Sleeping by the Mississippi

Author:

Publisher: Steidl / Edition7L

ISBN:

Category: Photography

Page: 120

View: 672

Evolving from a series of road trips along the Mississippi River, Alec Soths Sleeping by the Mississippi captures Americas iconic yet oft-neglected third coast. Soths richly descriptive, large format color photographs describe an eclectic mix of individuals, landscapes, and interiors. Sensuous in detail and raw in subject, his book elicits a consistent mood of loneliness, longing and reverie. In the books forty-six ruthlessly edited pictures, writes Anne Wilkes Tucker, Soth alludes to illness, procreation, race, crime, learning, art, music, death, religion, redemption, politics, and cheap sex The coherence of the project places Soths book exactly within the tradition of Walker Evans American Photographs and Robert Franks The Americans. Like Franks classic book, Sleeping by the Mississippi merges a documentary style with a poetic sensibility. The Mississippi is less the subject of the book than its organizing structure. Not bound by a rigid concept or ideology, the series is created out of a quintessentially American spirit of wanderlust. This is the third print run and third new cover of a book which has become one of the most highly collected and widely acclaimed photo-books of recent times.

Sleeping by the Mississippi

Author: Alec Soth

Publisher: Steidl / Edition7L

ISBN:

Category: Photography

Page: 120

View: 943

Essays by Anne Wilkes Tucker and Patricia Hampl.

Opening of the Mississippi

Or Two Years' Campaigning in the South-west. A Record of the Campaigns, Sieges, Actions and Marches in which the 8th Wisconsin Volunteers Have Participated

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: United States

Page: 149

View: 535

From Here to There

Alec Soth's America

Author: Alec Soth

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Photography

Page: 224

View: 138

A catalog of an exhibition highlighting more than two hundred photographs of everyday America.

Between the Lakes

Artists Respond to Madison

Author: Stephen Robert Frankel

Publisher: Madison Art Center

ISBN:

Category: Art, American

Page: 77

View: 771

"Between the Lakes" accompanies an exhibition of the same title. Seven artists will explore the layers of history, memory and culture that have shaped the city of Madison and Dane County.

Suburban World

The Norling Photos

Author: Brad Zellar

Publisher: Minnesota Historical Society

ISBN:

Category: Photography

Page: 134

View: 856

An amateur photographer's astonishing collection of images that showcase the often unexpected psyche of a developing American suburb in the 1950s and 60s.