Love and War

War changes one family forever...

Author: Dee Williams

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 244

View: 956

When the war changes family life forever, a mother finds strength in her East End community. Dee Williams writes an evocative saga in Love and War, as she follows a family through their wartime endeavours. Perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Harry Bowling. Living in their two-up-two-down in Rotherhithe in 1938, Eileen and Ronald Wells lead a happy and settled existence with their three daughters, all of whom have jobs, boyfriends and promising lives ahead of them. But soon the storm clouds of war engulf Europe and they suddenly find their idyllic family life thrown into chaos. Throughout the country young people hasten to join up, and Eileen watches anxiously as her two older girls do the same, one in the air force and one in the land army, while the youngest goes into a factory. With her family scattered and the war getting worse by the day, Eileen throws herself into the community, always on hand to help friends and neighbours when tragedy strikes, while savouring any rare moments of celebration. What readers are saying about Love and War: '[Dee Williams'] stories are so brilliant, there is at least one page in every book that reduces me to tears, I am so drawn into the story' 'I absolutely loved this book. From the moment I opened the cover I knew it would be a fab read. Story was great, characters were lovely and it took me back into a previous era. Cried buckets towards the end. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys books set in the war, about a great friendship and hard times' 'This is one of the best books I have ever read - it's brilliant with a great unexpected ending'

My Family for the War

Author: Anne C. Voorhoeve

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 412

View: 351

Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder medal for most oustanding children's book in translation. Escaping Nazi Germany on the kindertransport changes one girl's life forever At the start of World War II, ten-year-old Franziska Mangold is torn from her family when she boards the kindertransport in Berlin, the train that secretly took nearly 10,000 children out of Nazi territory to safety in England. Taken in by strangers who soon become more like family than her real parents, Frances (as she is now known) courageously pieces together a new life for herself because she doesn't know when or if she'll see her true family again. Against the backdrop of war-torn London, Frances struggles with questions of identity, family, and love, and these experiences shape her into a dauntless, charming young woman. Originally published in Germany, Anne Voorhoeve's award-winning novel is filled with humor, danger, and romance.

Reconciliation with War: A Family Journey

Author: Janelle Kaye, MA, and Charles Sidney W

Publisher: Xlibris Corporation

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 418

View: 593

Charles Willsher, who received the Distinguished Service Cross for his service during WWII, never fully recovered from his wounds. His wife and daughter became the victims of his inner war. In the 1980's, he began his own healing journey by telling his story to others. At the same time, his daughter embarked on her journey to healing and reconciliation with her family. After his death, his daughter uncovered his memoir and decided to include it along with their family story in hopes that it would inform and inspire others who are also dealing with the trauma that war leaves behind.

Songs of Love and War

Author: Santa Montefiore

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 113

Welcome to Castle Deverill, and the incredible sweeping story of love and family from bestselling author Santa Motefiore. Their lives were mapped out ahead of them. But love and war will change everything… Castle Deverill, nestled in the rolling Irish hills, is home to three very different women: flame-haired Kitty Deverill, her best friend and daughter of the castle’s cook, Bridie Doyle, and her flamboyant English cousin, Celia Deverill. When war breaks out, their lives will change forever. Wrenched apart by betrayal and swept to different parts of the globe, their friendship will be tested a thousand times over. But one bond will keep them together forever: their fierce and unwavering longing for Castle Deverill and all the memories contained within it. Fall in love with beloved bestselling author Santa Montefiore's epic tale of romance, secrets, family and friendship with this, the first novel in the beloved Deverill Chronicles, perfect for everyone who loves Jojo Moyes, Rosamund Pilcher and Victoria Hislop. ***What readers are saying about Santa Montefiore*** 'Nobody does epic romance like Santa Montefiore. Everything she writes, she writes from the heart' Jojo Moyes ‘I have a tendresse for sweeping and epic romantic sagas set around huge houses and aristocratic families and Santa Montefiore hits the spot for me like few other writers... Lush, vivid storytelling’ Sarra Manning ‘An ideal summer read. Laced with secrets and forbidden liaisons, it is sure to keep you turning the pages’ The Lady on The Beekeeper's Daughter ‘One of our personal favourites and bestselling authors, sweeping stories of love and families spanning continents and decades’ The Times

And Life is Changed Forever

Holocaust Childhoods Remembered

Author: Martin Ira Glassner

Publisher: Wayne State University Press

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 356

View: 411

Looking at the Holocaust through the eyes of children who lived through it, this collection offers an inspiring assortment of perspectives on survival.

Psychology of Friendship and Enmity, The

Relationships in Love, Work, Politics, and War

Author: Rom Harré

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN:

Category: PSYCHOLOGY

Page: 499

View: 549

This two-volume exploration of what might be termed "interpersonal war and peace" reveals why individuals and groups coalesce or collide, and how more positive relationships can be achieved.

Thirteen Soldiers

A Personal History of Americans at War

Author: John McCain

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 384

View: 733

A personal history of war from bestselling authors John McCain and Mark Salter, told through the stories of thirteen remarkable American soldiers who fought in the nation’s major military conflicts, from the Revolution of 1776 through the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. As a veteran himself, a member of the Senate Armed Services Committee, and a long-time student of history, John McCain brings a distinctive perspective to the experience of war. With Mark Salter, Thirteen Soldiers tells the stories of real soldiers who personify valor, obedience, enterprise, and love. You’ll meet Joseph Plumb Martin, who at the tender age of fifteen fought in the Revolutionary War; Charles Black, a freeborn African American sailor in the War of 1812; and Sam Chamberlain, of the Mexican American War, whose life inspired novelist Cormac McCarthy. Then there’s Oliver Wendell Holmes, an aristocratic idealist disillusioned by the Civil War, and Littleton “Tony” Waller, court-martialed for refusing to massacre Filipino civilians. Each story illustrates a particular aspect of war, such as Mary Rhoads, an Army reservist forever changed by an Iraqi scud missile attack during the Persian Gulf War; Monica Lin Brown, a frontline medic in rural Afghanistan who saved several lives in a convoy ambush; and Michael Monsoor, a Navy SEAL, who smothered a grenade before it could detonate on his men in Iraq. From their acts of self-sacrifice to their astonishing valor in the face of unimaginable danger, these “inspirational accounts of thirteen Americans who fought in various wars…aptly reveal humanizing moments in such theaters of cruelty” (Publishers Weekly).

When Daddy Came Home

How War Changed Family Life Forever

Author: Barry Turner

Publisher: Random House

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 416

View: 858

Compelling and moving real-life accounts of the impact on family life of the return of the troops at the end of the Second World War. Summer 1945. Britain was in jubilant mood. At last, the war was over. Soon the men would be coming home. Then everything would be fine: life would get back to normal. Or would it? Six long years of war had profoundly changed family life. For years, Dad had been a khaki figure in a photograph on the wall, a crumpled letter from overseas, an occasional visitor on weekend leave. Now he was here to stay, a stranger in a group that had learned to live without him - and was not always prepared to have him back. Most homecomings were joyful, never-to-be-forgotten moments of humour and hope. Others were hard. And there was no one to deal with the tears and the trauma. It would take hope and courage for families to live and love together again.

Love and Capital

Karl and Jenny Marx and the Birth of a Revolution

Author: Mary Gabriel

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 300

View: 821

Brilliantly researched and wonderfully written, LOVE AND CAPITAL reveals the rarely glimpsed and heartbreakingly human side of the man whose works would redefine the world after his death. Drawing upon previously unpublished material, acclaimed biographer Mary Gabriel tells the story of Karl and Jenny Marx's marriage. Through it, we see Karl as never before: a devoted father and husband, a prankster who loved a party, a dreadful procrastinator, freeloader, and man of wild enthusiasms-one of which would almost destroy his marriage. Through years of desperate struggle, Jenny's love for Karl would be tested again and again as she waited for him to finish his masterpiece, Capital. An epic narrative that stretches over decades to recount Karl and Jenny's story against the backdrop of Europe's Nineteenth Century, LOVE AND CAPITAL is a surprising and magisterial account of romance and revolution-and of one of the great love stories of all time.

The Well House

A Story of War, Peace, Love and Forever

Author: Mark VanVoorhis

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 380

View: 877

It was 1967. The conflict in Vietnam had become a war no one wanted. It was a time when the young had no future and the present was in doubt. Maggie O'Reilly, the daughter of wealthy Chicago socialites, had adopted her parents' disdain for the war. Clayton Wesley Riggs, a farm boy from Hope, Indiana, came from a long line of Marines and was expected to carry on the tradition. In spite of these differences, Clayton and Maggie begin a friendship at the "Well House" at Indiana University. That friendship would change both of their lives forever. The Well House is a story of peace and hope. Its message of war and the carnage of Vietnam strike a chord of truth for today. It is a story of how love transcends the boundaries of time and circumstance. It is a story for now and forever.