Our Rose

A compelling saga of war, family and hope

Author: Victor Pemberton

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 333

View: 543

There are some problems a quick wit cannot overcome... As war descends on London, a young woman struggles to hold her family together in Victor Pemberton's gripping saga Our Rose. Perfect for fans of Harry Bowling and Dilly Court. Growing up just around the corner from Islington's Chapel Market, the second of six children born in the tiny flat above Mr Popov's piano factory, red-headed, big-hearted Rose Humble is used to holding her own in the world. When there's a family problem - her father's arrest for thieving, her mother losing her job at the London Transport Staff Canteen - it is Rose who somehow manages to bring the Humbles through the crisis. But as she grows older and war starts to cast its shadow over all their lives, Rose realises there are some problems a quick wit and a ready tongue cannot solve. And she also comes to see that there are people who are not all they seem... What readers are saying about Our Rose: 'This has to be the best book I have ever bought' 'What impressed me the most about the book was the absolute attention to detail that made you feel like you were there with Rose in wartime London' 'Our Rose was a wonderful story - I loved it from start to finish'

Caroline's War: Vale Valhalla

A compelling epic World War I saga

Author: Joy Chambers

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 480

View: 279

Before Caroline can find peace, the world must go to war... Caroline's War: Vale Valhalla follows the lives of a group of Australians through the years prior to, and during, the Great War. From bestselling author Joy Chambers, this tale is the perfect read for fans of Pam Jenoff and Margaret Leroy. At the novel's heart, is the constant life-long hatred between two mortal enemies and the woman who loves one of these men with an abiding passion yet marries the other: Matthew Craken, flamboyant dilettante; John Conrad Fleet, the steadfast, honest soldier; and Caroline Dere the woman in both their lives. When Matthew is badly injured by John Conrad in a fight over the death of John Conrad's sister, Matthew takes retribution by ensuring he captures Caro for himself. Their story is played out against the searing background of the First World War where ultimately Matthew, John Conrad and Caro find that the power of forgiveness can bring peace. What is being said about Joy Chambers' novels: 'Joy Chambers' research is amazing' 'I look forward to more. Joy Chambers just gets better with each book' 'Brimming with drama and intrigue' - Publishing News

Mother Jones Magazine

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 60

View: 557

Mother Jones is an award-winning national magazine widely respected for its groundbreaking investigative reporting and coverage of sustainability and environmental issues.

Hospital Management

Pub. in the Interest of Executives in Every Department of Hospital Work ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Hospitals

Page:

View: 911

1998 Publishers Trade List Annual

Reference Guide to Books & Related Products

Author: R R Bowker Publishing

Publisher: Reed Reference Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page:

View: 599

Library Journal

Author: Melvil Dewey

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Libraries

Page:

View: 504

Includes, beginning Sept. 15, 1954 (and on the 15th of each month, Sept.-May) a special section: School library journal, ISSN 0000-0035, (called Juniorlibraries, 1954-May 1961). Issued also separately.