Institut Paul Bocuse Gastronomique

The definitive step-by-step guide to culinary excellence

Author: Institut Paul Bocuse

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 720

View: 457

The perfect guide for professional chefs in training and aspiring amateurs, this fully illustrated, comprehensive step-by-step manual covers all aspects of preparing, cooking and serving delicious, high-end food. An authoritative, unique reference book, it covers 250 core techniques in extensive, ultra-clear step-by-step photographs. These techniques are then put into practice in 70 classic and contemporary recipes, designed by chefs. With over 1,800 photographs in total, this astonishing reference work is the essential culinary bible for any serious cook, professional or amateur.

Let's Eat France!

1,250 specialty foods, 375 iconic recipes, 350 topics, 260 personalities, plus hundreds of maps, charts, tricks, tips, and anecdotes and everything else you want to know about the food of France

Author: François-Régis Gaudry

Publisher: Artisan Books

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 432

View: 660

There’s never been a book about food like Let’s Eat France! A book that feels literally larger than life, it is a feast for food lovers and Francophiles, combining the completist virtues of an encyclopedia and the obsessive visual pleasures of infographics with an enthusiast’s unbridled joy. Here are classic recipes, including how to make a pot-au-feu, eight essential composed salads, pâté en croûte, blanquette de veau, choucroute, and the best ratatouille. Profiles of French food icons like Colette and Curnonsky, Brillat-Savarin and Bocuse, the Troigros dynasty and Victor Hugo. A region-by-region index of each area’s famed cheeses, charcuterie, and recipes. Poster-size guides to the breads of France, the wines of France, the oysters of France—even the frites of France. You’ll meet endive, the belle of the north; discover the croissant timeline; understand the art of tartare; find a chart of wine bottle sizes, from the tiny split to the Nebuchadnezzar (the equivalent of 20 standard bottles); and follow the family tree of French sauces. Adding to the overall delight of the book is the random arrangement of its content (a tutorial on mayonnaise is next to a list of places where Balzac ate), making each page a found treasure. It’s a book you’ll open anywhere—and never want to close.

The Routledge Handbook of Sustainable Food and Gastronomy

Author: Philip Sloan

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 426

View: 312

The issues surrounding the provision, preparation and development of food products is fundamental to every human being on the planet. Given the scarcity of agricultural land, environmental pollution, climate change and the exponential growth of the world’s population where starvation and obesity are both widespread it is little wonder that exploring the frontiers of food is now a major focus for researchers and practitioners. This timely Handbook provides a systematic guide to the current state of knowledge on sustainable food. It begins by analyzing the historical development surrounding food production and consumption, then moves on to discuss the current food crisis and challenges as well as the impacts linked to modern agriculture and food security. Finally, it concludes with a section that examines emerging sustainable food trends and movements in addition to an analysis of current food science innovations. Developed from specifically commissioned original contributions the Handbook’s inherent multidisciplinary approach paves the way for deeper understanding of all aspects linked to the evolution of food in society, including insights into local food, food and tourism, organic food, indigenous and traditional food, sustainable restaurant practices, consumption patterns and sourcing. This book is essential reading for students, researches and academics interested in the possibilities of sustainable forms of gastronomy and gastronomy’s contribution to sustainable development. The title includes a foreword written by Roberto Flore, Head Chef at the Nordic Food Lab, Copenhagen, Denmark.

Encyclopedia of Food Security and Sustainability

Author:

Publisher: Elsevier

ISBN:

Category: Technology & Engineering

Page: 1894

View: 492

The Encyclopedia of Food Security and Sustainability covers the hottest topics in the science of food sustainability, providing a synopsis of the path society is on to secure food for a growing population. It investigates the focal issue of sustainable food production in relation to the effects of global change on food resources, biodiversity and global food security. This collection of methodological approaches and knowledge derived from expert authors around the world offers the research community, food industry, scientists and students with the knowledge to relate to, and report on, the novel challenges of food production and sustainability. This comprehensive encyclopedia will act as a platform to show how an interdisciplinary approach and closer collaboration between the scientific and industrial communities is necessary to strengthen our existing capacity to generate and share research data. Offers readers a ‘one-stop’ resource on the topic of food security and sustainability Contains articles split into sections based on the various dimensions of Food Security and Food Sustainability Written by academics and practitioners from various fields and regions with a “farm to fork understanding Includes concise and accessible chapters, providing an authoritative introduction for non-specialists and readers from undergraduate level upwards, as well as up-to-date foundational content for those familiar with the field

The Prodigal Daughter

a gripping family saga full of life-changing decisions, love and conflict

Author: Prue Leith

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 802

Emotional family saga following the Angelotti food dynasty, from household name Prue Leith. Perfect for fans of Penny Vincenzi and Barbara Taylor Bradford. A new generation. It is 1968. Angelica Angelotti has grown up in her parents' Italian restaurant. Now she is striking out on her own in Paris. There she falls in love with her charismatic but unpredictable cousin Mario. A fresh challenge. Navigating a blossoming career, from the Savoy hotel to the world of television, alongside an increasingly toxic relationship proves impossible. The offer to run the pub on her family's estate as a restaurant seems like the perfect escape. Chorlton has called her home... A brighter future. Soon she has a thriving business, and even the chance of a new love. But when Mario reappears, determined to win her back, will Angelica be able to hold on to everything she's sacrificed so much for?

The Guide to Cooking Schools

Author: Shawguides, Inc.

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Cooking

Page: 358

View: 551

Comprehensive resource to culinary & wine education worldwide with detailed descriptions of more than 1,100 career & recreational programs in the U.S. & other countries.

The Guide to Cooking Schools 2000

Author: Dorlene V. Kaplan

Publisher: Shawguides

ISBN:

Category: Education

Page: 406

View: 932

Provides information on the different cooking schools located throughout the United States

Guide to Cooking Schools

Cooking Schools, Courses, Vacations, Apprenticeships, and Wine Instruction Throughout the World

Author: ShawGuides Inc

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 339

View: 991