Seeing the Big Picture

A Christian’S Guide to the Old Testament

Author: Dr Alastair T. Ferrie

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Religion

Page: 286

View: 730

To many Christians the Old Testament is a mysterious document, a treasure hidden in the dust of antiquity. It is historical, it tells the story of ancient Israel but has it anything to do with me? Seeing the Big Picture is the story of one mans voyage of discovery. The Bible as a whole is the dramatic story of redemption, which comes to a climax in the New Testament. In every book of the Old Testament the theme of the coming of Christ is there, burning brightly like a lamp in the darkness, heralding the day when the glory of the Christ would burst majestically forth. Suddenly I saw that this was truly one story. It was almost as if someone had turned a light on. I could see things much more clearly and so many aspects of the New Testament study were brought into such clear focus that I understood as never before.

The DeChance Chronicles Omnibus - Books 1-4

Author: David Niall Wilson

Publisher: Crossroad Press

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 740

Donovan DeChance is a collector of ancient manuscripts and books, a practicing mage, and a private investigator. This Omnibus Collection includes books I, II, III, and IV of the series. Included are Heart of a Dragon, Vintage Soul, My Soul to Keep (The Origin story of Donovan DeChance) and Kali's Tale - book IV of the series. Also included are the bonus novellas "The Not Quite Right Reverend Cletus J. Diggs & The Currently Accepted Habits of Nature," and "The Preacher's Marsh," both of which provide background on settings and characters that appear in Kali's Tale. If you enjoy this book, you should read Nevermore, A Novel of Love, Loss & Edgar Allan Poe, which follows on Kali's Tale, has a cameo from Donovan DeChance, and leads into Book V - A Midnight Dreary, currently in progress. Heart of a Dragon: When a local houngan begins meddling with powers she may not be able to control, a turf war breaks out between the Dragons motorcycle club and the Los Escorpiones street gang—a war that threatens to open portals between worlds and destroy the city in the process. With his lover, Amethyst, his familiar, Cleo – an Egyptian Mau the size of a small bobcat –the dubious aid of a Mexican sorcerer named Martinez and the budding gifts of a young artist named Salvatore, DeChance begins a race against time, magic, and almost certain death. Vintage Soul: When, despite the finest in natural and supernatural security, a sexy and well-loved, three hundred year old lady vampire is kidnapped right out from under her lover's nose, Donovan is called in to investigate. There will be no ransom for the kidnap victim, and if Donovan doesn't prevent an ancient, forbidden ritual from reaching its culmination, far more than a single vampire's undead existence will be at stake. My Soul to Keep: Donovan DeChance is a very private man, and he is in love. When he invites his partner and lover, Amethyst, for a quiet dinner, she has no idea of his true intention. Donovan has planned a sharing - a vision that will give her the keys to his early life - the origins of his power - and a lot more than she bargained for. Join young Donovan as he fights to keep his soul, save a town, and learn the roots of his teacher and guardian - and meet his familiar, Cleo. Kali's Tale: When Donovan is asked to follow in secret as a hot-headed group of young vampires set out on a 'blood quest' to kill the ancient who created the young vampire Kali against her will, he learns that - as usual - there is a lot more to the story than meets the eye. Through the juke joints of Beale Street in Memphis, to the depths of The Great Dismal Swamp, Donovan and his lover and partner, Amethyst, find themselves drawn along on one of the strangest quests in their long, enigmatic lives as they delve into the world of the undead, the magic of The Blues, and the very heart of alchemy both to protect their young, vampiric charges - and to prevent an ancient evil from destroying the balance of power in the universe. This novel directly crosses over to the original series O.C.L.T. - where Donovan is a sometimes consultant. It features appearances by Geoffrey Bullfinch and Rebecca York, O.C.L.T. agents, as well as Old Mill, North Carolina's own Cletus J. Diggs.

The Hiding Places

A compelling tale of murder and deceit with a twist you won’t see coming

Author: Katherine Webb

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 809

The perfect book group read for fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore. A secret buried so deep, only a liar could uncover it '..towards the end, comes a twist in the plot so bold it will leave you blinking...A thoroughly satisfying read.' WI Life One hot summer in 1922. A house at the heart of the village. A crime that will shock the community. A man accused and two women with everything to lose. When Donny Cartwright is accused of murder, his sister Pudding is determined to discover the identity of the real killer. Together with newcomer, Irene, she begins to uncover the truth - a secret that has been buried for years. But when they happen upon a strange object, hidden in the past, they realise it will change everything . . . Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb: 'An enormously talented writer' Santa Montefiore 'I've loved all of Katherine Webb's books' Kate Riordan 'Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful' Elizabeth Fremantle 'Webb has a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart' Kate Williams 'A truly gifted writer of historical fiction' Lucinda Riley

World Historical Fiction

An Annotated Guide to Novels for Adults and Young Adults

Author: Lynda G. Adamson

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 719

View: 858

An annotated bibliography covering the best in historical fiction set all around the world

New Zealand Books in Print

Author: Bowker

Publisher: Bowker-Saur

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 450

View: 583

More than 20,000 titles from New Zealand & the surrounding Pacific Islands can be located by title, publisher, & subject in this key resource. Also serving as a comprehensive directory to the region's publishing & bookselling industry, NEW ZEALAND BOOKS IN PRINT lists book, video, & audiocassette distributors; book trade associations; literary awards; agents; booksellers; libraries; & others. From D.W. Thorpe.

So Much To Tell

Author: Valerie Grove

Publisher: Penguin UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 723

Kaye Webb, a journalist with no publishing experience, burst into the world of children's books in 1961 and changed the face of children's publishing forever. Her child-like enthusiasm and shrewd business mind led her to become Puffin's most successful editor and the genius behind the Puffin Club, which opened up the exciting world of authors and books to children across Britain. But whilst Kaye's professional life had worked out beautifully, her private life had been the reverse. Kaye had two husbands before her marriage to the artist Ronald Searle, and the torment of his sudden and shocking departure never left her. Yet to the outside world Kaye Webb remained passionate and unstoppable. This is the unknown story of the woman who brought the joy of books to children everywhere whilst battling the emotional pain that plagued her private life.

The Threshold

Author: R. King

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 24

View: 148

***This book has temporarily been removed from availability, and will be re-released in a NEW AND REVISED EDITION in Spring 2015 (which means if the Try It Now is still in effect, you can ignore it :) ). In the meantime, please see STONE AND A HARD PLACE, Book 1 of the Alastair Stone Chronicles, available now!***

What Do I Read Next? 2002

Author: Gale Group

Publisher: Gale Cengage

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 712

View: 796

Contains descriptions of 1,201 books in nine fiction genres published in late 2001 and 2002, each including the author or editor's name, publication information, story type, major characters, subject, plot summary, and lists of reviews and other books by the same writer; arranged alphabetically by author in each genre section.

Junior Genreflecting

A Guide to Good Reads and Series Fiction for Children

Author: Bridget Dealy Volz

Publisher: Englewood, Colo. : Libraries Unlimited

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 187

View: 546

Grouping titles by specific themes and subtopics, describes content and features of popular paperback series, classics, and books published after 1990, and provides historical background to six different genres.