Jill the Reckless

Author: P. G. Wodehouse

Publisher: The Floating Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 593

View: 853

Although P.G. Wodehouse's woebegone protagonists are usually young men, in Jill the Reckless the master of British humor turns his attention to the fairer sex. Jill Mariner's young adulthood is beset by an array of mishaps and misfortunes -- but will she work her way out of the wreckage and find true love? If you're already a Wodehouse fan, you can probably guess the correct answer, but dip into Jill the Reckless to hear the tale told as only he can tell it.

Reckless

Author: Craig Lucas

Publisher: Dramatists Play Service Inc

ISBN:

Category: Drama

Page: 57

View: 377

THE STORY: At home on Christmas Eve, Rachel is informed by her guilty husband that he has hired a hitman to kill her, and she must flee for her life--which she does by scrambling out the kitchen window and into the snowy night. She meets and joins u

Reckless Night in Rio

Author: Jennie Lucas

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 192

View: 760

"All you need to do is… pretend to love me." The task should be easy for Laura Parker— after all, Gabriel Santos is outrageously good-looking, it's for one night only and he is offering her a million dollars.… There are just three things to consider, however: 1. They've already had one steamy, unforgettable night together in Rio. 2. Laura's been in love with Gabriel ever since. 3. Gabriel's never wanted children, but he's not aware he's the father of Laura's baby.…

Reckless

Author: Lesley Choyce

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 128

View: 578

Josh knows he’s riding recklessly when he knocks down an old man on a logging road. But he is shocked when the old man walks into the forest with his dirt bike. A week without his beloved bike motivates Josh to hike into the woods to confront the crazy old man he suspects is the hermit of Loggerman Creek.

Reckless Faith

Living Passionately as Imperfect Christians

Author: Jo Kadlecek

Publisher: WaterBrook

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 128

View: 539

Holy Human He was impulsive, arrogant, and passionate to a fault. Yet Jesus chose him to lead the early church. Peter, one of the most colorful of Jesus’ disciples, paints the picture of a man who wants desperately to be holy but is hampered by being all too human. Sound familiar? Reckless Faith looks at this caustic, cocky, cowardly, chosen man and what his life has to say to Christians today. Through a study of his letters, the book of Acts, and the Gospels, Peter springs off the page as one who held nothing back, lived large, and was used by God despite his most sinful nature. This Fisherman Resource includes author commentary, interactive questions, and opportunities for reflection as you discover how God allows us to come to him as holy and human. Great for individual study or in a group, Reckless Faith will show you that being a follower of God doesn’t necessarily mean having it all together. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Reckless

The Racehorse Who Became a Marine Corps Hero

Author: Tom Clavin

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 320

View: 526

From the New York Times bestselling coauthor of The Heart of Everything That Is, comes the unlikely story of a racehorse who truly became a war hero, beloved by the Marine Corps and decorated for bravery. Her Korean name was Ah-Chim-Hai—Flame-of-the-Morning. A four-year-old chestnut-colored Mongolian racehorse, she once amazed the crowds in Seoul with her remarkable speed. But when war shut down the tracks, the star racer was sold to an American Marine and trained to carry heavy loads of artillery shells across steep hills under a barrage of bullets and bombs. The Marines renamed her Reckless. Reckless soon proved fearless under fire, boldly marching alone through the fiery gauntlet, exposed to explosions and shrapnel. On some of her uphill treks, Reckless shielded human reinforcements. The Chinese, soon discovering the bravery of this magnificent animal, made a special effort to kill her. But Reckless never slowed. As months passed, the men came to appreciate her not just as a horse but as a fellow Marine.

Jill the Reckless

Author: Pelham Grenville Wodehouse

Publisher: Library of Alexandria

ISBN:

Category: New York (State)

Page: 313

View: 748

Sgt. Reckless

America's War Horse

Author: Robin Hutton

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Pets

Page: 368

View: 287

A New York Times Bestseller! From the racetrack to the battlefield—dauntless, fearless, and exemplar of Semper Fi—she was Reckless, "pride of the Marines." A Mongolian mare who was bred to be a racehorse, Ah-Chim-Hai, or Flame-of-the-Morning, belonged to a young boy named Kim-Huk-Moon. In order to pay for a prosthetic leg for his sister, Kim made the difficult decision to sell his beloved companion. Lieutenant Eric Pedersen purchased the bodacious mare and renamed her Reckless, for the Recoilless Rifles Platoon, Anti-Tank Division, of the 5th Marines she’d be joining. The four-legged equine braved minefields and hailing shrapnel to deliver ammunition to her division on the frontlines. In one day alone, performing fifty-one trips up and down treacherous terrain, covering a distance of over thirty-five miles, and rescuing wounded comrades-in-arms, Reckless demonstrated her steadfast devotion to the Marines who had become her herd. Despite only measuring about thirteen hands high, this pint-sized equine became an American hero. Reckless was awarded two Purple Hearts for her valor and was officially promoted to staff sergeant twice, a distinction never bestowed upon an animal before or since. Author Robin Hutton has reignited excitement about this nearly forgotten legend, realizing the Sgt. Reckless Memorial Monument at the National Museum of the Marine Corps, completed in July 2013, and now spurring the creation of a second memorial at Camp Pendleton, California, where Reckless lived out the rest of her days. The paperback edition includes a new foreword by General James F. Amos, 35th Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps. It will appeal to fans of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit, Elizabeth Letts' The Eighty Dollar Champion, and the feature film War Horse.

Reckless: An It Girl Novel

An It Girl Novel

Author:

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 168

View: 120

Jenny was totally enjoying the attention of the three hottest guys on campus. But she's ecstatic now that she's bagged arty Easy Walsh as her boyfriend. Unfortunately he used to belong to someone else...Jenny's roommate: gorgeous, popular Callie Vernon. It doesn't take long for Tinsley to use this to her advantage and soon the girls are split across enemy lines. But all's fair in love and war, and Tinsley better hope that the one secret she's managed to keep hidden for years doesn't get revealed... Who knew boarding school could be this good?

Reckless Faith

Embracing a Life without Limits

Author: Kevin G. Harney

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 208

View: 861

In a world where we tend to be over-cautious about, well, nearly everything, it's no surprise that our obsession with safety can carry over to how we live our faith in the world. But it's always been risky to follow God, and Kevin Harney believes we are missing a vital part of our faith when we play it safe. In this energizing book, he challenges readers to count the cost, take a chance, and live a reckless faith for the entire world to see. With a focus on "responsible recklessness," Harney shows readers how to develop a faith that others notice, always supported by prayer, wisdom, the direction of Scripture, and insightful counsel from other believers. He outlines how to be reckless in our love, generosity, service, relationships, prayers, and speech. Perfect for pastors, small groups, or anyone who is tired of feeling domesticated and docile, this book will lead readers into a fresh devotion and dynamism in their faith.