well, it could have dire consequences for Irene's job. And, incidentally, for her life . . .

The Mortal Word

Author: Genevieve Cogman

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 326

The Mortal Word is part of Genevieve Cogman’s witty and wonderful Invisible Library series, which can be enjoyed as part of a sequence or as standalones. A corrupt countess. A spy in danger. And an assassin at large. Peace talks are always tricky . . . especially when a key diplomat gets stabbed. This murder rudely interrupts a top-secret summit between the warring dragons and Fae, so Librarian-spy Irene is summoned to investigate. In a version of 1890s Paris, Irene and her detective friend Vale must track down the killer – before either the peace negotiations or the city go up in flames. Accusations fly thick and fast. Irene soon finds herself in the seedy depths of the Parisian underworld on the trail of a notoriously warlike Fae, the Blood Countess. However, the evidence against the Countess is circumstantial. Could the assassin – or assassins – be closer than anyone suspects? The Mortal Word is perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Sherlock Holmes. 'Captivating story with animated characters . . . cracking pace' Guardian

The Masked City

Author: Genevieve Cogman

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 468

"The written word is mightier than the sword--most of the time... Working in an alternate version of Victorian London, Librarian-spy Irene has settled into a routine, collecting important fiction for the mysterious Library and blending in nicely with the local culture. But when her apprentice, Kai--a dragon of royal descent--is kidnapped by the Fae, her carefully crafted undercover operation begins to crumble. Kai's abduction could incite a conflict between the forces of chaos and order that would devastate all worlds and all dimensions..."--

Once Upon a Time

Using Storytelling, Creative Drama, and Reader's Theater with Children in Grades PreK-6

Author: Judy Freeman

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 277

View: 847

Offers activities, strategies, and creative ideas for using nonsense rhymes, songs, chants, and folk literature to promote thinking, reading, and listening skills in young learners.

Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Review

Author: Neil Barron

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN:

Category: Fantasy fiction

Page: 202

View: 749

"Science Fiction & Fantasy Book Review" was founded in 1979 to provide comprehensive coverage of all the major and minor books being released in the genre at that time. This was the golden era of SF publishing, with a thousand titles (old and new) hitting the stands and the bookshelves each and every year. From the older classics to the newest speculative fiction, this was the period when the best and the brightest shined forth their talents. SF&FBR included reviews by writers in the field, by amateur critics, and by litterateurs and University professors. Over a thousand books were covered during the single year of publication, many of them having been reviewed no where else, before or since. The January 1980 issue includes a comprehensive index of all the works featured during the preceding year. This reprint will be a welcome addition to the literature of science fiction and fantasy criticism. Neil Barron is a retired bibliographer and literary critic, editor of the acclaimed "Anatomy of Wonder" series. Robert Reginald was the publisher for twenty-five years of Borgo Press, and has authored over 110 books of his own."

Sequels

An Annotated Guide to Novels in Series

Author: Janet Husband

Publisher: American Library Association

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 782

View: 928

A guide to series fiction lists popular series, identifies novels by character, and offers guidance on the order in which to read unnumbered series.

Quill & Quire

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Book industries and trade

Page:

View: 555