Royal Academy of Arts Desk Diary 2019

Author: Flame Tree Studio

Publisher: Flame Tree Publishing

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 96

View: 894

Combining high-quality production with magnificent fine art, this luxurious week-to-view diary features artists from the Royal Academy of Arts. On its cover is a hugely popular design, Artist's Palette, from the acclaimed artist Grayson Perry. This diary makes a perfect gift or a special treat just for you.

Chase's Calendar of Events 2018

The Ultimate Go-to Guide for Special Days, Weeks and Months

Author: Editors of Chase's

Publisher: Bernan Press

ISBN:

Category: Reference

Page: 752

View: 662

Founded in 1957, Chase's observes its 60th anniversary with the 2018 edition! Users will find everything worth knowing and celebrating for each day of the year: 12,500 holidays, historical milestones, famous birthdays, festivals, sporting events and much more. "One of the most impressive reference volumes in the world."--Publishers Weekly.

Baker Street Academy: Sherlock Holmes and the Baker Street Curse

Author: Sam Hearn

Publisher: Scholastic UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 160

View: 723

Welcome to Baker Street Academy, where there's always a mystery to be solved! Luckily Sherlock Holmes is on the case, with his friends John Watson and Martha Hudson. Told through Watson's diary, with energetic comic-strip illustrations, this introduction to Arthur Conan Doyle's classic characters will have every young super-sleuth hooked!

Who is who in Music

A Complete Presentation of the Contemporary Musical Scene, with a Master Record Catalogue

Author: Lee Stern

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Music

Page:

View: 743

The Convert

Author: Danai Gurira

Publisher: Oberon Books

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 112

View: 150

Western cultural impositions and Ancient African traditions make strange bedfellows. Never sleeping with both eyes shut for fear the other will strike. It’s 1896 in Rhodesia and Jekesai has just been given her new, Catholic name. Chilford, the only black Roman Catholic teacher in the region, has decided she’ll now be known as Ester, wear European clothing and speak only in English. She’s torn away from everything that she knows by her fellow African who earnestly believes the promises of the White man. The Convert is a compelling exploration of a pivotal moment in history, when resisting the invading Western culture could mean death.

The Last Equation of Isaac Severy

A Novel in Clues

Author: Nova Jacobs

Publisher: Atria Books

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 137

*Wall Street Journal’s “Mysteries: Best of 2018” *Book of the Month Club Selection *Edgar Award Nominee: Best First Novel by an American Author A “hugely entertaining” (Wall Street Journal) mystery starring “a Royal Tenenbaums-esque clan of geniuses” (Martha Stewart Living)—perfect for fans of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore. In this “riveting…brilliant” (Booklist) debut, Hazel Severy, the owner of a struggling Seattle bookstore, receives a letter from her adoptive grandfather—mathematician Isaac Severy—days after he dies in a suspected suicide. In his puzzling letter, Isaac alludes to a secretive organization that is after his final bombshell equation, and he charges Hazel with safely delivering it to a trusted colleague. But first, she must find where the equation is hidden. While in Los Angeles for Isaac’s funeral, Hazel realizes she’s not the only one searching for his life’s work, and that the equation’s implications have potentially disastrous consequences for the extended Severy family, a group of dysfunctional geniuses unmoored by the sudden death of their patriarch. As agents of an enigmatic company shadow Isaac’s favorite son—a theoretical physicist—and a long-lost cousin mysteriously reappears in Los Angeles, the equation slips further from Hazel’s grasp. She must unravel a series of confounding clues hidden inside one of her favorite novels, drawing her ever closer to his mathematical treasure. But when her efforts fall short, she is forced to enlist the help of those with questionable motives. “A novel that is anything but clueless, filled with consideration and compassion” (The Washington Post), The Last Equation of Isaac Severy proves that, like Hazel, you don’t have to love math to fall under the Severy spell.

Paddington Goes to Town

Author: Michael Bond

Publisher: Yearling Books

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 125

View: 532

Paddington is mistaken for a panhandler during an excursion downtown to see the Christmas lights.