Lie with Me

(Decadence After Dark Book 4)

Author: M. Never

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 226

View: 610

Tell me a secret... CJ Carmichael hasn't been able to get the vivacious blonde he spent four delirious days with off his mind. The blonde who was completely off-limits, but he couldn't deny. Tell me a secret.... CJ had no intention of pursuing her, but Tara Stevens knew what she wanted and it was him. Now six months later, their time together still haunts him. As much as he's tried to talk himself out of seeing her again, the craving is just too powerful. Tell me a secret... Tara is more than willing to spend an entire fantasy weekend with CJ. More than willing to hand herself over to him completely and fulfill his every desire. More than willing to pretend he owns her despite their age difference and Kayne's disapproval. Tell me a secret... Sometimes fantasy becomes a reality. Sometimes people fall in love before they even know it - before they even know each other - and after it's too late. Tell me a secret... Sometimes, beneath the sweetest secrets are the most deceptive lies. *Lie With Me is a dark erotic romance and can be read as a standalone novel. Please pay close attention to the use of the words dark, erotic, and romance. It has intense sexual situations, mild abuse and some violence. Reader discretion is advised.*

The Lies You Told Me

A gripping psychological exploration of family secrets

Author: Jessica Ruston

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 289

View: 760

When I was little, my mother disappeared... A daughter searches for the truth behind her mother's disappearance in Jessica Ruston's riveting novel. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Linda Green's While My Eyes Were Closed. 'A tight, compelling study of love, obsession and breakdown. I couldn't stop reading' - Jojo Moyes 'I do not know what you have been told about your mother. But I know it cannot be the truth...' Klara Mortimer never really knew her mother, Sadie, a former model, who left when she was just six years old. All she has is a handful of stories, passed down from the father who raised her. Klara tells herself she has long ago come to terms with her mother's disappearance from her life, but then she receives a note and key from someone who calls themselves 'N.R.'. These lead her to a garage, full of the remnants of her mother's past, and to the diary she kept all those years ago. Within its pages, Klara discovers a woman who doesn't quite match the portrait her father has painstakingly painted for her, and a story that leads her to question everything she thought she knew... What readers are saying about The Lies You Told Me: 'Her [Jessica Ruston's] writing is well-crafted, well-paced and the attention to detail and ability to examine the dark side of people and situations, gives depth both to the story and the characters' 'A fantastic story that I could not tear my eyes from' 'I loved the way the novel managed to combine elements of a thriller and mystery along with a story about families, relationships and whether we ever truly know the people we surround ourselves with'

Parallel Lies

Author: Stella Duffy

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 354

Celebrity, identity and sexuality - the three poles of our fame-obsessed society, each one a magnet for secrets and lies . . . Despite her youth, Russian-born Yana Ivanova is already a Hollywood legend. She lives in a beautiful house in Beverly Hills with Jimmy, a sitcom star, and Penny, her British PA. Theirs is a strange and uneasy partnership, held together by sex, secrets and the fear of scandal. Then Yana starts receiving threatening letters from an anonymous but very knowledgeable source. Suspicion turns to fear, and fear leads to murder. But who exactly is conning whom? Stella Duffy has written crime novels and dark romantic comedies. Here she combines the two in a smart, sexy, suspenseful new novel. Poison pen letters, fake identities, misplaced affection, betrayal and murder . . . Still think a menage à trois sounds fun?

Cosmopolitan Style

Modernism Beyond the Nation

Author: Rebecca L. Walkowitz

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN:

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 248

View: 137

In this broad-ranging and ambitious intervention in the debates over the politics, ethics, and aesthetics of cosmopolitanism, Rebecca L. Walkowitz argues that modernist literary style has been crucial to new ways of thinking and acting beyond the nation. While she focuses on modernist narrative, Walkowitz suggests that style conceived expansively as attitude, stance, posture, and consciousness helps to explain many other, nonliterary formations of cosmopolitanism in history, anthropology, sociology, transcultural studies, and media studies. Walkowitz shows that James Joyce, Joseph Conrad, Virginia Woolf, Salman Rushdie, Kazuo Ishiguro, and W. G. Sebald use the salient features of literary modernism in their novels to explore different versions of transnational thought, question moral and political norms, and renovate the meanings of national culture and international attachment. By deploying literary tactics of naturalness, triviality, evasion, mix-up, treason, and vertigo, these six authors promote ideas of democratic individualism on the one hand and collective projects of antifascism or anti-imperialism on the other. Joyce, Conrad, and Woolf made their most significant contribution to this "critical cosmopolitanism" in their reflection on the relationships between narrative and political ideas of progress, aesthetic and social demands for literalism, and sexual and conceptual decorousness. Specifically, Walkowitz considers Joyce's critique of British imperialism and Irish nativism; Conrad's understanding of the classification of foreigners; and Woolf's exploration of how colonizing policies rely on ideas of honor and masculinity. Rushdie, Ishiguro, and Sebald have revived efforts to question the definitions and uses of naturalness, argument, utility, attentiveness, reasonableness, and explicitness, but their novels also address a range of "new ethnicities" in late-twentieth-century Britain and the different internationalisms of contemporary life. They use modernist strategies to articulate dynamic conceptions of local and global affiliation, with Rushdie in particular adding playfulness and confusion to the politics of antiracism. In this unique and engaging study, Walkowitz shows how Joyce, Conrad, and Woolf developed a repertoire of narrative strategies at the beginning of the twentieth century that were transformed by Rushdie, Ishiguro, and Sebald at the end. Her book brings to the forefront the artful idiosyncrasies and political ambiguities of twentieth-century modernist fiction.

The Whole book of health

Author: O. Quentin Hyder

Publisher: Fleming H. Revell Company

ISBN:

Category: Health & Fitness

Page: 414

View: 273

Roma Eterna

Author: Robert Silverberg

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 385

View: 364

The Roman Empire never fell. Riven by political ambition and internal dissent, thrown into turmoil by rebellion and civil war, it changed and adapted, and somehow it survived. The balance of power between Constantinopolis in the east and Roma in the west ebbed and flowed, but the Empire endured. And it continued to expand, encountering the New World while still dominating the old. Robert Silverberg's superbly accomplished and ambitious novel explores over fifteen hundred years of Roman history through the very human stories of some of those who lived it. The young soldier encountering the exoticism of the New World for the first time; the minor official exiled to Arabia, for some misdemeanour, whose meeting with a religious fanatic may have changed the course of history; the military hero seizing his destiny; the innocent British aristocrat witnessing at first hand the bloody destruction of the royal family, and the children who find the last emperor in a decaying house in an old wood are all vividly and memorably portrayed.

The Vampire Book

The Encyclopedia of the Undead

Author: J Gordon Melton

Publisher: Visible Ink Press

ISBN:

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 944

View: 122

The Ultimate Collection of Vampire Facts and Fiction Death and immortality, sexual prowess and surrender, intimacy and alienation, rebellion and temptation. The allure of the vampire is eternal. The Vampire Book: The Encyclopedia of the Undead, Third edition, explores the historical, literary, mythological, biographical, and popular aspects of one of the world's most mesmerizing paranormal subject. This vast reference is an alphabetical tour of the psychosexual, macabre world of the soul-sucking undead. In the first fully revised and updated edition in a decade, Dr. J. Gordon Melton (president of the American chapter of the Transylvania Society of Dracula) bites even deeper into vampire lore, myths, reported realities, and legends that come from all around the world. From Vlad the Impaler to Dracula and from modern literature to movies and TV series like Buffy the Vampire Slayer, True Blood, Twilight, and The Vampire Lestat, this exhaustive guide furnishes more than 400 essays to quench your thirst for facts, biographies, definitions, and more.

The Rotarian

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 64

View: 540

Established in 1911, The Rotarian is the official magazine of Rotary International and is circulated worldwide. Each issue contains feature articles, columns, and departments about, or of interest to, Rotarians. Seventeen Nobel Prize winners and 19 Pulitzer Prize winners – from Mahatma Ghandi to Kurt Vonnegut Jr. – have written for the magazine.

The Book on Joshua

Love at War in Iraq

Author: Eamon Kolarity

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 588

View: 369

Oh well, shes not my girl back home anyway. Her name is Halamie Tikara. Shes Iraqi, and not so far away. So complicated, our beautiful love. Human Intelligence Specialist Joshua Martin lies stranded and severely wounded after a night raid on an al-Qaeda hideout in Samarra. He spends a long night alone rememberingnot only intense combat but also growing up conflicted in Oklahoma. As he prays for a rescue at dawn, Joshua, the son of an evangelical minister, recalls his foray into first love at a church summer camp. A scandal while attending a Bible college drives Joshua to join the War on Terror. But he is really seeking true love abroad, not martial glory or divine forgiveness. It is a difficult search. Then he finds the spirited Halamie. The young couple must hide their budding romance from hard men. The Book on Joshua is a captivating exploration of a foreign war and forbidden love. A Christian boy and Muslim girl test their faith in each other against the backdrop of sectarian violence in 2005/2006 Iraq.

The Forgotten Highlander

My Incredible Story of Survival During the War in the Far East

Author: Alistair Urquhart

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 514

Alistair Urquhart was a soldier in the Gordon Highlanders captured by the Japanese in Singapore. He not only survived working on the notorious Bridge on the River Kwai , but he was subsequently taken on one of the Japanese 'hellships' which was torpedoed. Nearly everyone else on board died and Urquhart spent 5 days alone on a raft in the South China Sea before being rescued by a whaling ship. He was taken to Japan and then forced to work in a mine near Nagasaki. Two months later a nuclear bomb dropped just ten miles away . . . This is the extraordinary story of a young man, conscripted at nineteen and whose father was a Somme Veteran, who survived not just one, but three very close separate encounters with death - encounters which killed nearly all his comrades.